Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars20
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on 24 April 2010
I bought this based on the title and the fact on the cover it says the author is a senior scientist at the Institute of Noetic Science. In fact it is a reissue of a 1997 book the Concious Universe, with an extra two page introduction.

This might be a good book in 1997 but as it misses 13 years reserch and says nothing about the Noetic Institute research it is basically a con.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 29 August 2011
This book is quite superb. It deals with real experiments that have been conducted, and the statistical analyses that went with them, The existence of psi is now uncontrovertibly proved, despite the "religion" of the skeptic being rubbished. Don't be put off by the fact that scientific experimentation and statistical analysis are used. The author explains it for the intelligent layman right at the start of the book. You will be stunned at the proof of psychic phenomena that Radin has uncovered, in a professional, scientific manner.

A word of caution. If you have already read his other book, "The Conscious Universe", don't bother buying this book as it is the same book under a different title and cover illustration. I was hugely disappointed after reading "The Noetic Universe", and wanting to read more of Radin's work, to find after I had bought "The Conscious Universe" that the internals of both books are absolutely identical. I won't be buying any more of his books .... just in case !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
on 8 January 2010
I've read both of Radin's earlier works ('The Conscious Universe' and 'Entangled Minds') so I was quite excited when I discovered that he'd released a new book.
What new insights, conclusions, research developments, etc, had emerged since the last publications hit the shops? I was keen to know.
Well, to my dismay, The Noetic Universe added very little. In fact, it's more like a merging of the previous two books published on the back of the interest generated by the release of Dan Brown's 'The Lost Symbol'.
Don't get me wrong, it's still a very interesting read and an excellent summary of psi research and findings, but I would have expected something more...such as more reference to research in the last 10 years. There's quite a lot of research out there which add weight to previous findings, but none of it is referenced or discussed here.
So, in sum, if you haven't read anything of Radin's before, buy this book; it won't disappoint. If you have read his earlier works, it will disappoint. Your best option in that case is to just Google Dean Radin to get the latest information on what's going on in the field.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
It is disappointing when publishers re-publish their books with different covers and titles hoping to dupe unsuspecting customers into buying the same book twice over. This book, The Noetic Universe, is in fact almost an exact copy, page for page, of The Conscious Universe published by HarperCollins in 1997. The book itself is excellent and I can do no better than reproduce my review of the same book under its earlier title. But I do deplore this kind of commercial exploitation of a public eager to keep up with developments in this field.

Dean Radin's scientific background is in electrical engineering and psychology, but he has focussed his attention for more than a decade now on parapsychology or psi. This excellent book gives some of the scientific methodology that has confirmed that psi is a real phenomenon of the world and not the `superstitious nonsense' that some critics would have us believe. The title of the book derives from this world-view of the universality of psychic phenomena: `both modern physics and ancient Buddhist doctrine suggest [that] `deep' interconnectedness embraces everything, unbound by the limitations of time and space.' Radin agrees with the idea of Sir Arthur Eddington that `the stuff of the world is mind-stuff'.

The book is divided into four parts: 1. Motivation, with a definition of psi and some of the statistical techniques used for validation of experimental results; 2. Evidence. This section, representing nearly half of the book, gives us some of the evidence for telepathy, clairvoyance, precognition, and psychokinesis - the most studied and best authenticated forms of psi; 3. Understanding. This section deals with the interpretation of the data and how the world-views of physics and philosophy (metaphysics) have been changed by discoveries in the 20th century; 4. Implications - what these empirical data tell us about the nature of the universe in terms of biology, psychology, sociology, philosophy, religion and medicine.

This may sound like a scientific treatise - well, I suppose it is really - but it is presented in a very accessible style for readers without a scientific or mathematical background, though there is some gentle statistical theory in Section 1, Chapter 3, on Replication. There are 20 pages of Notes that tell us where these experiments and ideas were published. There are a further 30 pages of References and Further Reading, so anyone can follow up on any topic to various levels of scientific sophistication. Finally there is a comprehensive Index.

One could scarcely ask for a more lucid introduction to the scientific techniques used to investigate parapsychology with the supporting evidence that these have produced: this should be enough to convince many of the sceptics.

Dr Howard A. Jones is the author of The Thoughtful Guide to God (2006) and The Tao of Holism (2008), both published by O Books of Winchester, U.K.; and The World as Spirit published by Fairhill Publishing, Whitland, West Wales, 2011.

Entangled Minds by Dean Radin
Self-Aware Universe: How Consciousness Creates the Material World by Amit Goswami
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 30 November 2010
Great book if you enjoyed Rhonda Byrne's The Secret and Dan Brown's Lost Symbol. A little too detailed in places for bedtime reading but some great background information. This book would be fabulous if the text was bigger, a little hard on the eyes. Overall would recommend!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 September 2015
Nothing to read here if you've already read The Field by Lynne McTaggart. Dean Radin is an interesting chap and could have a unique take on Noetics and related matters but this just feels like a rehash of her book (or hers his, depending on who came out first but hers does read more cleanly.)

It's also mostly a rework of his earlier book The Conscious Universe and was probably only released to cash in on the interest in Noetics stirred up by Dan Brown and his fictional, but vastly better written series of books.

In short - the only unique aspect of this book is the ISBN.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 29 January 2010
An excellent read, written by the scientist who is a model of rigour and objectivity.

The book is actually a retitled edition of "The Conscious Universe", presumambly because the publisher wishes to capitalise on the Dan Brown effect. May great success be theirs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 September 2013
Bought this on the back of reading Dan Brown's Lost Symbols (as i guess a lot of people have). Good, solid evidence. Haven't quite finished it yet, and some bits are a bit of a hard read, you have to think about it and concentrate, but if this book is right, and there is no reason i can see not to believe the evidence, there are some incredible implications
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 June 2011
This book caught my attention from the first page. The cases that the author reviews and the analysis of the data collected make a compelling argument. Although the downside is that i found it left me a bit unsatisfied and a bit more convinced than i was before, but not by much. Overall though I'd say it was very enjoyable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 November 2010
This book has much to tell us but it takes a long time to do it. So far, I have not been gripped by what Dean has written. More facts or case studies would be helpful. I will continue to the end as the book has an important part to play in our understanding of the subtle world around us.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Conscious Universe: The Scientific Truth of Psychic Phenomena
The Conscious Universe: The Scientific Truth of Psychic Phenomena by Dean, PhD Radin (Paperback - 15 July 2009)

Biocentrism by Bob Berman Robert Lanza (Paperback - 22 July 2010)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.