Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, moving and essential reading, Empty Cradles defies belief
This book made me angry and made me cry, it never failed to elicit an emotion. It is a powerful and moving story that defies belief. The hidden history of child migration is from another time, but living in the here and now. It is totally inconceivable that a government can send its most vulnerable, children in care, thousands of miles away ripping them from their...
Published on 15 Mar. 2010 by Mrs. S. Biddulph

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking
I am glad that I read the book as it is important to know what happened and how it was covered up but I actually didn't enjoy the book as a good read. It was informative but I felt that the author was listing case after case, many of which were distressing. It was factual rather than literary. It certainly was emotive and tugged at my heartstrings. I felt sorry for...
Published on 13 Jan. 2013 by B. Fitzhugh


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was well written and I couldn't put it down. I wanted to find out more about this episode in history after reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars apalled at this book, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was shocked at this book,I couldnt beleive that any government could get away with it,it was heart breaking for those Children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing bit of history, 31 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very well written report of a scandalous part of our history....full credit to Margaret Humphreys for revealing it. A Must Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Critixcal comment, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine: Empty Cradles (Paperback)
liked the content, but not particularly well-written. Tended to be repetitive. The subject was very worth while to be exposed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Empty Cradles, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best book I've read in a long time, I still can't believe our MP's and churches did this to a generation
of our children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this book and have also seen the film, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine: Empty Cradles (Paperback)
Enjoyed this book and have also seen the film. Have loaned it to several people and they have all recommended it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and well written about a disgraceful time, 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing and well written about a disgraceful time. To think this was happening during the 50s and 60s. Sensitively written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oranges and Sunshine: Empty Cradles (Paperback)
Couldn't put this book down until it was finished. Absolutely gripping. I would definitely recommend it to all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 28 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't believe this could happen in the 20th century, compelling reading. I cried at the thought of those poor families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this film on TV recently,was really shocked,but wanted to know more so purchased the book, which i have yet to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 1621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oranges and Sunshine: Empty Cradles
Oranges and Sunshine: Empty Cradles by Margaret Humphreys (Paperback - 17 Mar. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews