Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Desert Crop
Desert Crop is another example of why Catherine is a master writer and that is all that can be said for this fine book.
Published on 4 April 2010 by Pix

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
this is ok and I generally love Catherines book but I could not get into this one at all so would not recommend
Published 16 months ago by julietromeo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Desert Crop, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Mass Market Paperback)
Desert Crop is another example of why Catherine is a master writer and that is all that can be said for this fine book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good find, 13 July 2009
By 
Misfit (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Mass Market Paperback)
Set in Northern England in the late 1800's, widowed farmer Hector Stewart decides to marry Irishwoman Moira Conelly but here's the rub - he thinks she's coming into money and she thinks he's much better off than he truly is. Nor does Moira realize at first she's married a drunken, womanizing wastrel on the edge of running the farm into the ground. Nevertheless, Moira has a secret or two of her own and she does her best to make the best of it, which includes an ever growing brood of children.

Hector's debts and drinking continue to drag down the family's livelihood, until a fatal accident changes all their lives - but it forever binds Daniel to the land and Moira's children. Will Daniel ever be able to break free and claim the woman he loves? Does Frances really love him or is she just looking for the best free ride life can hand her? Will Daniel ever wake up and smell the coffee and see the woman who has loved him for years? Inquiring minds want to know....

While this isn't the fasted paced, page turning, action packed book you're likely to come across I enjoyed it a great deal and definitely plan on seeking out more from the author - and at about 100 novels she should keep me very busy for quite some time. This is the kind of feel-good comfort book that's perfect for snuggling up with on a rainy day or a wintry afternoon. 4/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent stories., 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
I love Catherine Cookson's books and can read them over and over and never get bored. The very, very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 23 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
this is ok and I generally love Catherines book but I could not get into this one at all so would not recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grand read no violence just relaxing, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
Up to usual standard thought I had read them all so pleased to have found it. Catherine Cookson always a good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 22 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
What a great book I only borrowed it but I shall buy it as soon as possible to read it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the desert crop, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
the desert crop by Catherine cookson another excellent book will read again sometime all her other books are very good as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cookson's done it again, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
Many twists and turns; she leads you off in one direction only to turn you around and take you in another!! All Cookson fans will enjoy this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as always a great read, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Kindle Edition)
i just love catherine cookson books & this is one of her best, she really knows her part of the world & its people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab1, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Desert Crop (Mass Market Paperback)
Swift delivery and product in excellent condition and packaged well.I would recommend to anyone who likes to read - not like a used book - it looks like new and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Desert Crop
The Desert Crop by Catherine Cookson (Mass Market Paperback - 14 July 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews