Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frost in flares!
I loved this, because the authors have been really clever in their approach to a new Frost novel - they've stayed true to the Frost we know and love but they have also given the series an interesting new angle by taking it back to the 80's - this is Frost in flares and a brand new rain mac, before he was promoted, in the days when making a quick call meant finding a...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by Carol Seddon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Frost
Being an addict of the R D Wingfield Fost novels I purchased this out of curiosity. It is not as good as the originals although it is an acceptable pastiche. Should they attempt another I might purchase the paperback.
Published on 3 Aug 2011 by Mr. Graham Hawken


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed this, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was good - not quite as good as the original Frosts, it seemed to lack a bit of the edginess - but still a good page-turner which respects the characters in the original novels and develops a satisfying plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A credible attempt at following a great, not just popular writer..., 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1 (Paperback)
As always the death of an author is a sad event, doubly so when they are the author of a series of novels with a beloved character. It's always a problem, especially where there is clear space to expand on what was written, to decide if it is better for someone to attempt to continue/ finish what the author started or just leave the work unfinished but untarnished. The suspicion always comes to mind that it is simply plundering the legacy left by the author.

In this instance i would say that 'First Frost' is certainly more hit than miss. I think it was a sensible choice to go with Frosts early career. As such they get away from direct comparisons and avoid many possible continuity issues. What we do get is a softer version of Frost. Now there could be two explanations for this. The authors could have taken into account that Frost has not yet been through the events (the death of his wife, the shooting and the award of his George Cross) which will shape him into the character in Wingfield books. Being less charitable you could say that they have chosen to model the Frost character after the TV version (which i love) but which has many of his rough edges smoothed off. A couple of other characters (Mullet in particular) don't ring completely true either, though only by small margins. I guess only time will tell.

That leaves the plot and the quality of the writing. Wingfield is a difficult act to follow. His approach to writing gave his complex plots a rather unique narrative style. I said his plots were complex, his crimes and the lives of the criminals and the police so complex and interwoven, but his writing was so good that he did that so easily. It certainly made reading them an effortless but engrossing experience. His sense of time and place (especially the weather) was also something that added great texture to his work. Well, the authors (because there are two) manage to replicate his style and narrative structure really well but it just doesn't seem quite as effortless as when he did it.

As I said, there is far more good than bad. This is an enjoyable read, well written, almost on the nail but showing great promise that there is a future for one of my favourite literary creations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly frosty reception, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1 (Paperback)
Was fan of the original series of books, so much better than the TV series, so bought this book with slight forebodings. Book is OK, 2.5 stars rather than 4 for the Wingfield series. However will read the next one before final verdict
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near as good, 7 Feb 2011
By 
Wyn (South Wales) - See all my reviews
I am an avid Frost fan having read all the books. I have been very disappointed with the book. I guess that I should have known better. Despite the tribute from Phil Wingfield I do not think that this book does justice to his father's excellent writings.

It doesn't help to go back to the beginning. Yes I know it's title is First Frost but it would have worked much better had it carried on from where R D Wingfield left off.

It's OK but no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frosty reception, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
***NB: This review is based on the hardback printed edition, not Kindle***
My wife loved Frost books by R D Wingfield and so obviously was excited when she purchased this "prequel". I too am a fan and this review is written after we have both finished the book.
Unfortunately I have to say that we were both disappointed, my wife badly so, as this book does not capture Frost in the way we remember him, even though it is about his early career. There is no way I can see Frost flirting with his female detectives even when he was younger, and some of the words coming from Mullett's mouth are totally out of character.
Added to that the book, although printed by one of the UK's oldest established and respected book printers contains basic spelling errors that make me wonder if it was proof read at all. Try page 134 for example where Frost suggests a character has returned to "reek" havoc. Smells fishy to me......maybe he will wreak havoc instead!
Even I could work out who one of the suspects was whilst reading the Prologue.....my wife had it before the end of the first page, but maybe that was the intention. The revelation (a la Morse) of Frost's first name near the end was entertaining however, but the overall impression was one of must do better next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just like the TV series, 9 Jun 2011
By 
JudithAnn (Houten, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
In this book, Jack Frost was definitely the Jack Frost from the TV series. I haven't read the original books by R. D. Wingfield, so cannot compare this book with those. But there was no doubt that this was the Jack Frost that we all know and love from TV.

The way Frost interacted with his colleagues was also spot-on. Jack has a soft spot for his female colleague but takes no nonsense from anyone.

The story was well-written but the build-up was rather slow. Maybe because of this, after a while, I didn't care much about the details of the cases. The story was similar in build-up to the TV series, though, so if you like those, then this book will be great for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promotion, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The promotion of Frost to D I by a reluctant Mullet. Quite readable but not gripping for Frost genuine fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First Frost, 24 Dec 2011
A miserable, clunking effort that doesn't begin to approach Wingfield's pace and wit. The book of the TV series, and pretty laboured at that. The names are the same, and the plot is decently complicated. That's about it. A real disappointment for anyone who knows Frost from the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars First Frost, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1 (Paperback)
As with the other book written by James Henry, this is also very disappointing. It's not a patch on the original RD Wingfield Frost books, I won't be buying anymore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense, 2 Feb 2012
Overworked and understaffed police station is terribly incompetent and finds itself facing numerous policing challenges (child abuse, teenage abduction, murder and to top it all a series of bank robberies by a gang with IRA links. These events sound fast paced and exciting. An adventure that is surely going to delight all who read it...no! This is terribly dull and for the following reasons:

(1) Poor Grammar and and Punctuation throughout. Evidence of proof reading was lacking.
(2) Low literary value. There was little inventiveness or wit to engage the reader. As a pastiche, I'm sure it is fine. But I do wonder what the point is? Why is there the need to carry on the 'Frost' franchise?
(3) Poor Character development. This books is a prequel to previous Frost Novels by R.D Wingfield. I have never read any of these novels before (nor have I watched the TV series), however, an assumption was made throughout the book that we already had empathy with the character. I had never developed this empathy with Frost, and therefore found most characters abhorant.
(4)Lack of ideas. This book is purely narrative in style. I recognise that plenty of people like the narrative style, but I prefer narration to be intertwined with an ontological perspective. For example, throughout Dickens you find a general viewpoint on the treatment of the poor and the necessity of philanthropy. In much Russian writing you find a concern (often in a subtle manner) over the rise of the totalitarian state (thinking of The Master and Margharita here). More recently, in The Sisters Brothers there is a ontological viewpoint over the futility, cruelness and shortnaturedness of life itself. However, 'First Frost', seems to have no interesting viewpoints at all. It's pure narration makes it easy to read, but also very, very dull. If compared to eating out, this is the MacDonalds of the literary world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1
First Frost: DI Jack Frost series 1 by James Henry (Paperback - 27 Oct 2011)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews