Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money for nothing and your clacks for free
It seems, after reading Terry Pratchett's latest Discworld novel "Making Money", that money does make the world go `round, even if that world is flat and balanced on the backs of four elephants standing on the back of a giant turtle.

In "Making Money", Terry Pratchett and his `hero' Moist von Lipwig do for and to the monetary system exactly what they did for...
Published on 20 Sep 2007 by Leonard Fleisig

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tired but still better than the competition
Many others have commented before so I only want to express my disappointment that the master's slip is showing as it were. I believe that Terry's last few novels have been less than perfect and this one is another rung down the ladder. But having said that I read it virtually overnight and it is still the benchmark that other comedy fantasists have to reach and seldom...
Published on 15 Jun 2008 by Big Jim


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money for nothing and your clacks for free, 20 Sep 2007
By 
Leonard Fleisig "Len" (Virginia Beach, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It seems, after reading Terry Pratchett's latest Discworld novel "Making Money", that money does make the world go `round, even if that world is flat and balanced on the backs of four elephants standing on the back of a giant turtle.

In "Making Money", Terry Pratchett and his `hero' Moist von Lipwig do for and to the monetary system exactly what they did for and to the postal service in "Going Postal". The result is the same - a slapstick romp through the strange and wonderful world of Discworld.

It is impossible to detail the plot of this book without giving away spoilers so I think it best just to say that Lord Vetinari has determined that Ankh-Morpork's monetary system is in dire straits and in need of improvement. Vetinari picks, in his inimitable way, Moist von Lipwig to lead the way. The result is - well just about what you'd expect.

"Making Money" features a cast of mostly new characters. As to established characters, Vetinari is featured and he is as delightfully Machiavellian as ever. There are cameo appearances by DEATH, the Watch, and CMOT Dibbler. However, new or newer characters play the largest roles. Moist's second appearance is terrific. Pratchett does a very nice job turning him into what I hope is a recurring role. Moist's girlfriend the chain-smoking Adore Belle Dearheart makes her presence felt, especially when she puts her foot down. Mr. Bent, the oh-so serious bank manager plays straight man to Moist's light-hearted con-man character. Bent is tied to the old ways - where money must be based on gold and nothing but gold. He is serious, has never been known to laugh, and has a head for numbers that is astonishing. In some (admittedly very superficial) respects you could argue that Bent is to Moist what Gordon was to Tony.

Moist's antagonists are the Lavish family, particularly Cosmo Lavish and his rather large sister Pucci (of whom Pratchett says in a great line, "she had no idea how to handle people and she tried to make self-esteem do the work of self-respect, but the girl could flounce better than a fat turkey on a trampoline".) They make good foils for Moist and Vetinari.

As always the plot has many twists and turns and one-liners fly almost as fast as the slings and arrows of the Assassins' Guild. Pratchett has a great way with humour and manages to combine that humour with a good deal of insight into how `things' work in the real world. His look at the monetary system in "Making Money" can now stand with Pratchett's look at rock music, religion, the post office, and movies as some very funny looks at our world through the prism of Discworld.

"Making Money" was a fun book for me to read. It was typical Pratchett (high praise) and I think most Pratchett fans will enjoy it. I certainly did. L. Fleisig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Money = Making Pleasure, 30 Dec 2008
By 
SuperConsumer "Tony Sell" (Milton Keynes United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
While some may say it doesn't live up to Terry's past works I would dissagree. I found it wonderful!
In the same way that we've been able to follow Sam Vimes through his adventures and growth we can now see how falling out with Lord Vetinari Havelock has a longer lasting effect than one might think. Rather than just a one adventure wonder we see how Mr Von Lipwig applies his very special skills to an even greater challenge.
I found the storyline good and as always Terry has you in there living every moment. As always the story appears over two thirds of the way through but as always the final twist has you entrapped so you can't put it down.
For me an excellant addition to the Discworld series and one I can reread again and again so excellant value as always!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but it's up there with them, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Erastes (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's always difficult when introducing a new character. I feel that Pterry loves Moist perhaps more than a lot of us do, and he's almost trying too hard to make us love him too. I like Moist, I do - but he's no Vimes.

I am not sure that I really quite GOT this one, it kind of seemed two books shunted together, I'm probably missing the point about the gold and the golems or something.

But the character who makes this book live is Vetinari. For the first time (other than a brief glimpse in Night Watch) we see Vetinari as he really works behind the scenes to achieve the city's survival. I devoured every speech of his and was just thrilled to bits to see him out of the shadows. Perhaps it is because Moist would be a great Patrician and Vetinari is grooming him for such? Who can say?

More Vimes please, Pterry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly, it's not just Going Postal rehashed, 29 Sep 2007
By 
L. Donaghy (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After reading the synopsis and some of the reviews on this site, I was expecting Making Money to be essentially Going Postal with 'post office' crossed out and replaced with 'bank'. Happily, my preconceptions were wrong.

Making Money is a return to an older form, lighter in tone (and plot) than any Discworld since at least Night Watch. Moist is left in charge of the Royal Bank of Ankh-Morpork where he faces the seemingly gold-obsessed Chief Clerk, his predecessor's disinherited family and the conservative Ankh-Morpork public in his drive for reform. The villain of the piece is Cosmo Lavish, whose obsessions make him a more credible threat to himself than to Moist Von Lipwig. As Nobby Nobbs observes early on, there is never any doubt that he will succeed. Moist Von Lipwig looks set to become Ankh-Morpork's resident reformer, with the tax office next on the list. (I'll reserve judgement on how funny even Terry Pratchett can make taxation.)

Making Money is probably not going to be many fans' absolute favourite Discworld books, but reading an average Discworld is still a very pleasant way to spend a rainy day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collateral Custard saves the day. Genius., 20 Nov 2008
Utterly stupendous ending saves this Pratchett Discworld novel of moderate worth.
Only a genius could come up with such a barmy original idea as Collateral Custard.
Mr Bent and Collateral Custard save the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale for today, 12 Oct 2008
By 
J. Hood (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Reading this as the financial institutions of the real world totter and shudder made me wish that Moist von Lipwig had been around to run Lehman brothers. Its take on finance and economic modelling was very funny, though for me the funniest single moment was the reaction of Vetinari to - not to spoil the fun - the unexpected offer of dessert. A sparkling comic novel for our times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chuckle double effect!, 1 Oct 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Making Money is a Discworld novel and features the Man in the Golden Suit, Ankh-Morpork's Postmaster Moist von Lipwig.

Moist is bored. He misses his old, more adventurous life, back when he was Albert Spangler the con artist. So when he's not running the Post Office, he likes climbing to its roof at night, and has already picked all its locks.

But when Mrs Topsy Lavish, chairwoman and owner of 50% of the Royal Bank of Ankh-Morpork, but owner also of Mr. Fusspot the dog who owns 1%, dies and leaves her shares to her dog and bequeaths Mr. Fusspot to Moist... he has no choice but try and make it work again.

It starts with the Mint, which actually runs at a loss. Since making coins costs too much and people are already using stamps as currency, Moist devises the first bank notes, which soon have the same success as his stamps.

In the meantime, Cosmo Lavish tries to take Vetinari's identity and Moist's girlfriend Adora Belle Dearheart uncovers ancient golems buried in the desert. And all the while the Glooper gloops.

I really like the character of Moist von Lipwig and was glad to read about him again. The book is of course filled with references that make you chuckle twice: when you get them, and when you find yourself clever because to got them... it's the Discworld double effect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bright and breezy... and a bit underwhelming..., 24 Sep 2008
By 
Chintan Nanavati "Chinhealer" (Staffs, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Ignore the two stars I've given Making Money and read it anyway. Just don't make it the first Pratchett you read or you'll end up feeling a tad underwhelmed and wondering what all the fuss is about. Better points of entry to Discworld include Mort or Soul Music or Night Watch or The Truth or Monstrous Regiment or even Going Postal. Making Money lacks a truly biting satirical edge, lacks the incisive wit and belly-laughs we've come to expect from Pratchett and lacks the multi-layered density of plot of its older siblings.
But Moist is a very engaging central character and, for regular visitors to Discworld, time spent in his company is time well-spent. Yes, much of Making Money does feel like a slightly feeble re-run of Going Postal. (A bit like Jaws II compared with Jaws.) But several of the supporting players are pretty colourful and Vetinari's cameos are as entertaining as usual... here's hoping the next installment in the series sees a return to form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tired but still better than the competition, 15 Jun 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Many others have commented before so I only want to express my disappointment that the master's slip is showing as it were. I believe that Terry's last few novels have been less than perfect and this one is another rung down the ladder. But having said that I read it virtually overnight and it is still the benchmark that other comedy fantasists have to reach and seldom overcome. Unfortunately having set the bar so high he doesn't quite make it over this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think I've read this before..., 2 Jun 2008
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Terry Pratchett's discworld novels (and his other works) and usually rate them very highly, but this one seems to be a lot like its predecessor 'Going Postal' (which was a classic). Same storyline and characters; though thankfully - different jokes and historical musings.

I suppose everybody is entitled to at least one dud and although it is not a total loss as it has its funny moments, I can't help thinking that there was something lacking in this offering.

If this was a school report card, it would read:
Could do better, least he turned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Money: (Discworld Novel 36) (Discworld Novels)
Making Money: (Discworld Novel 36) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 13 Oct 2011)
7.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews