Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blacklands Indeed
Blacklands is a rather dark tale of two halves, one part of it is the tale of an unhappy and dysfunctional family, and the other is the dark tale of the mind of a serial killer. The thing, or person, that links the two is a twelve year old boy called Steven Lamb. Steven is one of those boys who isn't very popular at school in fact even his teachers try not to notice him...
Published on 25 Jan 2010 by Simon Savidge Reads

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and original
A very interesting premise sets up this promising debut's plot, as a young boy tries to solve the tragedy that has haunted and damaged his family for years. If he can discover the body of his long dead uncle, whom he is convinced was killed as a child and his body hidden somewhere on the west country moors, it may heal the wounds that seem to keep any happiness from his...
Published on 22 Mar 2010 by D. Salmon


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blacklands Indeed, 25 Jan 2010
By 
Simon Savidge Reads "Simon" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
Blacklands is a rather dark tale of two halves, one part of it is the tale of an unhappy and dysfunctional family, and the other is the dark tale of the mind of a serial killer. The thing, or person, that links the two is a twelve year old boy called Steven Lamb. Steven is one of those boys who isn't very popular at school in fact even his teachers try not to notice him and even try to avoid him and his `smell of mildew', so much so they ignore his being bullied. His home life is also not the best, living on the breadline, Steven with his Mum, Nan and little brother Davey.

It's not the happiest of households either, his mum has a favourite son which isn't Steven and his Nan has been bitter and angry ever since the disappearance of Steven's Uncle Billy. Aged eleven Billy vanished between the newsagent and his house believed to be the victim of serial killer Arnold Avery. Steven decides and in some way becomes slightly obsessed that finding Billy's body will make everything better and if he does it his family will love him more. After fruitless digging on Exmoor he decides that he will write to his Uncle's killer, what he doesn't realise is that this provides Arnold Avery with the perfect game.

Steven is a brilliant character and I really enjoyed reading him and following his journey. Occasionally I thought he spoke and acted a lot older than twelve, having said that with his home life the way it was and all the bullying I could understand why he might have aged quicker. I thought the premise was an interesting and yet incredibly disturbing one. I found getting into the mind of Avery and his paedophilic ways made for difficult reading, I am of a mind though reading shouldn't always be comfortable just like it shouldn't always be happy.

If I was judging a book by its cover I would possibly, and I don't mean to sound a snob, not have picked Blacklands up as it looked like a bit of a bad crime throwaway summer read and it's not at all. I can't say I enjoyed the book because I don't think you can enjoy a book with a serial killing paedophile, I was enthralled though, gripped too and turned the pages till suddenly it was finished and a few hours had whizzed by. It's not got the best prose that I have ever seen yet it does get into the minds of an unfortunate twelve year old as well as the darkest recesses of a serial killers mind. I would recommend people give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blacklands - a new style, 21 Jan 2010
By 
S. Cryer (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
Although Blacklands fits comfortably into the crime genre, this book is actually part thriller, part crime drama and part coming-of-age story. It's a study of ordinary people under extraordinary pressure; Steven and his family still suffering from a distant crime, and a killer playing a cunning long game for another chance at psychopathic glory.

While much of current crime fiction seems to use more gore and more sadism to attract attention, Blacklands heads in its own direction. In fact Bauer goes out of her way to avoid being graphic, while making it clear that Avery is a monster. This light touch sets it apart from much of what's on the market today.

Characterisations more than do justice to the plot, and we're taken inside the heads of a twelve-year old and a serial killer with equal conviction, thinking, seeing and feeling what they do .

This is a gripping and believable read, created with spare and beautiful prose. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Debut Novel in Psychological Suspense, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blacklands (Hardcover)
"Blacklands" is a British mystery and an exercise in psychological suspense. It is a debut novel from Belinda Bauer, who has worked as a journalist and screenwriter. She won the Carl Foreman/BAFTA Award for Young British Screenwriters and was a runner-up in the Rhys Davies Short Story Competition for her short story "Mysterious Ways." Bauer was raised in England and Africa, and now lives in Wales.

The novel concerns 12-year old Steven Lamb, a small, but seemingly ordinary boy. However, he is anything but ordinary. Eighteen years ago, his eleven-year old uncle Billy Peters disappeared. Most residents of his village, Shipcott, assume he has been murdered, and buried on Exmoor, the seaside moor that surrounds them. After all, only two years later Arnold Avery confessed to killing six other children and burying them on the surrounding moors. But Steven's grandmother doesn't believe her favorite child is dead, and she spends her days standing lonely guard at the front window of their home, waiting and watching for the boy's return. In fact, the entire family, Steven's Mum, and his younger brother Davey, are still suffering the aftereffects of Billy's mysterious disappearance. So Steven spends every spare minute digging up the moor, looking for Billy's body. Until, that is, he gets the bright idea of writing Avery in prison, seeking further information. A dangerous cat and mouse game ensues; and Steven is just a young boy.

Debut novel or not, this is a well-done mystery. The plot is tight and suspenseful; writing is good, whether narrative, descriptive, or dialog. Bauer has created excellent, vivid characters in Steven, his family, friends, and enemies, and the murderous Avery. She also has done an excellent job of giving us the atmosphere of a small, isolated village; and the moors that surround this particular one: her descriptions of the flora and fauna are fine. I look forward to her next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apt Title, 16 April 2010
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I picked this up in a bookshop and registered it on my "books to read" list, only for it to appear through Amazon Vine, so I ordered a copy, and was not disappointed - part of the appeal was the Mo Hayder comment on the inside cover, an author whose books I have read and in the main enjoyed (and whose The Treatment covers a similar subject matter, albeit in the present day rather than crimes past).

I agree with other reviews, it is not an out an out crime novel, more of a an exploration into the long term effects a child abduction and subseqent murder can have on a family. The story is very bleak, in not only the main subject matter, but also you sense a dark location (it seems to be raining continually during the scenes set on Exmoor) and in the way Stephen, the main character lives, both at home, and at school, where he is the victim of his circumstances and continually bullied by a group of "hoodies". After discovering what happened to his uncle, one of the victims of a convicted child murderer, Stephen becomes obsessed with discovering the location of where he [his real uncle - his Mother calls her boyfriends his "uncles"] is buried, which leads to him developing a "relationship" through a series of letters with Arnold Avery, the man convicted. As soon as the killer realises he is exchanging correspondence with a young boy, things take a dark and sinister turn. The way Bauer deals with the killer is excellent, particularly how he does not feel he is "strange", it is the rest of society which is.

Well written, even though it is a difficult read due to the subject matter and therefore it would be strange to say enjoyable - intriguing is probably the best word; however the way in which the stories work together (the horrific crimes humankind can do to one another, and a boys' "coming of age" and a faimily's need for closure) means you want to keep turning the pages to the very end, although there is one chapter, which I found unnecessary and added little to the story and indeed removes mcuh of the "believiablilty" of the book (which prevents the book from receiving a 5 star review), which concerns a shooting range and the son of one of the original victims.... too much of a chance event in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations!, 7 Feb 2010
By 
J. Earlam (Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
Hugely well done to Belinda Bauer for her debut novel Blacklands. I was already a fan having seen and also loved the film Happy Now, for which she was the screen writer. The writing is tight but engaging, the character of Steven is endearing and completely convincing as a 12-year-old boy going through the gamut of emotions from deep despair and frustration at things beyond his control to believing himself capable of changing his world for the better. The roller-coaster ride he is on is at it's height in what he comes to call the "sheepsjaw incident" and as the reader you're soaring sky high with him one minute and plunged to the depths at the next. The character of Avery, like many reviewers, I found an uncomfortable place to go in my own head, but these people walk among us in real life as we all too tragically know and their revolting crimes are reported on all too frequently in our media. In Blacklands Bauer gives an insight, albeit imagined, into the dark, twisted thinking that could justify in one's own mind what is such abhorrent evil in others. As the plot gathers pace it does race a little wildly towards the end, but it's a giddy journey that takes the reader hurtling along with it, so that as you enter the final chase it's unputdownable. Finally, as a keen moor walker I can attest that the writing evokes a true sense of the setting on Exmoor and Dartmoor. A great read and a great achievement. Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing - a superb book, 8 April 2010
By 
Tim from Surrey (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Black Lands - Belinda BAUER

BAUER has created a masterpiece here. The story is about Steven, an 12 year old boy, whose life is extremely sad, and comes across as someone much older than his years, yet, is still a child. His uncle, Billy, went missing at about the same age as Steven is now. His body was never discovered, although his killer is in prison, but has never disclosed where he buried the body of Billy.

Steven's nan just sits and stares out the window, and does very little else. Steven believes that if the body of his uncle was found, it would help his nan. Steven's mother seems to have very little time for her son, but the only time that some kind of normal homelife develops, is when Steven's mum has one of her boyfriends, with Uncle Jude being Steven's favourite.

Steven starts out by trying to find where the body is buried somewhere on Exmoor, but because of some encouragement in school, Steven discovers he has a talent for writing letters. He decides to write to the killer, to ask him where the body is buried.

What Billy doesn't realise is that by writing to the killer, he puts his own life in danger until it is too late.

BAUER has a definite talent for writing crime fiction, and one where the story keeps moving and changing, keeping the reader on edge, and wanting Steven to find the truth for his nan. As Val McDermid writes, this book hits the ground running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling thriller, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Nicola in South Yorkshire "nicola_in_southyorks" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
I was very keen to read Blacklands, and I wasn't disappointed. It's the story of Steven Lamb, a 12 year old boy whose Uncle Billy was murdered by a serial killer 19 years previously, when Billy was only 11. Steven's nan still waits at the window, looking for Billy coming home, because his body was never found. Steven decides that he could make his family happier, and therefore his home life better, by finding his uncle's body, and this leads him to contact Arnold Avery, the killer, in prison. What follows is a chilling correspondence between Steven and Avery.

This book is quite unusual in that the chapters involving Steven do feel like they are from a 12 year old's perspective, but the chapters involving Avery are so chilling, when he relives his child killing spree, that I found them quite disturbing. I think it led me to dream a fair bit when I was reading this book! The story obviously has its roots in real-life, well-known, murders, and I think that was always in the back of my mind.

It's a very well-written book, and the reader is pulled along with the story through to its gripping conclusion. I'll be interested to see what Belinda Bauer comes up with next. Recommended for those who like a psychological thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very worthwhile read!, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
I was given this book as a gift some time ago, and was not disappointed!

The book is about Steven, a 12 year old boy who is forced to communicate with a serial killer in order to find his uncle's missing body. The way all of the characters (including the serial killer) interact with each other, and the level of description used to form an image of them in our minds is so astounding that you are interested to discover what will happen to them, and at the same time is not so detailed that the pace of the story slows down.

It is a very entertaining read (I couldn't put it down!), and the amount of research invested into creating the story and its backdrop can be clearly seen. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants something different from all the other cliched crime novels currently on the market, and also anyone who wants a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couture Delights: Coffee Corner, 3 Jan 2011
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
This is a great read the will keep captured in childhood imagination and the darkness of a killers mind. You will feel the cold chill of the moors on your cheeks as you take a journey of twists and turns, of confusion and life. I was gripped by this book so much, by the time I had finished the family had to cook their own tea and the pile of ironing had grown ten fold. I take my hat off to the author. The reader should be prepared to have their morals tested to the limits. This is a MUST! [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative but emotionally challenging read, 28 Feb 2010
This review is from: Blacklands (Paperback)
Really hard to put down this amazing book: very subtle characterisation with the reader gradually gaining increasing understanding of the issues and personalilties involved. The author is brave with her portrayal of the inner thoughts of a child serial killler, and at times this draws very near the line of acceptability. Not graphic; but at times uncomfortable to read and be part of. Loved the portrayal of Steven: the rather damaged young hero. As with a previous reader I did find the strange additional character near the end a confusing and possible needless addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blacklands
Blacklands by Belinda Bauer (Paperback - 2 Jan 2010)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews