Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book
The story follows a young girl from Jarrow, through her simple life of service, snatching moments with her beloved father and grandparents, through love, trauma, turmoil and heartbreak at the hands of someone who should have loved her unconditionally. The last chapter first reads as a very different story, I almost didn't carry on, but Keep reading the end chapter turns...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by Desperate Housewife ;-)

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very mediocre.
It maybe that I have just read too many Catherine Cookson books recently but this one in particular I found boring.

It seems that whatever century she is writing about she follows the same formula.........poor girl/boy from poor family meets rich man/woman and lives happily ever after with a few glitches thrown in for good measure.

Fortunately it is...
Published 16 months ago by Pyewacket


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 12 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Hardcover)
The story follows a young girl from Jarrow, through her simple life of service, snatching moments with her beloved father and grandparents, through love, trauma, turmoil and heartbreak at the hands of someone who should have loved her unconditionally. The last chapter first reads as a very different story, I almost didn't carry on, but Keep reading the end chapter turns out to be a chapter that leaves you wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very mediocre., 23 Dec 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Kindle Edition)
It maybe that I have just read too many Catherine Cookson books recently but this one in particular I found boring.

It seems that whatever century she is writing about she follows the same formula.........poor girl/boy from poor family meets rich man/woman and lives happily ever after with a few glitches thrown in for good measure.

Fortunately it is a short book so I read it within an hour and was truthfully glad to finish it. Certainly not one of Catherine Cooksons best efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable tale!, 2 Mar 2010
By 
Diana (Casteau, Belgium-) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure As The Lily (Mass Market Paperback)
Mary Walton is the apple of her father's eye; his only comfort during the dark years of the Depression when he is faced with both unemployment and a nagging, ambitious wife.

His only hope is that Mary will one day find a way to escape the grinding poverty of the Tyneside slums. But when a secret is revealed these dreams are shattered and the lives of the Walton family change forever. . .

Spanning Mary's life from the 1930's to the 1970's, Pure as the Lily is a spellbinding, unforgettable tale from one of Britain's most cherished novelists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Kindle Edition)
I love Catherine Cookson Books but I found this story a bit drawn out and not to my taste .Prefer her other stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab2, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure As The Lily (Mass Market Paperback)
Swift delivery and product in excellent condition and packaged well.I would recommend to anyone who likes to read - not like a used book - it looks like new and at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not her best book, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Kindle Edition)
not quite finished the book took me a while to get into but have read better from Catherine Cookson books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure as the lily, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Kindle Edition)
I loved every thing about this book. The writing.the way story was described brought it to live.I really enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure as the lily, 9 Aug 2013
By 
Pjm Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure As The Lily (Mass Market Paperback)
Yet another classic Catherine Cookson book, for anyone who just loves this author (as I do) it is an essential read.
happy reading Janet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars did not finish, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Kindle Edition)
story started really well but as it went on it got really boring kept trying but in the end stopped reading it as was just boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pure as a lily by Catherine Cookson, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure as the Lily (Kindle Edition)
The book was twisting and moving all the time keeping me interested. It made me smile laugh and cry. The story of family was not just of love as you would expect but also the nasty cruel side which is hidden and not spoken about within a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

Pure As The Lily
Pure As The Lily by Catherine Cookson (Mass Market Paperback - 5 May 2008)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews