Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but nothing new really...
I've read both of Radin's earlier works ('The Conscious Universe' and 'Entangled Minds') so I was quite excited when I discovered that he'd released a new book.
What new insights, conclusions, research developments, etc, had emerged since the last publications hit the shops? I was keen to know.
Well, to my dismay, The Noetic Universe added very little. In...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Luparaman

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mutton dressed as lamb
I bought this based on the title and the fact on the cover it says the author is a senior scientist at the Institute of Noetic Science. In fact it is a reissue of a 1997 book the Concious Universe, with an extra two page introduction.

This might be a good book in 1997 but as it misses 13 years reserch and says nothing about the Noetic Institute research it is...
Published on 24 April 2010 by Mr. P. G. Chesters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but nothing new really..., 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
I've read both of Radin's earlier works ('The Conscious Universe' and 'Entangled Minds') so I was quite excited when I discovered that he'd released a new book.
What new insights, conclusions, research developments, etc, had emerged since the last publications hit the shops? I was keen to know.
Well, to my dismay, The Noetic Universe added very little. In fact, it's more like a merging of the previous two books published on the back of the interest generated by the release of Dan Brown's 'The Lost Symbol'.
Don't get me wrong, it's still a very interesting read and an excellent summary of psi research and findings, but I would have expected something more...such as more reference to research in the last 10 years. There's quite a lot of research out there which add weight to previous findings, but none of it is referenced or discussed here.
So, in sum, if you haven't read anything of Radin's before, buy this book; it won't disappoint. If you have read his earlier works, it will disappoint. Your best option in that case is to just Google Dean Radin to get the latest information on what's going on in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mutton dressed as lamb, 24 April 2010
By 
Mr. P. G. Chesters (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
I bought this based on the title and the fact on the cover it says the author is a senior scientist at the Institute of Noetic Science. In fact it is a reissue of a 1997 book the Concious Universe, with an extra two page introduction.

This might be a good book in 1997 but as it misses 13 years reserch and says nothing about the Noetic Institute research it is basically a con.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Truly Scientific Analysis of Psi, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Capt I. McRae "The Ancient Mariner" (Angus, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
This book is quite superb. It deals with real experiments that have been conducted, and the statistical analyses that went with them, The existence of psi is now uncontrovertibly proved, despite the "religion" of the skeptic being rubbished. Don't be put off by the fact that scientific experimentation and statistical analysis are used. The author explains it for the intelligent layman right at the start of the book. You will be stunned at the proof of psychic phenomena that Radin has uncovered, in a professional, scientific manner.

A word of caution. If you have already read his other book, "The Conscious Universe", don't bother buying this book as it is the same book under a different title and cover illustration. I was hugely disappointed after reading "The Noetic Universe", and wanting to read more of Radin's work, to find after I had bought "The Conscious Universe" that the internals of both books are absolutely identical. I won't be buying any more of his books .... just in case !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Noetic Science, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
Great book if you enjoyed Rhonda Byrne's The Secret and Dan Brown's Lost Symbol. A little too detailed in places for bedtime reading but some great background information. This book would be fabulous if the text was bigger, a little hard on the eyes. Overall would recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarification..., 29 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
An excellent read, written by the scientist who is a model of rigour and objectivity.

The book is actually a retitled edition of "The Conscious Universe", presumambly because the publisher wishes to capitalise on the Dan Brown effect. May great success be theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The scientific exploration of psi, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
It is disappointing when publishers re-publish their books with different covers and titles hoping to dupe unsuspecting customers into buying the same book twice over. This book, The Noetic Universe, is in fact almost an exact copy, page for page, of The Conscious Universe published by HarperCollins in 1997. The book itself is excellent and I can do no better than reproduce my review of the same book under its earlier title. But I do deplore this kind of commercial exploitation of a public eager to keep up with developments in this field.

Dean Radin's scientific background is in electrical engineering and psychology, but he has focussed his attention for more than a decade now on parapsychology or psi. This excellent book gives some of the scientific methodology that has confirmed that psi is a real phenomenon of the world and not the `superstitious nonsense' that some critics would have us believe. The title of the book derives from this world-view of the universality of psychic phenomena: `both modern physics and ancient Buddhist doctrine suggest [that] `deep' interconnectedness embraces everything, unbound by the limitations of time and space.' Radin agrees with the idea of Sir Arthur Eddington that `the stuff of the world is mind-stuff'.

The book is divided into four parts: 1. Motivation, with a definition of psi and some of the statistical techniques used for validation of experimental results; 2. Evidence. This section, representing nearly half of the book, gives us some of the evidence for telepathy, clairvoyance, precognition, and psychokinesis - the most studied and best authenticated forms of psi; 3. Understanding. This section deals with the interpretation of the data and how the world-views of physics and philosophy (metaphysics) have been changed by discoveries in the 20th century; 4. Implications - what these empirical data tell us about the nature of the universe in terms of biology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, religion and medicine.

This may sound like a scientific treatise - well, I suppose it is really - but it is presented in a very accessible style for readers without a scientific or mathematical background, though there is some gentle statistical theory in Section 1, Chapter 3, on Replication. There are 20 pages of Notes that tell us where these experiments and ideas were published. There are a further 30 pages of References and Further Reading, so anyone can follow up on any topic to various levels of scientific sophistication. Finally there is a comprehensive Index.

One could scarcely ask for a more lucid introduction to the scientific techniques used to investigate parapsychology with the supporting evidence that these have produced: this should be enough to convince many of the sceptics.

Dr Howard A. Jones is the author of The Thoughtful Guide to God (2006) and The Tao of Holism (2008), both published by O Books of Winchester, U.K.; and The World as Spirit published by Fairhill Publishing, Whitland, West Wales, 2011.

Entangled Minds by Dean Radin
Self-Aware Universe: How Consciousness Creates the Material World by Amit Goswami
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one really makes you think, 15 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
This book caught my attention from the first page. The cases that the author reviews and the analysis of the data collected make a compelling argument. Although the downside is that i found it left me a bit unsatisfied and a bit more convinced than i was before, but not by much. Overall though I'd say it was very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Noetic Universe, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. N. C. Gravette (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
This book has much to tell us but it takes a long time to do it. So far, I have not been gripped by what Dean has written. More facts or case studies would be helpful. I will continue to the end as the book has an important part to play in our understanding of the subtle world around us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Radin states this book is the same as 'The ConsciousUniverse', 14 Nov 2013
Just to avoid disappointment, as other reviews have stated, 'The Noetic Universe' is simply 'The Conscious Universe' under another name. At the top of Radin's blog entry about 'The Conscious Universe' (currently to be found here [...] it states plainly "In Great Britain this book is entitled The Noetic Universe".

So if you've already read one of the two you don't need to bother with the other!

I'm new to Rabin's work so I'll buy the one with the cover that I like best ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Noetic Universe (Paperback)
Bought this on the back of reading Dan Brown's Lost Symbols (as i guess a lot of people have). Good, solid evidence. Haven't quite finished it yet, and some bits are a bit of a hard read, you have to think about it and concentrate, but if this book is right, and there is no reason i can see not to believe the evidence, there are some incredible implications
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

The Noetic Universe
The Noetic Universe by Dean Radin (Paperback - 6 Nov 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews