Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2010
Let's get the title out of the way first; it's patently ludicrous. No individual, living or dead can make such a claim. After reading the book I'd be very surprised if it was the author who came up with it. It's only a guess, but I fancy that a lot of people will assume that a stupid title means that it's a stupid book. And that's a shame because nothing could be further from the truth; it's a very good book.
With that gripe out of the way let me say what a splendid read it is. It's packed with anecdotal and personal experiences of the naval war in the Mediterranean culminating (as the title suggests) in the north Atlantic with the Swordfish attacks on the Bismarck. But there is plenty to ponder on before we reach the Bismarck. It's packed with all the little details that won't be found in an historians account. Did you know that the Scharnhorst & Gneisenau were referred to as the Ugly Sisters by the Ark Royal's crew as they attempted to hunt them down? I just love things like that. Only first-hand accounts can flesh out history for subsequent generations and we should be grateful to those who have taken the trouble to record it. Anyone with an interest in military first-hand accounts will not find anything to complain about with this book.
Oh dear...before submitting this to the ether I took a look at the other reviews and could scarcely believe what I read. Some one has written...`could have been an excellent book with a little less self praise.' It's an incomprehensible comment as the author is self effacing in the extreme.
Here's to you Mr Moffat...we all owe you one!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2009
This is simply a superb book, John Moffat and Mike Rossiter have written a fast moving, well written book which will appeal to all those interested in WWII history, maritime history and for the human story of the 1930's and 1940's.

This is one of the best books I have ever read, I found it totally gripping and really placed you at the point of time in the book.

Very highly recommended indeed!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
I have heard John Moffat describe his attack on the Bismarck, he has a remarkable memory for a man of his age. A very good account of his life as a WW2 Fleet Air Arm pilot. Mike Rossiter writes with authority, this is a follow on from his book HMS Ark Royal. Both books are recommend buys for Naval Aviation historians.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
The author makes it quite clear that he was not responsible for the sinking of the Bismark.The blame for the misleading title clearly is laid at the publishers door.What is clear is that he contributed vastly by managing to hit the Bismark with his torpedo,but no one can say where his torpedo hit.Nevertheless he did a singularly brave act for which he should have been decorated.I found his tale of life in the Fleet Air arm aboard carriers to be gripping.Given that unfortunately members of the authors generation are now slipping away fast generations to come will be very fortunate to have first hand accounts such as this to refer to.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2010
A very well written account of the memoirs of a very brave and compasionate man. It goes at a good pace and does not drag on on certain situations. I recommend this book to anyone even with just a casual interest in military history. What these people did for our freedom should never be forgotten.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2010
A truly inspirational story of a young naval pilot in action during WW2.Down to earth account of how close to defeat Britain really came when battling a Germany who had been gearing for conflict since the early thirties.It is not an understatement that the torpedo fired into the Bismarck by the young Swordfish pilot, sub-lieutenant John Moffat spared the Atlantic convoys and perhaps saved Britain from starvation and inglorious surrender.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
This is a wonderful true story of the sinking of the Bismarck and is written by John Moffat from the Ark Royal aircraft carrier. I would highly recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
advantage i have is i know the man and have been in his company many times and can elaborate and add to the book content,but a good description of the incident.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Gave as present to a Fleet Air Arm buff who is very impressed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
This is a most gripping story of the courage and spirit of the men who flew in the Fleet Air Arm of the Navy during the last war.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)