Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2002
The book starts with an accident leading to scientific proof that psychic powers exist, allowing for the former "freaks" of the world to come out into the open. Anyone familiar with this author will not be surprised to hear the book contains all the excitement you might expect from Anne McCaffrey writing about people with "super powers".
However, this is no shallow tale of caped crusaders fighting all evil, but instead an intelligent look at the responsibilities of (for example) precognition and the effects such people could have on mankind. As so often, Ms McCaffrey uses a "Sci-fi" theme but in such a natural way that the people appear human so you can empathise with them.
A brilliant read and a brilliant series. Just breeze through from start to finish and lose yourself for a while, or spend more time considering the ideas suggested - either way you're almost guaranteed a great time.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
There is only one word for this - AMAZING! Actually, some others I can think of are: brilliant, astonishing, gripping, enthralling, excellent, and un-put-down-able. Hang on, I don't think that last one is a word. Never mind. This book is all of these things. If you haven't read it, what are you waiting for??? Buy it now! You won't regret it!
It is a sci-fi book but not about aliens or robots or anything like that. It's about people, and it's just indescribably good.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
To ride Pegasus is the primary part of a trilogy which leads you to think about at least one possible future for mankind. It is the start of a story which, whilst you know it is a story, is also partly believable. This is a series which I think young teenagers will enjoy reading as well as the more mature of us. When you think it was written at the start of America's journeys into space it is quite a remarkable work of fiction.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Considering the author wrote these stories before the Space shuttle was designed, the depth of imagination & clarity of thought is astounding.
Easily a 5* read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Ready this years ago and have thoroughly enjoyed rereading these short stories which set up the Talented, the basis of The Rowan, Damia and other books of the series.

Fantastic characters and storylines.
Read this and you will want to follow up with Pegasus in Flight and Pegasus in Space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Quick service in providing book. Replacement for a copy that had given up the ghost! I wil probably have to buy new copies of the rest of the series shortly. I do wish they would reprint Anne McCaffrey's book in hardback, it would save me a fortune.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
The first book of the Pegasus series is in fact a series of short stories in chronological order covering the discovery and acceptance of ESP powers. Books two and three bring into existence the possibility of the second series the Tower and the Hive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Yet another good read from Anne McCaffery. This series is one of my more enjoyable reads, it allows you to experience what it would be like in that type of situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
Fabulous to be able to buy my favourite series of books on kindle. These books are a great way to introduce people to SciFi/Fantasy enjoy :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
I know it's an old one but knowing the pern series so well, I expected better from this. Ideas great, characters not engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.