Customer Reviews


468 Reviews
5 star:
 (154)
4 star:
 (89)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (65)
1 star:
 (95)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it in 3 days
I felt it started strongly with good character introductions and building people's backgrounds and reader affinity with them. There's plenty of action and some great events which are (to those who've already read Brown) now-familiar action capers with some fast changes and lots of near-misses. Plenty of fun there and it keeps you hooked.

The bit where it fell...
Published on 2 Jan 2007 by Jay

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed thriller
Another pulp fiction thriller that gallops along at a good pace. It's somewhat far fetched and you find yourself a bit lost in who the crooks are, but it's still quite enjoyable for all that. This is better than the Da Vinci Code, possibly because it hasn't spawned a spin off industry (now there's a relief). It's definitely another commuter read.
Published on 20 Dec 2005 by Sarah J. Marquis


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it in 3 days, 2 Jan 2007
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
I felt it started strongly with good character introductions and building people's backgrounds and reader affinity with them. There's plenty of action and some great events which are (to those who've already read Brown) now-familiar action capers with some fast changes and lots of near-misses. Plenty of fun there and it keeps you hooked.

The bit where it fell down for me was the ending, where I felt he had one eye on the action-adventure Hollywood adaption. It just seemed a bit too formulaic and there wasn't the depth. You could see what was coming - and the main bit of world-saving 'brilliance' of a genius codebreaker, well, I got it straight away, and the NSA don't want me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Debut, 9 Aug 2004
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
I bought this, Dan Brown's first novel, on the strength of reading The Da Vinci Code. It's not as strong or as indepth as The Da Vinci Code but nevertheless I found it an excellent read.
It centres around code breaking and computing - there is no art history or religion in sight this time. Originally published in 1998 the computing and technology side of the book will no doubt date with time but six years on it is not too dated although I am sure experts will no doubt pick holes in some of it.
The book centres around a couple searching for a key for a newly developed code. The woman, and main character, is in her place of work, a highly secure NSA building dedicated to code breaking. Her partner is in Europe tracking down a second copy of the key which is held inside a ring.
The book is fast paced and I read it within 24 hours. I found it thoroughly ejoyable and although some of the story was a bit predictable there were enough twists to it to make it page turner.
It's not as good as The Da Vinci code but it brought to me a similar excitement when reading it. A great debut 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad a recent reviews would lead you to believe, 28 Nov 2004
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
Most people will be reading this book because they read The Da Vinci code, liked it, and thought they would try the other Dan Brown novels - that's what I did. Of all 4 books he's written I have to admit that this is not as good as the other 3 (my favorite being Deception Point), however that doesn't make it a bad book. I think it suffers because the Da Vinci Code has been so successful that everyone expects this to be on the same level. It's still good though and despite what a number of other reviewers have said, I'm glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but flawed thriller, 20 Dec 2005
By 
Sarah J. Marquis "SassyJ" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
Another pulp fiction thriller that gallops along at a good pace. It's somewhat far fetched and you find yourself a bit lost in who the crooks are, but it's still quite enjoyable for all that. This is better than the Da Vinci Code, possibly because it hasn't spawned a spin off industry (now there's a relief). It's definitely another commuter read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Dan Brown's best, 4 Dec 2004
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
Of Dan Brown's four books this is the one I liked least. If it had been the first one I had read I doubt I would have read any more which would have been a pity. Although I liked the ending I found the plot in Spain becoming more and more implausible and the plot in the USA being computer related needed a list of technical terms for the non-mathematical e.g. algorithm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the standard of the DaVinci Code, 2 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
If you've read the DaVinci code, don't expect this one to live up to the same standard. The plot is pretty silly and although its worth a read (with the usual amount of action and plot twists), you'd be better served with either the DaVinci code or Angels and Demons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, 24 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
'Digital Fortress' is Dan Brown's first book, and it happens to be the last one of his that I've read. It's clear to see that he got better the more he wrote, particularly with 'Angels and Demons' and the 'Da Vinci Code'. But that's not to say that Digital Fortress isn't enjoyable.
In this novel we follow Susan Fletcher, who is the NSA's leading cryptologist, and the whole book takes place inside just one day. In it, Fletcher is taken through a whirlwind of conspiracies and secrets involving the US government's intelligence, in particular their ability to read anyone's email. The adventure is business and personal for Fletcher, as her fiancee is brought into the equation as well. This all makes for an entertaining read. So, certainly worth looking at, but by far Dan Brown's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars digital fortress, 30 Sep 2004
By 
R A WILLIAMS (rugeley, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
Although this book had a lot of twists and spins there became a point where the twists became obvious and at times laboured. Despite this i liked this book because it consisted of plenty of action conveyed through an easy writing style. It seemed to be the type of book which is excellent to kill time with and enjoy however it would not leave you with anything to ponder afterwards.
Pretty cool, ideal if you are by a pool trying to tan yourself on a lounger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining for a junk read., 9 Aug 2004
By 
Ozgur Altan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Paperback)
Well nobody should expect a paperback novel to get the Nobel, or have the plot or character variety of a literary classic.
This is a book you can enjoy a lot while travelling on the train or sunbathing at the park which is not very much demanding and easily enjoyable.
Moreover there is a political discussion embedded within a very basic dilemma as stated "who will guard the guards?" a very relevant question to ask and to be answered for our times.
Thanks Mr Brown for the pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quick entertaining read, 19 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Digital Fortress (Hardcover)
A reasonably entertaining page-turner. Perfect for when you want an easy read without a complicated plot e.g. on a long flight - as long as you can forgive the use of a perfect leading couple, a few super-coincidences and glaring plot holes (the car chase down airport runway - oh, please)
The ending really disappointed as I guessed the password as soon as the clue was revealed. Surely anyone with the most basic physics education would also - and yet here we have a roomful of super-intelligent NSA-types who resort to using Google. Yeah right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad8214c8)

This product

Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress by Dan Brown (Paperback - 28 Aug 2009)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews