Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential facts about alternative medicine
This book takes an objective look at alternative medicine. The outcome is electrifying to everyone who thinks and has used or considered using anything like homeopathy or acupuncture. Singh and Ernst don’t set out with any malice – Ernst has worked for many years in alternative medicine – but they show devastatingly how proper trials have shown these...
Published 5 months ago by Brian Clegg

versus
39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and useful, but by no means unbiased
Trick or Treatment is a very interesting read about the evidence that exists for the effectiveness (or not) of various complementary and alternative therapies (CAM). The book focuses especially on acupuncture, homeopathy, chiropractic and herbal medicine, with an appendix covering many more treatments in brief. I enjoyed reading the anecdotes on the history of CAM and...
Published on 22 Dec. 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential facts about alternative medicine, 15 Aug. 2014
By 
Brian Clegg "Brian Clegg" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book takes an objective look at alternative medicine. The outcome is electrifying to everyone who thinks and has used or considered using anything like homeopathy or acupuncture. Singh and Ernst don’t set out with any malice – Ernst has worked for many years in alternative medicine – but they show devastatingly how proper trials have shown these alternative treatments to rarely be better than a placebo, and often to have negative or even life-threatening consequences.

It really is striking – the vast majority of alternative medical treatments are proved to be on a par with snake oil. Apart from anything else, this ought to be required reading for doctors -a surprising number encourage alternative treatment – for celebrities who endorse this kind of medication and particularly the media which all too often is wide-eyed and idiotic on the subject of alternative treatments. In the UK, Prince Charles who has bumbled on about the subject for many years, ought to be forced to copy this book out by hand until he gets the point.

All in all, a really important book which wasn't given the coverage it deserved when it came out, and what’s more it’s very readable too. By combining Ernst’s expertise on the subject and Singh’s superb science writing we have a book that is as entertaining as it is informative, and the emphasis on real testing will be a delight to anyone who enjoys the saying ‘data is not the plural of anecdote.’ More than recommended – essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and useful, but by no means unbiased, 22 Dec. 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial (Paperback)
Trick or Treatment is a very interesting read about the evidence that exists for the effectiveness (or not) of various complementary and alternative therapies (CAM). The book focuses especially on acupuncture, homeopathy, chiropractic and herbal medicine, with an appendix covering many more treatments in brief. I enjoyed reading the anecdotes on the history of CAM and conventional medicine, and there was a lot of useful information in there, but the authors' tone and approach left me questioning whether they were as unbiased as they claimed to be. Incidentally, I'm a big believer in the principles of evidence-based medicine (EBM), and I'm sceptical about many alternative therapies, so I didn't expect to have a problem with this book.

The main reasons I found myself distrusting Singh and Ernst are as follows:

1. Trick or Treatment claims to be a neutral presentation of the facts, but it is written in a very persuasive tone, with disparaging language used for anything the authors disapprove of. I really felt they were giving me the 'hard sell', which seems at odds with the concept of EBM. Much is made of the fact that Ernst used to be a homeopath, which supposedly makes him less biased, but to me the book seemed to have been written by someone who had become disillusioned by his former profession and therefore had strong feelings about it. On its own, this is not necessarily a problem, but in comparison with the points below it made me wary.

2. Throughout the book, the authors imply that modern conventional medicine is always better than CAM and that it always it has better evidence. They do not acknowledge any of the problems with research in conventional medicine, such as publication bias, or the fact that poor-quality trials exist here too. Anecdotal evidence for the effectiveness of CAM treatments is rightly dismissed as unreliable, but then they present anecdotal evidence in support of conventional medicine or to 'demonstrate' the risks of alternative therapies.

For example, they describe the case of a woman with mental health problems who killed her children after switching from the psychiatric drug Tegretol to St John's wort. This is a devastating tragedy and of course questions should be asked about whether the herb could have been responsible. However, it is wrong of the authors to state unequivocally that being 'deprived' of her usual medication and adverse effects from the St John's wort were the cause. We simply cannot know this, which is why scientific studies are needed. It could equally be that Charlene Dorcy's mental health was already deteriorating and that was what motivated her to change her treatment - it is so hard to tell from one individual case. Similar tragic cases have in fact occurred on conventional antidepressants such as Prozac, but the authors do not mention this.

3. The authors position themselves as experts, rather than presenting the facts and allowing readers to make up their own minds. For me, this contrasted sharply with Ben Goldacre's Bad Science (a book I love). Goldacre frequently provides details of clinical trials and other studies and encourages readers to look at them for themselves; he is also outspoken about the dangers of looking to so-called experts for information rather than examining the evidence. Singh and Ernst tell the reader what to believe, give advice on which type of treatment to seek, and the vast majority of the facts they cite are not referenced, so there is no way of checking them. I was, for example, surprised to read that evidence suggests meditation is dangerous for those with mental illness and therefore should be avoided by this group of patients. Given that one in four of us experience mental ill health, and mental health problems are a very common reason for people to try meditation, I wanted to know more about how the authors define 'mental illness' and what the specific evidence is. But as no details of trials or sources are provided, it will be difficult for me to do that.

If you'd like an overview of the evidence for CAM, peppered with interesting anecdotes, then Trick or Treatment is definitely worth a read. However, if you consider yourself intelligent and capable of drawing your own conclusions, you may find the tone and the amount of repetition a little patronising. It can also be quite difficult to find the information on specific treatments for specific problems, because not only do your have to sift through all the rhetoric, the book's structure is somewhat confusing, with information on the risks of acupuncture and homeopathy in the chiropractic chapter, for example.

This probably reads like a very harsh review. In fairness to the authors, I agree with much of what they're saying (in terms of content) and I don't seriously doubt most of the facts they've presented. But I feel Singh and Ernst failed to show the scrupulous fairness that a book on evidence-based medicine demands. Knowing whether complementary and alternative therapies are safe and effective is such an important issue, and I am disappointed they did not tackle it in a more even-handed way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential read but Kindle edition is lazily adapted (5 stars for content; 1 star for Kindle edition quality), 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This should be essential reading alongside Ben Goldacre's Bad Science. Both books serve a vitally important role. Where Goldacre's book is a little more chatty, it's author being the 'David Brent' of the popular science writers world (I'm cool, you'd love to have a drink with me, and yeah, I can drink loads, while leading two double-blind trials, writing newspaper columns, participating in amateur dramatics (yes, really!) and being the funniest guy you've ever met... I'm cool, I swear, particularly if it impresses the kids and ...), Ernst and Singh's book is a little more sober, the authors being less desperate to impress. The books compliment each other well. If you come away, as some readers have, unconvinced,claiming the authors to be part of some conspiracy, or accusing them of blind prejudice against CAM then you have simply failed to understand the basic points they're making, and those points are not difficult to understand. This book and Goldacre's explain with admirable clarity the placebo effect and the way a double blind trial works and why they're important. Not difficult notions to understand in any case, but, just in case, here they are explained clearly, so all can grasp them. All treatments should undergo rigorous testing, much of the stuff on your health food shops' shelves hasn't, and when it has it has been shown (with very very few exceptions)to have all the healing qualities of a sugar pill, which in the case of homeopathy isn't surprising since that's what they generally are.
Now, to the KINDLE edition. 1 month into my Kindle ownership and I'm now getting pretty irritated by the shoddy quality of many of the Kindle editions. This one leaves block quotes (long quotes that are set out separate from the text in the print edition) in the same font, without quotation marks and with the same paragraph indentation as the main text; so often you find yourself half way through a quotation before realising that you are reading a quotation, and then you have to workout where it ends and the main text recommences. In addition, some special symbols just come out peculiar, as do some of the lists. Is it too difficult to make the Kindle editions the same quality as the print editions? This should not even be a question. This is really poor and shows disrespect for those who have bought Kindles. C'mon Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last sense, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Informative and a good read. Sensible and logical and now feel more informed and happy to ignore friends who think alternative medicine a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fact-based & searingly insightful evisceration of the health "Industry"., 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial (Paperback)
I've recommended this book to all my friends - and indeed bought it for some of them too !

Really intelligent & well-written analysis of what really goes on, and a book that can be referred-back-to over & over.

Highly recommended, and utterly woo-free !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Presents a strong case for evidence-based medicine, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial (Paperback)
This is one of the books in a growing movement that is fighting for all that we gained in the Enlightenment, and which in the late twentieth and early twenty first century appears to be slipping away in a cloud of wishful, hazy thinking.

The key is evidence-based medicine. In other words, not wanting or hoping or idly believing a treatment will work, but testing if it is so. There is nothing sinister or 'un-holistic' about a trial - it merely tests if something works against a control or placebo. When most complementary therapies are tested this way, the evidence, for them, is devastating.

This books clearly explains the history of medicine before the evidence-based approach. One word : scary. It explains how trials work and it then tests alternative medicines. It also shows how practitioners try to squirm their way out of begin tested, argued with and ultimately exposed.

An excellent book. I think, however, Ben Goldacre's Bad Science wins over for prose style and entertainment factor, while also being hugely informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointed, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial (Paperback)
I was hoping to get an Exposé on the tricks and treats of alternative medicines - but really this is not here in this book. He reads more like an advert for many of their products. It just does not sound scientific or academic enough to be taken seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing reality to bear on complementary therapies, 5 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial (Paperback)
Most books dealing with complementary and alternative medicines (CAM) are uncritical: either uncritically accepting (the majority case) or uncritically knocking. This book is different. Edzard Ernst understands the modalities he writes about, and points out where the scientific evidence supports their use and where it doesn't. Along the way he spills a few of the secrets that some will wish had not been aired (such as the dangerous and excessive use of spinal x-rays by chiropractors).

This is a book for people with an open mind who want to understand why CAM often inspires such anger and contempt among the scientific and medical communities. It is well researched, well written and well referenced. It is also very accessible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting insight, 18 May 2008
Any thinking person would likely agree that the public is largely capable of making its own mind up when it comes to matters which may have a bearing on their own health. So it follows that any valid evidence which might influence a decision by an individual on what might be beneficial or prove harmful in the treatment of a condition of their own health should be welcome.

I found a wealth of such information in the pages of "Trick or Treatment?" and am grateful to the authors for the depth of their research which I could never have mustered the resources to embark on myself. Professor Ernst is clearly a champion of evidence-based medicine with loyalty only to the patient.

The importance of highlighting the possibility that some herbal remedies can seriously interfere with the impact of prescription drugs can surely never be underestimated and I unreservedly commend this work which emphasises that point without overstating it. The point is also made that some so-called remedies are a complete waste of money which, if so, might be better invested in the purchase of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly trick, not much treatment., 20 May 2008
By 
JMWiesner (Woodbridge, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a book that should make us all sit up and listen.

Most of the previous publications on alternative and complimentary medicine that I have read, seem to be based on opinion and/or anecdotal evidence. 'Trick or Treatment' is quite different. Edzard Ernst, one of the two authors, is the first Professor of Alternative and Alternative Medicine in the world. Under his leadership the faculty at Exeter University has carried out extensive and definitive research, on a large scale, to test the efficacy of a range of alternative and complimentary treatments including, amongst others, homeopathy and acupuncture. Both Professor Ernst and his co-author Simon Singh are adamant that neither of them had any previous bias, no vested interests were involved, and no assumptions were made in advance. The aim was solely to find out through exhaustive and objective research, whether the claims of success made by alternative medical practitioners are soundly based on scientific evidence alone.

The results of Ernst's research at Exeter are clear. And what results! The book provides conclusive proof that most alternative 'medicines' and practices are, with some exceptions, worse than useless, other than having a placebo effect; in some instances they can actually cause harm. As the authors remark, they mostly "relieve nothing more than cash from the patients pocket". Some herbal remedies are proven to have beneficial properties. For those of us who love the stuff but suffer from "Go away, you stink of Garlic", we can now (genuinely and righteously) counter with " but I HAVE to take it, it's for my heart, you see".

Perhaps the most surprising result from Exeter is the one that deals with the most widely used and, up to now, perhaps the most respected of all the alternative practices eg. Homeopathy. The authors give hard evidence that homeopathy has little or no efficacy; in most cases the claims of success are apparently false, either by design or more probably through self-delusion.

Trick or Treatment is dedicated - with a well-savoured irony, I suspect - to the Prince of Wales, who has so strongly advocated the inclusion of certain alternative and complimentary treatments within the NHS. The Prince would be well advised to read this book; it may serve to curb his enthusiasm for alternative practices, and homeopathy in particular. After all, the website for his own Foundation for Integrated Health states " We strive to ensure that our judgements and decisions are founded on reason, and informed by evidence" Well, here is a book that provides precisely that - both evidence and objectivity. It would be nothing short of a travesty if substantial funds were diverted from effective and conventional treatment on the NHS, in order to support unsubstantiated and unproven alternatives. If the Prince's Foundation, or other supporters of Complimentary and Alternative medicine, can counter the conclusions reached in Trick or Treatment with sound evidence-based research of their own, let us hear it loud and clear.

In general this book is written with a clarity and precision that makes it easy for the average person to grasp the whole research process. It is not only a fascinating read the first time round, but the information within makes it a book you will want to refer back to, time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial
Trick or Treatment?: Alternative Medicine on Trial by Edzard Ernst (Paperback - 7 May 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews