Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read
Two years after the appearance of Phoenix Squadron, Rowland White author of Vulcan 607 returns to the bookshop shelve with his new work Storm Front

Set during the early years of the 1970's the author takes us through the formation of the gulf state of Oman by coup d'etat, in which Her Majesties Government complicit and indeed assisted if only by turning the...
Published on 8 Jun 2011 by Peter Thompson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as 607
Got this after I read his book Vulcan 607. Not as good but I liked it. Took me ages to read it as the pace didn't grip me. The second half of the book is better than the first half.
Published 11 months ago by Mr. G. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read, 8 Jun 2011
By 
Peter Thompson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
Two years after the appearance of Phoenix Squadron, Rowland White author of Vulcan 607 returns to the bookshop shelve with his new work Storm Front

Set during the early years of the 1970's the author takes us through the formation of the gulf state of Oman by coup d'etat, in which Her Majesties Government complicit and indeed assisted if only by turning the occasional blind eye, through to the fierce fighting between the men of the Special Air Service and the insurgent forces or Adoo, and includes the operation of Strikemaster jets flown by Royal Air Force pilots that were not officially in theatre. The story develops and reaches its climax with a graphic description of the battle for the BATT house, near the tiny fishing village of Mirbat, where 9 SAS men fought for their lives under overwhelming odds against several hundred Adoo insurgents. Their bravery under fire is aided by the RAF pilots and their Sultan of Oman's Air Force Strikemasters performing some of the RAF's first Close Air Support missions, firing 7.62mm gun pods and Rockets into the advancing terrorists to slow there advance.

The author has, as is his usual style, relied on detailed research and first hand interviews of those that were there to ensure that the chronology of the event as written is correct and that the full intimate detail of the story is gained. The book also contains names that in 1972 would have meant nothing to the man on the street but would later become household names. In early career form we meet with the likes of Sir Peter de la Billiere, later to command British forces during the first Gulf War against Iraq, Lofty Wiseman SAS Quartermaster and survival expert, Sir Jock Stirrup, a Flight Lieutenant with the Sultan Of Oman's Air force who would later be Chief of the Defence Staff, and at Mirbat itself, SAS Trooper Pete Winner who would later take part in the relief of the Iranian Embassy siege at Princes Gate in London.

For the aviation or military history aficionado Storm Front, while a veritable boys own story of daring do, is a superb work that highlights the trouble the Arab peninsula has been subjected to long before peoples interest increased with Desert Storm in the early 1990's and more recent operations further east in Afghanistan. Indeed it could be said that what is seen in Storm Front on the front of Arab armed insurgency is possibly the genesis of later, larger terrorist action to come. I can only highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laba should have got the VC!, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
I appreciate that the work of the SAS means that the covert nature of what they do generates less in the way of medals than `normal soldiers', but, The Battle of Mirbat and the war in Oman is no longer a secret. It has been written about before but not in such well researched detail ... Now it is firmly in the public domain, surely Laba can have his VC now!

This book really puts you there: In the BATT house, next to the .50 Browning, the GPMG firing to your right and with a relentless line of adoo attacking from the front. You can imagine the 25 pounder, manned by Laba blasting off rounds. Then the book takes you to the artillery gun pit, the cockpits of the Strikemaster jets as if you were there yourself. It really is brilliant.

The build up in the book to the decisive Battle of Mirbat consists of intricate detail on the war in Oman and the background to its origins. Also included, are the backgrounds of the key players at the Battle of Mirbat, soldiers and pilots as well as all the key decision makers. This makes you feel as if you have almost `got to know' the men involved in the drama. By the time you get to The Battle, you also have a really good idea of the whole tactical and political situation.

I expected a lot from this book as I really enjoyed Rowland White's previous books. Also, having read other accounts of The Battle of Mirbat, this book had a lot to live up to and it did! I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

For those involved who are still alive, I know you have heard this before but I'll say it again ... Well done! You make me proud to be British, and proud that we have such brilliant and brave soldiers serving in the British Army from Fiji. To the author, thank you for writing the book. I look forward to your next ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British derring do - highly recommended, 7 Jun 2011
By 
Damien Burke (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
Since the end of World War II and the coming of "peace", there has only been one year in the 20th century where no British serviceman was killed in action - 1968. The British had abandoned much of their Middle East responsibilities, in particular leaving Aden and abandoning Yemen to decades of communist-backed drudgery, deterioration and latterly savagery. Next door in Oman, the situation looked to be similarly grim. This is where Storm Front starts off, chronicling the removal of Oman's Sultan Said bin Taimur and replacement with his son Qaboos bin Said. Qaboos wanted to drag Oman out of its increasingly desperate slide into the past but he was up against the same sort of communist-backed guerilla warfare that had led the British to abandon Aden.

Britain had no appetite - or money - to fight a war for Oman, but the Sultanate was of truly stategic importance so, as on so many other occasions, the British did what they did best - muddled through. With grudging dribbles of funding and minimal manpower and support, the British propped up the Sultanate of Oman's Armed Forces against a rising tide of rebellion from Dhofar. Storm Front concentrates on the SAS troopers sent in to support civil development, and the RAF officers on detachment flying Strikemasters, Hueys and Skyvans for the SAF. As you can expect by now from Rowland White the book rattles along at quite a pace, taking in incidents of horrific savagery but also plenty of humour and the occasional truly bizarre incident (exploding camels, anybody?). The background to the conflict is explained very well, so that by the time you get to the climactic battle for Mirbat that so few people have ever heard of you feel you know every character involved and exactly the sort of hopeless situation they are facing.

The heroism of the 9 SAS troopers involved in that battle against 300 enemy soldiers, and the importance of the air support they received in weather that would ground most air forces makes for a stunning story and Rowland pulls no punches with every detail of the battle meticulously recorded. This is not, however, a dry history book and as with his previous books Rowland brings events to life more in the style of a novel than a documentary. This is a book absolutely begging for a movie deal, and unlike, say, Vulcan 607, this one wouldn't be quite so impossibly expensive to film. We can but hope. Men like Sergeant Talaiasi Labalaba deserve wider recognition for their incredible heroism on that day - single-handedly manning a 25 pounder gun that would normally need a crew of 4, 'Laba' held back the initial enemy thrust and fought until cut down, while his friend Trooper Sekonaia Takavesi reached him in time to take over and fight on despite being badly wounded himself. The bare bones of this story are incredible enough but the way it is told here will hopefully bring it to a whole new audience. Backing up the text is a selection of rare photos and maps giving an idea of the areas of the country involved.

Oman, of course, prevailed with eventual backing from other Arab countries (notably Iran - that's "good" Iran, not the "bad" Iran we have now) and dragged itself out of the dust to become a successful modern state, and British forces have gone on ever since fighting the same sort of battles even while their political masters fail to heed the lessons of the past. I hope Storm Front reminds just a few of them. To finish off with, just one criticism - no mention that the 25 pounder gun involved in the action is now to be found in Firepower, The Royal Artillery Museum at Woolwich!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read this 6 weeks too late..., 8 Aug 2011
By 
A. Orchard "Captain Ade Orchard" (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
I had this book on the day of release and due to a move abroad have only just had the time to read it - damn! It was a very good, very addictive read. In particular, the build up to the finale had me missing Metro stations as I travelled to work in an attempt to get through to the end.

Rowland's previous offerings in Vulcan 607 and Phoenix Squadron impressed not only for the exciting story telling but the richness of the story due to the detail and personal seam running throughout each of the characters. This story was, I think, stronger than the previous 2 for exactly that and my goodness, what a story. I am somewhat pink cheeked to have known little of the escapades in the Oman and Yemen in the 1970's but I am much the wiser for it now having read this recollection. There really is something in there for everyone; land, sea and air operations - one might almost say the way 'joint operations' should be executed - combined with the more detailed flavour of the special forces of the era and the amazing patchwork of pilots and engineers flying for and with Omani forces.

The escapades of the SAS throughout the story is, as I know, stuff of legend in the Service and to get such a detailed insight into their daily lives almost makes them human. Almost. And the flying? Anyone who has an experience flying the venerable Jet Provost might just have imagined themselves wallowing around the sky in a Strikemaster rocketing under the covering fire of your own guns. Nice.

The story, like his previous 2 offerings, has given me another data point for parts of our military history I just wasn't fully aware of but in such a way, (unlike several books I've read,) I'll read it again just for the fun of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Storm Front by Rowland Wright, 24 July 2011
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
seeing as I knew quite a few of the guys who served in Oman I thought it was acracking good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...The book to read about Mirbat, well researched, fantastic stuff!, 8 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
Once again you can tell that Rowland White has meticulously researched this book from start to finish, from visiting the location to interviewing those that were there (including the only survivor from the gunpit; Takavesi) he has not let us down for accuracy and attention to detail. He manages to weave into the account perfectly, in the air one minute and the next with the boots on the ground. I had read some work about this battle before but nothing like this....fantastic.
For anyone wanting to find out what really happened in Mirbat, this is the book for you......

" A rare insight into the battle that defined the modern SAS. STORM FRONT is the best book you will read this year! - Colonel Tim Collins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Storm front, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
As a retired SAS operative who was in the OMAN conflict,the book was well sourced there was minor discrepancies and omissions but good reading for the non participants/afficiandos of SF wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 27 Aug 2011
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
Rowland White's epic account of a key event in the UK's involvement in Oman in the early 70's is by far the best account i have read of the events leading up to, and the actual engagement during the Battle of Mirbat. The span of his research and accuracy detailed in his descriptive writing has the reader right in the middle of the action. The balance is excellent and the many outstanding characters described in the book are actual people - this is not a work of fiction. Supported by excellent maps, illustrations and photographs this is a highly informative and riveting read from the first page to the last. If you have no knowledge of Oman or the British involvement in this conflict, it is an excellent read; the reader will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
Exccellent follow up to the other too books. Air support is only part of it, SAS are somewhere else, what courage!

Great read highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 28 Sep 2011
By 
MP Collins (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Storm Front (Hardcover)
I whole heartedly agree with the reviews here, it is truly an inspiring read and an absolute must for all those interested in the secret wars of the time.
I am left with two questions. With a totally jaundiced attitude to all things political no matter what colour Blue Red or the more usual Pink of indecision in matters involving the armed forces. Was it not the same Lord Carrington who completely misjudged the run up to the Falklands War? If so an unenviable level of incompetance would appear to have been no hinderance to his political career so no surprise there then.
As to the paltry postumous MID awarded to Corporal Labalaba, whilst I suppose it has no part in the story here I would very much like to know the reason and the name of the individual behind that appalling decision. I am guessing some ghastly REMF with an axe to grind.
Certainly a long overdue award of a postumous VC should be made, but of course this would involve said REMF admitting fault and guessing elevation to even higher levels in the cesspool such an admission is unlikely.
This book and those of similar genre should be compulsory reading for the youths of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9f5b7c)

This product

Storm Front
Storm Front by Rowland White (Paperback - 15 Mar 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews