Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have ever considered doing anything worthwhile, read these books
I watched both the BBC documentaries (the man who cycled the world and the man who cycled the Americas) and as well as just being overwhelmed by the depths Mark could dig in order to complete these endurance feats, it made me want to do something with my life. I still haven't decided what yet, but at least I started to think about it!
Mark's books show the strengths...
Published on 24 Jun 2011 by Simon J

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read, but a tad disappointing, far from unsupported
I've not finished it yet (he's just leaving Central America) and there's no doubt it's a great effort taking in the 2 continents highest mountains and riding from top to bottom of the Americas, but why is it a read that is a tad disappointing?

Well early on, he says that he wanted the expedition to be more about the people he encountered and less about simply...
Published 10 months ago by Lloyd Bower


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing endurance, 6 Jan 2014
By 
S. Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Cycled the Americas (Paperback)
This book is a great account of Mark's adventures in mountain climbing and cycling through the Americas.

It is an honest and entertaining read from someone who is an inspiration.

As a cyclist myself, I was surprised to enjoy the mountain climbing chapters the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book describing this excellent adventure., 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Man Who Cycled the Americas (Paperback)
This is the second book I have read of Mark Beaumont's. This is an excellent travel adventure about American culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read, a great diary. Mark gives a super account of his inspiring ride. Makes me want to do more than my weekly 50m ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Oneof42 (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the first adventure.

This just follows nicely with the added bonus of the climbing thrown in.

A relaxed writing style that I really enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Travelogue on a Bike, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Man Who Cycled the Americas is a brilliant travelogue set on a bike and mountains.

Beaumont spends more time with the people

Beaumont spends more time focusing on the towns and people as he travels than in his Around the World journey, and those stories are told well along side the personal battles and challenges.

It would definatley pick up any other books written by Beaumont.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Nov 2012
By 
L. Mcseveney (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a gift for my dad, he reckons the book is really inspirational and a great read, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it., 28 Dec 2011
By 
lizzy "Liz." (Chatham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this book from amazon after seeing it in a local shop(amazon much cheaper)
I couldn't put it down and completed it in 2 weeks. I felt part of the journey and the mountain experience i was there. This is certainly a tale of a epic journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Mark gets a little more involved in his surroundings on this trip and it shows in his prose, though its still his own indeminable style similar to The Man Who Cycled The World. There's something addictive in reading journey travelogues, especially when a tv series helps give a fuller picture of the author's experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A ride-along adventure, 7 July 2011
By 
C. P. Stothard (Hants, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having seen the BBC Documentary of this epic journey shot by Mark, I was eagerly awaiting this written account. And I was not disappointed . Mark takes the reader through his journey with humour, honesty, and a lovely natural writing style. You feel that you are on the road, and Mountain, alongside the Author as the journey develops. If you enjoyed Mark's first book, 'The Man Who Cycled The World', then you are going to love this book. Or if you are wondering what makes this book a must-read, then look no further than the Author. Hugely likeable and truly inspirational. Highly reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 2 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read Mark. I followed the trip on the Blog and Twitter so it was great to read about the trip in even more detail.

As with the previous book, the writing was great at portraying the emotions of such a challenging trip. It was nice to read that there was more time to take in things and meet more characters along the way. Amongst the personal account of the journey it was interesting to read some of the similarities about preconceptions of certain countries that previous cycling adventurers had, only to discover something completely different.

I thoroughly recommend this book to anybody even if you are not in to cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Man Who Cycled the Americas
The Man Who Cycled the Americas by Mark Beaumont (Paperback - 29 Mar 2012)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews