Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am biased
I don't think I could possibly write an objective review after reading this story. The plot line having elderly parents is just too close to home for me. Rachel Gibson's books do it for me because she takes you on a journey, you know who will end up with whom but nevertheless the adventure of them getting there and the situational humour that has me laughing out load is...
Published on 4 July 2012 by D. Phillips

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame
Rachel Gibson's early books were brilliant (truly madly yours, the trouble with valentines day, not another bad date etc) but lately I've seen a decline in quality as known writers rush to publish books to rival 50 shades (which is a terribly written book which should never have seen the light of day).

Saying the book is predictable isnt a downpoint, we all...
Published 7 months ago by pazparry


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a shame, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Paperback)
Rachel Gibson's early books were brilliant (truly madly yours, the trouble with valentines day, not another bad date etc) but lately I've seen a decline in quality as known writers rush to publish books to rival 50 shades (which is a terribly written book which should never have seen the light of day).

Saying the book is predictable isnt a downpoint, we all know whats going to happen, it's just how we get to that point which makes us read these books but I wished I hadnt wasted my money on this one.

Throughout the entire book I'm waiting for the romance, those little 'moments' between the characters, parts that make you laugh. This book had nothing, the defining moment when she realized she loved him was because he bought her doritos and soda and earlier in the book she said that she liked doritos and soda, wow so romantic, he clearly knows her well.

The love scenes were also rushed and not on par with her earlier books. There was just no passion, everything seemed forced. In fact the entire relationship seemed forced.

Having also read a few other of her new ones (which also lack in quality and depth) I'm left wondering if the author has run out of steam or is under pressure from publishers to churn out 'mummy porn'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am biased, 4 July 2012
By 
D. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
I don't think I could possibly write an objective review after reading this story. The plot line having elderly parents is just too close to home for me. Rachel Gibson's books do it for me because she takes you on a journey, you know who will end up with whom but nevertheless the adventure of them getting there and the situational humour that has me laughing out load is the real good stuff. Its what makes her books so popular. This novel was slightly different in that it didn't build drama and end in crescendo, more it was a beautiful portrayal of complex relationships and the way people behave due to their own history. I loved this book as it was personally close to my own situation and even shed a tear. Not sure if all Rachel Gibson fans will praise it as the chaotic humour was a little bit more absent. I would call it a more relaxed version of her usual books. For me, personally, it delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
I laughed, I cried and I couldn't put it down. Vince and Sadies story is beautiful and I can't wait to read more Rachel Gibson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Answer family questions, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
Good to find out what happened to Vince after meeting him briefly in other stories.
We've met Sadie before as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars feel good book, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
I've always loved Rachel Gibson. She gives just the right amount of class, humour and sexy parts to brighten your day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
Great book as always.
I'm never disappointed with Rachel Gibson's books.
Loved Sadie and Vince' s characters; very realistic and funny too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
Just like all of Rachel Gibson books, it's hard to put down once you get started! Absolutely Brilliant - i'm re-reading again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Getting a little repetitive .., 21 Oct 2013
This review is from: Rescue Me (Paperback)
I have read all of Rachel Gibson's books and have always loved the fact that the books interlock with each other in some way.

Rescue Me is the story of Sadie Jo and Vince and is set in Lovell, Texas .. I was looking forward to this book and wanted to see how it linked with the other books - Daisy's back in town and the novella Crazy on you are both set in Lovell, and Vince's sister Autumn is one of the main characters in the book Any man of Mine and also makes a brief appearance in this book !!

The thing about Rachel Gibson's books that are starting to get a bit repetitive is the over all plot .. Girl meets Boy - Girl and Boy become involved - Boy and Girl separate - Boy and Girl get back together for the big HAE and will likely briefly appear in future books.
Now I know that this is generally what her writing is aimed at and I can handle this, apart from the fact that I have found her characters starting to annoy me, or the background parts unneeded and too fast paced.

What I would like to see is perhaps more of the characters that have already featured in her books previously as side characters such as Deeann Gunderson, or The young twins .. Featuring twins as the main characters could be a nice change. Or how about a story with Nathan Parrish from Daisy's back in town? Or Lexie from Simply Irresistible? or Adam Taber and Wally from True Confessions ??
Just an idea x

I look forward to reading Rachel's next book, although I can already guess the outcome I still enjoy the read =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Most relatable character, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. One of her best, made better by the relatable characters and relationships. Would definitely recommend to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rescue Me (Paperback)
I loved it from The beginning to The end!wonderful!i couldn t put it down.really funny. The characters are really amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rescue Me
Rescue Me by Rachel Gibson (Paperback - 6 Dec 2012)
4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews