Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving and hard to put down
Former hitman Sam Carver has given up killing for a living and is working as a specialized security consultant, staging mock assassinations on high profile figures in order to highlight deficiencies in their security systems. However a former enemy, Damon Tysack, is using Carver's name to commit high profile assassinations, which bear strong resemblances to his former...
Published on 9 Nov. 2009 by Julia Flyte

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but nothing new
This is the third book to feature Sam Carver - The "accident man" - a highly skilled assassin now retired and running a security business and a more 'normal' life. We find Sam slightly traumatised and a little bit paranoid but his skills have not deserted him as we find out when the past catches up with him.

In Assassin we have Carver being framed with events...
Published on 23 July 2009 by Nick Brett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving and hard to put down, 9 Nov. 2009
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Assassin (Hardcover)
Former hitman Sam Carver has given up killing for a living and is working as a specialized security consultant, staging mock assassinations on high profile figures in order to highlight deficiencies in their security systems. However a former enemy, Damon Tysack, is using Carver's name to commit high profile assassinations, which bear strong resemblances to his former modus operandi. Gradually Carver realises that he is under Tysacks's surveillance, but even he has no idea of exactly what Tysack is planning and the role that he wants Carver to play in those plans.

This is the third book in a series which started with The Accident Man, but it isn't necessary to have read the other books. I also felt this was the best yet - and thankfully, Carver's tedious former love interest Alix barely appears.

After a shaky start, it's a fast moving story that's hard to put down. The action moves between Dubai, the US, Norway and the UK without letting up. Cain is adept at taking his inspiration from current events and the story feels very up-to-date. The best parts of the book are when Carver starts to realise what he's up against - he's a good action hero, courageous and highly skilled, but certainly no superman.

I did feel that initially the plot borrowed a little too heavily from Robert Ludlum's novels, (right down to a high altitude parachuting sequence that felt very similar to one in The Janson Directive). It also has many of the flaws that are so common in this genre: the villain over-complicates his plot, feels the need to boast about his plans to Carver and never eliminates his foe when he's able to. Nevertheless, it's every bit as gripping as a thriller should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but nothing new, 23 July 2009
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin (Hardcover)
This is the third book to feature Sam Carver - The "accident man" - a highly skilled assassin now retired and running a security business and a more 'normal' life. We find Sam slightly traumatised and a little bit paranoid but his skills have not deserted him as we find out when the past catches up with him.

In Assassin we have Carver being framed with events pointing the authorities to him with the suggestion he has taken up his old trade. This was a little convoluted with some caricature bad guys, but once Carter starts to evade and strike back, things start to whip along nicely. Can Carver stop the big event that he is being put into the frame for...?

I enjoyed this as an entertaining page turner, but the original book, The Accident Man, was quite refreshingly different but this, and the previous book, do tread familiar territory. The current most popular thriller theme is very much 'lone guy against the odds', pretty much re-hashing the Bourne formula. I recently read the latest Brett Battles and that was much the same again. Don't get me wrong, this is very readable and is a page turner, it just didn't do enough to differentiate itself from the others of a similar style
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another day, another assassin, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassin (Paperback)
If you you like like your thrillers set out in a paint (write) by numbers fashion, this will hit the spot. Sometimes I do if, within the book, the story unfolds reasonably and there is good character development.

In 'Assassin' you don't quite get this. When Cain writes the action scenes, the book is the cliched 'page turner', though I'm beginning to despair of Carver, the all-action loner who seems to be caught by the arch criminals as easily as a mouse in a household trap.

It's not that the hero should be invincible but rather, with Carver, the author needs the pain Carver suffers whilst in captivity to build up Carver's strength and character. Frankly, this doesn't work. In fact, it spoils the story as we all know he'll escape with one bound just before the credits roll.

And then there's the dialogue. This is definitely not Cain's strong point. It reads like school playground stuff when dealing with the males and more like a teenager's introduction to the opposite sex where Carver's female friends/lovers/squeezes are concerned. Still, easy reading, entirely forgettable, some really good passages and some quite boring pages, too. There seems to be a trend these days to fill out the chapters with historical events as to why the main protagonists do what they do and this just slows down the main story.

Lee Child has a lot to answer for but, for my money, nobody as yet comes close to this one man against the world of criminals as Jack Reacher and, regrettably, Sam Carver is not a close second.

If you're going on a journey and need a book, take this one with you, read it and then leave it for the next traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant As Ever, 25 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Assassin (Paperback)
Tom Cain is an author who is scaling the heights of espionage / action thrillers like a mountaineer with a point to prove. From his first outing with "The Accident Man" right up to the last page of Assassin he drags the reader through wonderful conspiracy theories, all out action, high drama and a gentle moment when putting emotions to his characters.

His style of writing is a sparse prose which lets the reader determine some facts for themselves as he has a knack of saying a lot with very few words. Chapters are served up in bite size chunks and are so moreish that before you know it, you have gorged yourself and the cupboard is as bare as the last page of the book which you have just devoured.

Carver's evolution as a character is an interesting muse as his training and experiences give rise to paranoia and mistrust in even the most benign situations. Thor Larsson makes a welcome return and the arch enemy from Carver's past is a fantastic example of what can happen when the army train the wrong people. He is devilishly psychotic and yet has devised a method of assassinating the President, which the real Secret Service will have to now take seriously.

The plot is the usual helter skelter adventure ranging across many countries as Carver fights the bad guys whilst on the run from the authorities. There are double agents, spies, red herrings and false clues along the way for Carver to battle and the reader to try and out-guess. Cain's greatest achievement is as ever his understated knack of making the preposterous not only believable but logical. I still think that his explanation of who was behind Diana's murder was the best piece of conspiracy I have ever read.

Sam Carver will invariably be compared by some to the likes of Jack Reacher, Charlie Fox, Joe Hunter and others. If you are not a Carver fan already and like the aforementioned then it is only a matter of time before Tom Cain also adorns your bookshelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Read one of Tom Cain' books before - saw this so try again, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Assassin (Paperback)
Presentation

Cover 3.0. I did not appreciate who the guy was in the circle until later. Follows the fashion of authors name and title in bold. I was looking for another Tom Cain book so it achieved its design aim.

Comments

After starting - Not sure about this book. More of the same after Dictator. Bourne meets Forsyth it says on cover. Well no, as I am missing the sophistication and depth of those two in the writing. The ingredients promise much but I am unsure.

After completion. Now having finished the book as a 24 hour read I wonder if my interest is waning in thrillers of this kind. The plot lines were interesting, educational, clever and up to date and mixed well. Tom Cain's writing also kept me turning the pages as the book flowed well after the first few chapters. Despite this I finished the book without a wow factor and a wish to move it up a star.

Why is this - Perhaps I do not like Mr Carver very much. Despite some good action scenes none of them are sufficiently memorable. At this stage I would not read again.

Alexander of Allrighters and Ywnwab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 11 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. Harry C. Sharman (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed Tom Cain's first book, but this new one is even better. The character and concept in Carver is great, and add this to the well researched and intricate plot lines - makes for a seriously absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carver gets his mojo back !, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin (Paperback)
After an underwhelming 2nd outing for our ex SBS man, Assassin really makes up for any disappointment from its predecessor. I loved this book.

We even get to go to Bristol ! Bristol..... when in the world did we ever think we'd see good old Bristol in an action thriller novel ?

There's also a very surprising and moving development in this novel that, although shocking and perhaps unwanted, was very well handled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Oct. 2009
By 
Jillian McFarlane "spudnando" (Fife, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassin (Hardcover)
I have read all 3 in this series, and I really enjoyed them all. The fact that the story grips you and you want to keep reading more is excellent. The plot is well thought through and researched due to the description shown. I simply could not put this down.
If there are any more in this series, I will certainly be first in the queue to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin (Kindle Edition)
I deliberately use the word "interesting" because, as acknowledged by the Author at the end, a good deal of fact has been included in the book. The fact represents pretty disturbing reading, but is an eye opener to what is going on out there with people smuggling and the fate so many young innocent girls suffer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Tom Cain Book, 24 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin (Paperback)
I love Tom Cain's Character Samuel Carver. The book has plenty of action which keeps interest in the plot. I never used to read much but I have now read three so far. I plan to buy The Dictator next. Keep them coming.

I was originally given The Accident Man book by a friend to read and that's when I got hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin
Assassin by Tom Cain (Paperback - 19 Aug. 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews