Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Crime Writing
Have waited for this follow up for a long long time, and yet again it doesn't diasappoint. There are no flaws in Wingfield's pacy scripts, filled with witty dialogue and twists and turns. Am only sad that he died before I could thank him for his top quality efforts with Frost. For those of you who have seen the television spin off, don't imagine these books are anything...
Published on 7 April 2008 by Mr. R. A. Bould

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book that's far too busy for its' own good
R.D. Wingfield writes about Inspector Jack Frost, the sort of scruffy rule bending copper that his superiors dislike, but who is often popular with readers, because the readership can relate to him in some way. The stories have been made famous by the serialisations that occurs on British tv, which star David Jason.

In this book, Frost solves 2 kidnapinings, a...
Published on 12 Jan. 2009 by Jamie Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Crime Writing, 7 April 2008
By 
Mr. R. A. Bould "RichardB" (Bexleyheath) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Killing Frost (Hardcover)
Have waited for this follow up for a long long time, and yet again it doesn't diasappoint. There are no flaws in Wingfield's pacy scripts, filled with witty dialogue and twists and turns. Am only sad that he died before I could thank him for his top quality efforts with Frost. For those of you who have seen the television spin off, don't imagine these books are anything like it. They are just so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 10 April 2008
This review is from: A Killing Frost (Hardcover)
As you'd expect from R. D. Wingfield, this is a cracking read - funny, dark and fast. Frost is at his unorthodox best when pitted against his slimy nemesis DCI Skinner, and there are so many twists and turns you just can't put the book down. If you're new to Frost, start with this one and you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Killing Frost - R D Wingfield, 13 Jun. 2008
By 
Suzan (Neaton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Killing Frost (Hardcover)
It is astounding as to how many cases/plots this novel contains and yet at no time do you lose the thread of them or feel confused.
The dialogue is realistic, the humour has you laughing despite the dark and chilling crimes, the relationships between the police officers are expertly drawn and conveyed and Wingfield makes all this seem effortless.
R D Wingfield's writing is skilful to the point that DI Jack Frost is likeable and deplorable at the same time. The pace is so fast that you can hardly bear to put the book down and not read on. Like the other reviewers and praise on the dust jacket, it's so sad that there won't be any more of Frost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, 11 Aug. 2008
By 
Jill Besterman (Jersey, Channel Islands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Killing Frost (Hardcover)
Its sad that this will be the last Frost book but lovely to be able to say that Mr Wingfield went out on a high. This is the real Frost, not the somewhat sanitised TV version, rude, crude and full of piss and vinegar. Frost and his nemesis, Superintendent Mullett, battle it out to the end in a multilayered story that makes one laugh and cringe in equal amounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 28 May 2008
By 
snow white (London England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Killing Frost (Hardcover)
As I've read everyone of these books, I couldn't wait to start this book. Full of humour (that David Jason does to perfection in the TV series) this is so easy to read and to whiz through. The characters and dialogue are brilliant. Am really upset that there won't be anymore, and hope that nobody else writes follow-ups as I don't think they'd be as brilliantly written. Wish that I hadn't finished it so quickly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Killing Frost (Hardcover)
It's been a long time coming but well worth the wait mutiple story lines
Frost is a great British creation couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars frosty at first, but it begins to thaw, 6 Oct. 2010
This review is from: A Killing Frost: (Di Jack Frost Book 6) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've not devoured a book as passionately as this in a very long time. As a big fan of both the books and the on-screen series this was absolutely compelling, even for a bit of a plodder when it comes to reading like myself.
As many people before me have highlighted it can be difficult to draw parallels between the portrayal of Jack on the telly and the Inspector in the book. Consequently when I picked up Night Frost I was in for a surprise at his coarseness so be prepared to be unprepared if you're hoping for David Jason's cheeky-chappy charm; I lent this to my mother who was appalled by his phallocentric remarks and its graphic descriptions so don't say you haven't been warned ;)

I do sometimes wonder how much Denton's population must decrease per census due to the abundance of murders and crimes Frost solves in this novel alone. As a result if you don't read it in quick successions, attempting to remember everything that has happened might become a bit overwhelming as the plot is very layered. However the plot hopefully won't be the only thing that is involved - as a reader I laughed (heartily!), grimaced, cocked an eyebrow at the apparent misogyny, pitied the hapless Taffy, and resented Mullet for the first time (and Skinner, much, much more) for the spineless treatment of Jack. And Drysdale the home office pathologist is as supercilious as ever.

I don't want to give away too much and I refrained from reading reviews before I had it first-hand myself, but A Killing Frost truly is the best of the 3 I've read so far. The only problem that I discovered was when upon attempting to find an address to stick on the letter I'd wrote imploring R.D. Wingfield to write more, is that he died 3 years ago, and it's very sad to know there will be no more in the series. I'll miss that irreverent man in the dirty old mac and I'll even miss the Superintendent and his obsessive moustache-smoothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CREDIT TO AMAZON, 2 Jan. 2009
This review is from: A Killing Frost: (Di Jack Frost Book 6) (Mass Market Paperback)
Over the past month I have spent more on books than I can count, all of them have been thrown down by chapter 4..if I managed to get that far. As far as crime goes,you will be hard pushed to get better than R D Wingfield. Just to think that this will be his last book,is a crime in it's self. Sadly he died in 2007, and to me the world has lost a true great. Not only does he keep you on the edge of your seat with all 6 books,but he has you laughing out loud too. David Jason does a real job of D I Frost,but the books are ten times better,and I think that goes for any book that has been made in to a film.
As I said,this is the last book and I will find it hard to get another author that I can pick of the shelf and know I will finish the book and still want for more. When Mr Wingfield died,the true British thriller died with him. A sad...sad loss.
Just one of his books are worth ten that you can find in any book store. So he wrote six books,and if you ask me what book to buy?. Well all of them. They will grace the book shelf in any home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd forgotten just how good the Frost books are., 17 Nov. 2008
By 
Jane Calvert (Ribblehead, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Killing Frost: (Di Jack Frost Book 6) (Mass Market Paperback)
It is a long time since I read my last Frost novel and I'd forgotten just how good these books are. With great characters and inter-twining plots, this book is the nearest I've come to un-put-downable in a long time and ranks alongside the very best crime fiction. This was a book that I was truly sad to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Jan. 2009
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Killing Frost: (Di Jack Frost Book 6) (Mass Market Paperback)
How sad that this is the final Frost novel ever, following RD Wingfield's death in 2007. It's as funny, punchy, fast-moving and invigorating as the earlier novels, and longer too - it doesn't suffer for this at all, in fact, the length simply heightens the enjoyment. Frost is as rude, funny, irreverent and brilliant as ever; forced to deal with several violent, disturbing cases, as well as an attempt by Mullett and the newly-arrived and instantly despised DCI Skinner, to get rid of him, he's stretched to the limit and wastes little time in telling everyone concerned exactly what he's thinking. The plot is superb - complex but well handled, the characters come alive off the page and there are many lines that made me laugh out loud. All round, a brilliant buy - if, like me, you were disappointed by the 2008 ITV Frost series (A Touch Of Frost - Series 14 [DVD] [2008]), don't be put off this book - like all the others, it's far better than any of the TV shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Killing Frost: (Di Jack Frost Book 6)
A Killing Frost: (Di Jack Frost Book 6) by R D Wingfield (Mass Market Paperback - 9 Oct. 2008)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews