Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgetable Thriller
On a cold and abandoned beach a man comes to. He is naked and throwing up seawater. He is very cold and has no idea who he is, where he is, why he is there or why he is not wearing clothes. All he knows is that he will have to get warm or he will die.
Dragging his exhausted body across the beach he stumbles upon a beautiful and unlocked BMW. He gets into the car,...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Marleen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stuck it through
I'm being kind with 3 stars because it kept me reading and interested. However for me the twists weren't big enough and often enough. Sorry but based on this book I shall not be reading any more of this author's.
Published 6 months ago by John Cliff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgetable Thriller, 14 July 2012
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
On a cold and abandoned beach a man comes to. He is naked and throwing up seawater. He is very cold and has no idea who he is, where he is, why he is there or why he is not wearing clothes. All he knows is that he will have to get warm or he will die.
Dragging his exhausted body across the beach he stumbles upon a beautiful and unlocked BMW. He gets into the car, manages to turn it on and with the heater at full blast slowly gets his body temperature up to a more normal level.
In the trunk of the car he finds clothes and shoes that fit him perfectly and a look through the contents of glove box uncovers an owner's manual for the BMW in the name of Daniel Hayes as well as a black semi-automatic gun.
Since the man can't remember who he is no matter how hard he tries he decides that since the clothes fit he might as well assume he is this Hayes person.
The man checks into a cheap motel in the hope that a good sleep will restore his memory but when he wakes up he still has no idea about his past. He does have a strong impulse to turn the television on at six which brings him to show called Candy Girls and the character called Emily; a girl who brings out strong emotions in him although he doesn't know what the emotions are or what they mean.
When a policeman, his gun drawn, comes looking for Hayes in his motel room he makes a run for it. And since Hayes has an address in Malibu according to the manual and the BMW has California plates that is where the man sets off for. But while he hopes to be travelling towards answers and clarification he will find himself entering a nightmare, shocking revelations and more questions once he arrives in Los Angeles.

I would absolutely love to be able to share more about the plot in this book but I can't. Revealing anymore about this story would amount to spoiling this book for future readers. Surprises, twists and unexpected discoveries fill this book from the very first page, and not knowing what to expect is part of what makes this a very good thriller.
The fact that the main character has no better idea about what is going on than the reader does gives this thriller an added edge. The reader can never be sure if the main character, his thoughts or his conclusions can be trusted. The amnesia, which lifts only very slowly, ensures that neither the reader nor Daniel Hayes can be sure whether he's a good guy or a dangerous criminal.
It is clear from early on in the book that there is another man, one who is looking for Hayes, who is obviously up to no good, but the reader has no idea why and, initially at least, Hayes doesn't even know somebody is looking for him.
As Hayes tries to figure out who he is and why he was trying to kill himself in Maine, so far from where he lives, the reader can only hope that his memories will return to him in time to save him from whatever it is that is haunting him. That is of course, if he actually deserves to be saved.

In conclusion I would like to say that this is a great thriller; one that will keep the reader turning the pages to find out what exactly is going on and how it could possibly end on a positive note. The amnesia and the despair that accompanies it are enough to make this a true page turner. The fact that Sakey has added a lot of other mysteries and twists ensures that this is the sort of book that is almost impossible to put down. A book only to be started when you have enough time to just keep on reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent read - memorable & well worth the price of the download, 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Megrin Covyne (Tunbridge Wells) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book a look. Granted - I got it as the Kindle version but in a way that's better because the quality of the hard copy, from a marketplace seller saying it's in "very good" condition, is not really that reliable.

Anyway, I digress. The point is, this book is a real page-turner. There's a bit of the Bourne trilogy in it (well - the first one anyhow) but there are so many twists & turns as well as surprises, that I really liked it. The fact that the protagonist appears as bemused as the reader makes it truly brilliant.

I'd not heard of Marcus Sakey before now but I'll certainly be looking out for him.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Skilled writer at work, 5 Oct. 2011
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes" is good from the first page and never reveals its next destination, let alone its conclusion. Interesting characters, including a killer so cunning and vicious as to be in a category by himself. In fact, the uber status of this criminal enhances by mega numbers the vulnerability and relative innocence of the two other main characters in the book whose struggles to survive lock the reader in until the last page. This all serves to dish up a very high level of tension throughout the novel.

Basically the story of a man who drags himself out of the cold waters of the Atlantic Ocean onto a Maine beach only to realize that he has no idea who he is or how he wound up in the drink on the East Coast. Finding a car parked just off the beach which may be his, he gradually puts together clues that draw him back to California and the recognition of who he might actually be--one Daniel Hayes, Hollywood scriptwriter and husband of a rising television starlet. His return to California and to the Malibu house that appears to be his brings with it the discovery that his wife is newly dead and that he is the subject of a search by the police and a menacing stranger. From that point, the story becomes even more serpentine and dark. There will be major surprises along the trail to denouement and they will often be ugly and chilling.

Like other reviewers, I found it very difficult to put this one down for even a few minutes. It's one of those stories where the killer's next move isn't the least bit telegraphed and the reader has no clue who will be standing at the end of the day. There are a few false notes, if you look very closely as the story races along (what happened to Daniel Hayes" wallet, for example?), but they are forgivable and scarcely detract from the overall effect of this powerful crime story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usually only read at night but this had reading mornings and afternoons too.
I will be looking for more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 20 Dec. 2012
By 
I. B. Pitbladdo "jacandian" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this one, it piques your interest from the word go and cleverly holds your attention throughout. On the first page a man wakes naked and freezing on a beach with no memory as to how he got there, from then on who could fail to be hooked?
This was my first Marcus Sakey story but it won't be my last...recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this was an exceptionally clever plot. it kept one ..., 5 July 2014
By 
Mrs. Ann Peters "annvelo" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was an exceptionally clever plot. it kept one guessing and surmising throughout. Will look forward to reading further novels by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book will make you want to read nonstop til the end, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read with enough twists n turns to make you dizzy. Marcus Sakey is the one I tell my friends about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second of Sakey's books I've read and have thoroughly enjoyed them both. It's got plenty of twists and turns and a story that gets you hooked right from page one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original-, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
- to me anyway. I enjoyed the style of writing and the plot. A good read, I look forward to more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Twisty turny psychological thriller, 14 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A man finds himself drowning on a remote beach and can't remember who he is. But he knows something is very wrong. The book follows Daniel's path to recovery of his memory as well as his life, but there are twists and turns along the way. This is more of a psychological thriller with the stakes being a man's sanity and the love of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes
The Two Deaths of Daniel Hayes by Marcus Sakey (Paperback - 6 Dec. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews