Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories of laughter and others of sorrow
After reading Bravo Two Zero and Immediate Action a long time ago as a young soldier, I still cannot bring myself to read a fiction book from Andy McNab; not because they might not be good but because of the first two books being non-fiction. However, as soon as I discovered that he had created a new book of his personal stories I broke my pledge of "no more war stories"...
Published on 22 Sept. 2008 by Mr. I. Roberts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SEVEN TROOP
A superb insight in to the life of a special forces soldier. stretching from McNab's time in the Green Jackets patrolling the streets of Northern Ireland through to the war in Iraq and leading the infamous Bravo two zero patrol, this account gives us a taste of the strength and fortitude needed to achieve the sand coloured beret and the ultimate price that many pay both...
Published on 29 Jan. 2013 by Mark snell


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories of laughter and others of sorrow, 22 Sept. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Troop (Hardcover)
After reading Bravo Two Zero and Immediate Action a long time ago as a young soldier, I still cannot bring myself to read a fiction book from Andy McNab; not because they might not be good but because of the first two books being non-fiction. However, as soon as I discovered that he had created a new book of his personal stories I broke my pledge of "no more war stories" and bought it.

The book does build upon Immediate Action but it has an underlying and consistent message, one that I unfortunately witnessed in some ex-Falkland paras. Without telling the lay of the book and thereby removing the enjoyment for other readers, what I will say is that the story follows a young trooper meeting "brothers in arms" and what can result from years at the hard edge. Like Andy's first two books; I read this one in under a week (I spend some time at airports!)

The message is simple; the reality of war is hell and those that return can suffer from physical and/or mental injury. Both types of wounds can be very deep and life threatening; the latter is extremely difficult to heal. The book concludes with open emotion and I take my hat (well, beret as an ex-para) to anyone who can put that onto paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A HAUNTING TOUR DE FORCE, 15 Sept. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Troop (Hardcover)
This book does much more than just take over from where Bravo Two Zero and Immediate Action left off. It traces Andy McNab's military career from the time he joined 7 Troop, SAS, to the time he left, but covers many other aspects of his subsequent life as and when they overlap with other members of the Troop. In many ways, this is as much their story as his, and McNab is man enough to give centre stage from time to time to giants like Frank Collins, Al Slater and Nish Bruce. Nor does he try to sweep bad news under the carpet; the events of 1998 when Dr Thomas Shanks gunned down his former girlfriend with an AK47 in a Leeds car park are given a full airing. This is a reflective, almost sad, book, but it's none the worse for that. The reality is starting to hit home about the time-bomb of PTSD, and McNab champions the cause of counselling, even for rough, tough SAS lads. This book might be harrowing, but it still carries all the McNab hallmarks of a brilliant sense of (dark) humour, and dialogue and action that crackles with authenticity. I loved it. I just hope the powers that be take heed of what men like McNab are saying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A reflective McNab, 3 Aug. 2009
By 
N. Goodearl "gooseybaby" (Guildford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Troop (Paperback)
I own McNab's non fiction books as well as Frank Collins book. This book included much of what has already been published. Having said that I enjoyed the book, which I found flowed well. In my opinion McNab has had time to reflect on his time in the regiment and how some of his mates actions and experiences effected their lives once they got out. It wasn't a book about being gong ho and describing jobs in detail. It was rather a book that tried to analyse and seek to understand the more psychology aspects of being in the SAS i.e. the need to belong, thinking yourself as a somebody with a special skill, only to come out and realise life is so much different in civvy street. As a Christian I was interested on how Frank Collins impacted McNab and those guys in his troop. I can see how McNab struggles with Christianity from what experience he has.

If you are looking for excitment and war stories I suggest you look elsewhere and read Bravo 2 zero or Immediate action. I find human behaviour interesting and having read McNab's other books felt this book added a new insights into the the men in the SAS rather than SAS itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Insight Into The Human Side of the SAS, 22 July 2009
This review is from: Seven Troop (Paperback)
I would have to disagree with those that say this is just a re-hash of Bravo Two Zero or Immediate Action. Having read both several times this book brought a far more in depth look at the human relationships that develop in such a tight knit group and the personal tragedies that have resulted from what they see and go through. It is the first book I have read that has ever brought tears to my eyes, truly harrowing in places. Yes, it skims over operations covered previously in the other two books but with a different take and concentrates more on the people involved than the 'Boys Own' adventure stuff. It is also good to see McNab putting something back in by raising the issues of PTSD and education in the army. The main reason I've now logged onto Amazon is to buy Freefall and Baptism of Fire to get me through my holidays. A fantastic read that I'd recommend to anyone even if they don't usually read military non-fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Realities of Soldiering, 12 Nov. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (La Pinilla Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seven Troop (Hardcover)
Like his other non-fictional books, Seven Troop is an excellent read. In my opinion, his best to date. McNab describes in vivid detail, from his own experience, and that of his "Brothers in Arms" the reality of fighting "at the sharp end", and the effect it has on those individuals once they are no longer exposed to those dangers. His unselfish accounts of Frank Collins, Al Slater and in particular, Nish Bruce and Thomas Franks, highlight the problems surrounding PTSD, and the need for those in a position to do so, to provide the help and counselling these guys so desperately need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truthful, Emotional and a great book, 21 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Troop (Paperback)
This is the first McNab book I have read and definately not the last.

The book covers him joining the SAS to when he leaves. Its a great book for people with or without a military background explaining a lot of the things.

The book covers his time in Ireland during the troubles and the start of the first Gulf War. Its a great insight of how the troops back then in Ireland coped on and off base.

Back at the HQ in Hereford it explains how the people first met in the SAS slowly retire and leave the SAS and how bonded they are still.

A really great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seven troop, 14 May 2010
By 
Patricia Bruce "trish whu" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Troop (Paperback)
Ive just finished reading Seven troop and although it sounded quite like Bravo two zero, I found it to be a really excellent book.I ve read quite alot of Andy Mcnabs books, and between the fiction and non fiction, he gets my vote every time.....lets face it,the bloke has been there, done it and lives to tell the tale.........
I especially like the Boy soldier series.yeah, okay, so its meant to be for teenagers, but hey, who cares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some new details - good read, 4 Mar. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Seven Troop (Paperback)
Tells the same stories as in the previous book (Immediate Action mainly) but with a different level of details and emotions. Repetitive at times, but mostly a good read. And better and better as you progress through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another blinder from Andy McNab, 4 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Seven Troop (Paperback)
If you enjoyed Bravo Two Zero and Immediate Action then you will be captivated once again by Seven Troop. The book goes a long way into filling out the characters and personalities that we were introduced to in McNabs first two books, and gives an all rounded picture of the make of an SAS trooper.
The story is told in a simple yet enthralling narrative, interspersed with frightening action and a dark gallows humour. Andy McNab gives a lot of time to huge characters such as Frank Collins, Al Slater Nish Bruce & Dr Tom Shanks. While playing up the humanity and kindess of these people he doesnt shy away from revealing their demons either. In fact a fair part of the book is occupied with examining the toll that Post Traumatic Stress takes on squaddies and the fact that the MOD are only just getting to grips with its effects. He also champions the Armys education programme explaining much about why & how squaddies still lack basic education in the 21st Century. My only gripe with Seven Troop would be that not enough is written about how these problems can be tackled or how the public can support them.
This is an excellent book on many levels, I would urge anyone thinking of signing up to read it. Not to learn how to be a death or glory hero, but how to make the most of an army career & avoid becoming one of the statistics. For the rest of us, it's an insight into just how much the human psyche and body can deal with, given enough determination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven troop, 9 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Seven Troop (Hardcover)
Another great book from `Andy Mcnab`. I suppose if you followed his books from the first `Bravo two zero`, then you will be interested in this one as it kind of wraps up a few loose ends. Great read. Cheers mac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Troop
Seven Troop by Andy McNab (Paperback - 18 Jun. 2009)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews