Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!
The perfect gift for all readers of historical fiction is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Read this book in the 70's when I was a teenager, recently re-read it and now I remember why it has always been in the back of my mind as a great story. Catherine Cookson brings to life Cissie and the Brodie family, struggling to...
Published 16 days ago by Fortuna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars feathers in the fire
Really good book another of Catherine Cookson must reads, must look for some others i might have misssed I love her rags to riches stories
Published 19 months ago by Evelyn Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!, 11 Dec 2014
This review is from: Feathers In The Fire (Mass Market Paperback)
The perfect gift for all readers of historical fiction is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
Read this book in the 70's when I was a teenager, recently re-read it and now I remember why it has always been in the back of my mind as a great story. Catherine Cookson brings to life Cissie and the Brodie family, struggling to survive against all odds as only an author who has experienced hardships and come from the bottom up can. I always feel that Catherine Cookson "knows what makes people tick". The dialect of the common people in that part of England during that era is fun to read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont expect to sleep until the last page., 13 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Feathers In The Fire (Paperback)
This is one of Cooksons best books.A dark tale..but in true Cookson syle..it has the power to make the reader laugh with its unexpected twists and turns...of the fate of the lives of the people at the farm.
As to be expected from this author...a first class read.
You will be involved in the lives of her characters..you get to know them as well as your nieghbours..perhaps better.
Share thier sadness and triumphs..love and hate them..then as Ms Cooksons takes us along our opinions change ..real people in real situations
the true emotions of people are layed bare for the reader.
Set in a bleak landscape..the depth of her characthers..astound the reader..that so much ..love ..hate,,and raw emotion shine out in this book
One Cookson book is never enough for the reader
it is the start of a relationship with this Author that will stay with you a lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i want more, 8 Oct 2003
This review is from: Feathers in the Fire (Paperback)
Having very little time to read during the day i find that i end up reading in bed, this book had me losing sleep there was never a piont i felt was right to put it down, you want to read the next bit, so many twists and turns, you never know what to expect.
I found this to be a really good read so much so that i wished the author had wrote a follow up to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good author, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was not one of her best novels that I have read.
It was reasonably good and would not stop me reading more of her novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feathers in the Fire., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love reading Catherine Cookson books. Very well written as always.i would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a great story. Loved it all the way through.It was certainly different, but then this author always writes a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book to read one of Catherine Cookson best in my opinion . Well worth the read and make you want to read more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 18 April 2014
By 
S. Lauchlan "Sheila" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great story and very easily read-difficult to put down. As usual with Catherine Cookson the grim reality of life in the 19th century, made me grateful to be living today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Feathers In The Fire
Feathers In The Fire by Catherine Cookson (Mass Market Paperback - 14 July 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews