Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purrfect read!
Don't be put off by the 'twee' cover this is a brilliant book, not only a heartwarming story about a stray cat but also very informative about cats in general and the author's life. Thoroughly enjoyable 10/10
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by Kathy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cat Lover
Not exactly what I expected. Slightly disappointed. Thought this book would be more about the cat than the author. Sorry
Published 19 months ago by Catwoman


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purrfect read!, 9 Dec 2009
Don't be put off by the 'twee' cover this is a brilliant book, not only a heartwarming story about a stray cat but also very informative about cats in general and the author's life. Thoroughly enjoyable 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was excellent-have to read!, 22 Jan 1998
By A Customer
This is the firt book I have ever read where the main character is an animal.It was funny, heartwarming and a little sad at times. This man is a wonderful author and his love for and understanding of animals shows through.There is more than enough to write about this darling cat. An exciting, endearing story! I couldn't put it down! For animal lovers and those who have never loved an animal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfectly delightful book on the joys of feline felicity, 1 Feb 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Let's clear up any possible confusion from the very beginning: while The Cat Who Came for Christmas did indeed come for Christmas, this is in no way a Christmas book. That's important because this book is completely delightful, and I don't want anyone who comes across it in July to think he needs to wait five months before he can read it. Animal lovers, especially cat lovers, will find this book absolutely delightful, and those readers who are so unfortunate as to have never had the privilege of being owned by an animal will get a moving picture of the kind of human-animal bond the rest of us are always going on about. Indeed, the book closes with the suggestion that pet-less owners would do well to go down to their local animal shelter and find a faithful friend for themselves.
We first meet the aforementioned cat on a snowy Christmas Eve in New York. Cleveland Amory, the founder of The Fund for Animals, helps rescue a poor feline from the streets of the city and takes him home - temporarily - to care for him until a suitable home is found. Amory is, by his own admission, a dog person, but he quickly falls in love with this poor young cat who has obviously suffered much in his young life: he is terribly thin, his body bears several wounds, his back is obviously injured, he is filthy, and he may well have never known the affection of another soul. Someone has reportedly thrown things at him and hit him in an effort to run him off, so his emergency rescue is a necessity. Underneath all of the dirt, Amory finds a beautiful white cat with magical eyes and a spirit that wins Amory over from the start. He is so beguiled by the little guy that he talks a prospective new owner out of adopting him the very next morning.
The book, as it unfolds, is the story of this special cat and the human he owns over the course of their first year together. Amory describes many of the conversations he has with his lovable but stubborn new friend, expounds greatly upon matters of cat psychology that all cat lovers will immediately recognize, and basically delivers a truly heart-warming story about two curmudgeons, one human and one feline, who magically find each other and develop a deep and lasting friendship. You'll read about the cat's behavior toward new people (including the likes of celebrities such as Walter Cronkite and Cary Grant), other animals, travel, veterinarians, and basically life in general. The stories of Amory's behavioral modification techniques and feline communication skills are as insightful as they are funny and do nothing to dispel the notion that cats are very stubborn little creatures. The chapters on the cat's domestic and foreign policies are especially instructive and endearing.
Amory is a wonderfully witty storyteller. Some may complain that he sometimes goes off on tangents, but these are most instructive as they invariably relate to early efforts by The Fund for Animals to protect those creatures being brutally exploited by human beings (e.g., whales and baby seals); I must say I don't approve of some of the techniques the group employs, but certainly the group's heart was in the right place. Amidst all of the cat-related humor, Amory is wont to slip in some wonderfully subtle little jokes and literary references, and I would argue one learns as much about human nature as feline nature over the course of the book.
You might notice I have refrained from giving the cat's name; this is intentional on my part. A cat's name is very important, and the author devotes many pages to the naming process of this cat in particular, so I would be remiss to simply blurt the name out here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight, 27 Sep 1998
By A Customer
As someone who is also proudly owned by a white cat with a strong personality, I was prepared to like this book even before I picked it up. But I wasn't prepared for the way Amory whisks you into his and Polar Bear's world, making this wonderful cat come alive before your eyes.I only wish that some literary characters were as well-crafted as Polar Bear's. The book is a treat and a must-read for all animal lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware - you might want to become a cat owner, 28 Oct 2010
By 
S. W. Price "Sabine" (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was a funny book, exploring the frustrations of a manipulated cat owner. Almost as irresistible as the subject itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that will warm your heart and make you laugh out loud, 23 Jan 1997
By A Customer
This book is for the most fanatic of feline fanciers as well as those who are less than enthusiastic about the species. It is the story of how one self proclaimed grump and one cat with an attitude found each other quite by accident and how they came to the conclusion that cats can also be man's best friend. Save this one for a time you need some cheering up and an escape from reality, it won't disappoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This touching book should make everyone want to own a cat!, 24 Nov 1998
By A Customer
Cat lovers all over the world are bound to cherish this book as one of their favorites. The story of Polar Bear is not only about the amazing relationships between cats and their people, but about the love that they share. I laughed, I smiled, I couldn't put the book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 7 Jan 2008
By 
J. M. Gascoigne (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am house sitting in New Zealand for Christmas and New Year. Wellington to be precise. Well the owners cat Cherbit sadly died some months ago. So no cat for me to share with over christmas, understandibly the owner was not just ready yet to replace such a remarkable cat. Anyway I found this book of the shelf, ah...just the job in the absence of cherbit. What a read it was. I felt like I had a cat for company all over christmas. The book is so funny the relationship between Polar Bear and Armoy is just so real it could have been me and cherbit. So go for it buy this book read it and then give it away to your best friends who are cat lovers and those in our world who for whatever reason shun the darling cat! It will transform their perspective on this wonderful sacred and darling animal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just For Cat Lovers, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cat Who Came For Christmas (Paperback)
I'm generally more interested in Doggy stories than cats but I loved this.
Like me, the author is more into dogs than cats but, when he rescued this cat, he was "hooked" overnight and just couldn't let it be rehomed again.
The story takes you through the relationship formed between them and his growing fascination with the psychology of this incredible cat. This man is clearly committed to animals (as you'll find out in the book)and his never ending discoveries about this cat's nature are both funny and educational.
A lovely story for anyone to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy this - you won't be sorry, 29 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is pure joy for the eyes. The author's prose is effortless (it is Cleveland Amory after all). His descriptive terms and factual/historical research knit seamlessly together.

Amory throws the occasional, yet fascinatingly modest, sling-shots in. E.g., how many folk could casually mention (and get away with) their very own Cary Grant cat story. Mr Grant was a life-long cat-hater. CG made a brief visit to the author (or rather the hotel room the author was staying in). CG proceeded to fall helplessly, hopelessly & utterly in love with our feline protagonist.

So modestly does Amory write, that you forget that he was a really major force to be reckoned with in his (editorial) day.

Devour, enjoy: this is a pretty special read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cat Who Came For Christmas
The Cat Who Came For Christmas by Cleveland Amory (Paperback - 27 Oct 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews