Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The art of writing a fine thriller
Simon Kernick proves to be an excellent thriller writer. The novel "Deadline" is a clear reflection of this. Word of mouth of communication persuaded me to actually read the novel. I am really satisfied with what I have read, as it is a well paced thriller novel that really intrigued me for long periods. The plot to the novel always surprised you, when you think it is...
Published on 6 Aug. 2008 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ever heard of editing?
I had heard good things.
But this at nearly 500 pages lost suspense through paper thin dialogue and formulaic relationships occuring.
I am sorry, the ultimate insult this, to say I gave up half way.
An arduous read, characters I couldn't care less about coupled with unimaginative prose and narrative.
To call him 'an English Harlan Coben' is an insult...
Published on 6 Sept. 2008 by John Power


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The art of writing a fine thriller, 6 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Simon Kernick proves to be an excellent thriller writer. The novel "Deadline" is a clear reflection of this. Word of mouth of communication persuaded me to actually read the novel. I am really satisfied with what I have read, as it is a well paced thriller novel that really intrigued me for long periods. The plot to the novel always surprised you, when you think it is all over.

The Deadline comprises an explosive plot, credible characters and a well portrayal of the criminal world of London. The suburban life is the key background of the novel. The story is about an ordinary businesswoman Andrea, who's daughter kidnapped by mysterious attackers and she is imposed an ransom to ensure the safe return of the daughter. What are the main motives for the kidnapping? Who can she trust? How does she cope with the terrible ordeals leading to the kidnapping? The answers will be all revealed in the novel.

Simon Kernick's novel demonstrates the art of writing a fine thriller. Deadline tops the list of fine thrillers I have read in recent times. It is richly entertaining and additive piece of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding: read in less than 24 hours!, 3 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this book free through WHSmith when I ordered Dan Brown's new novel. Not expecting much, and never having heard of Simon Kernick before, I gave it a go.

Less than 24 hours later, including a night's sleep, two meals, family time, and a walk to the shops, the book is finished! It was excellent with a plot filled with twists and turns which clearly kept me reading to the end. Very enjoyable, and recommended without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Race against time - it certainly is!, 16 July 2008
This review is from: Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've enjoyed all Simon Kernick's thrillers, and this one is the best yet. The characters are great especially DI Bolt who's made appearances in Relentless, Severed and now Deadline and who's shaping up to be a really interesting memorable character.

I think of Simon Kernick as a UK Harlan Coben, and this book reminded me of Harlan Coben's The Woods in that it focuses on ordinary people who you sympathise with, and then takes them right to the edge of what they're capable of. Deadline keeps you guessing all the way through, yet you literally can't put it down. When you do, you wonder, what would I have done if this had happened to me? Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another outstanding read!!!, 5 Oct. 2009
By 
Cameron Harland "C Harland" (Bury St Edmunds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another outstanding read from Simon Kernick. His ability to engross you in the story is amazing. He builds a character quickly and you feel like you're very familiar with him/her before you've read a quarter of the book. I'd really like to see Simon develop a series character to rival other crime writers who do this. I've read everything he's written and have never been disappointed. I'll buy whatever he writes! Thanks Simon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superbkly plotted story, 2 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Certain characters and certain themes appear and are overlayed with a more complex plot the realism in each story makes you question the world we live in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as always..., 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another page turner, once you start a chapter you end up doing 5 more!! Page turner full of detail, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 29 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommened to me AND i COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN IT WAS A REAL PAGE TURNER IT WAS WELL WRITTEN AND THE PLOT WAS EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Master Storyteller, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rattles along at a check of a pace and would make a terrific film! Second novel of Kernick's that I've read and every bit as good as the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Deadline, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
As with the majority of Simon Kernick's novels this is very well written, keeps your attention and you don't want the book to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a cracking read, 30 May 2012
This review is from: Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of his best crime thrillers simon kernick does it again.As usual we have di tina boyd and various other police personnel,it basically a kidnap storyline but with lots of twists and turns to say the least.The story does not relent but goes along at a breakneck speed and how other reviewers down rate this book is beyond me.Not to give the plot away just go out and buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3)
Deadline: (Tina Boyd 3) by Simon Kernick (Mass Market Paperback - 14 July 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews