Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful human introduction to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict
I have read many books about Palestine/ Israel and am frequently asked by friends for a book that would give them an introduction to this very complex conflict. It is a question I have always found difficult to answer with one book, so instead I end up sending a list of books from authors who usually are providing a perspective from one or the other side along with a few...
Published on 31 Oct. 2010 by ziba

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Rushed
Despite the thorough research and an array of characters, I find it hard to be enthusiastic about the book. The style was annoying for the first third - it seemed as if the author couldn’t decide how to tell the story and opted for very lengthy flashbacks. It improved for me when she just told the story as it was happening. I also felt that the ending was rushed and...
Published 7 months ago by Zero


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful human introduction to the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, 31 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
I have read many books about Palestine/ Israel and am frequently asked by friends for a book that would give them an introduction to this very complex conflict. It is a question I have always found difficult to answer with one book, so instead I end up sending a list of books from authors who usually are providing a perspective from one or the other side along with a few books from journalists who have covered the conflict to give historical sequence and perspective. I have always found that the best way to engage with a topic is through the people, but there really have been no books that present the humanity of both sides and the lemon tree succeeds at this. Sandy Tolan also did an incredible job juggling the terminology and historical references in a way that respects the different experiences that the two peoples have had with the same experience and/ or geographic location. Its a deeply moving and important book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandy Tolan's inspired recording of communication between a Jewish settler woman and a Palestinian man., 18 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
Sandy Tolan reports a dialogue spanning forty years between a Jewish woman who had not fully appreciated the cost of the Jewish occupation of Palestinian territory, and a Palestinian man driven, like countless others, from his family home and land.
So many of the Jews, fleeing persecution and arriving at the land they believed God had promised them, defend their conquests ruthlessly, and are unable to understand the claim of the Palestinians to the land belonging to them,
which they will struggle to the bitter end to recover.
Palestinian violence erupts and improportionately armed counter repression ensues,
but communication between the main characters of this compelling narrative continues. It is an excellent account which is essential reading for anyone hoping to try to promote peace in the area, as well as for all those wishing to understand this sad and complex situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent read, 9 Jun. 2009
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
A very interesting account from two individuals perspective of the schism between Israel and Palestine. An excellent account of the history of the birth of Israel and the Palestinian rift. Excellent for its chronology of events in what can only be described as a very complex and fast moving period. Very useful for individuals who want to know about the origin of problems in the Middle East. Sorry, its my first review and I havent given the book justice, but it is a must to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book tells both sides of the story, 26 Feb. 2012
By 
I. Murphy (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
It describes a friendship between a Jewish woman and an Arab man.

It gives a lot of recent historical background about the conflicts and the past and present divisions between the communities. Reading this well written powerful book I feel sympathy for both sides. Some of this book is very upsetting.

If there is ever going to be peace in Palestine Jews and Arabs are going to have to see and understand the other sides issues and create circumstances that allows everyone to live in peace and to enjoy a decent, safe life.

This book could help this process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched. beautifully written, 28 Oct. 2012
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
Without doubt, this is one of the best non-fiction books I have read about the Palestinian conflict. Sandy Tolan, a Jewish writer, writes with great understanding and passion about the Palestinian cause. By telling the story from Bashir's (the Arab man's) and Dalia's (The Jewish woman's) perspectives, Tolan gives us an intimate and very personal insight into a very complex and on-going conflict. A very informative book that forced me to look beyond what I have been reading in the media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Kindle Edition)
I was in Israel for the first time in 2012. It was an amazing trip. I joined a Christian group for the 10 day tour and i saw all of the sites. Came back to Ireland with a much better appreciation of Israel. I told many people about my journey and then a friend recommended The Lemon Tree. Wow what a read and what a story. It helped me to get a much better appreciation of the conflict from both sides. We all know that there are always radicals on both sides. This book for the first time ever really gave me the empathy to view things from both sides. It is an amazing story and there are great people in the book who had to deal with many challenges in life. Once i started reading the book i did not want to put it down and then i didn't want it to end as it is just unreal. If you are looking for a book that is unbiased and gives in my opinion a fair reflection from both sides then this is the one. I hope they make a movie out of the book and i will recommend this book to my friends as it is a great read and takes you on a very challenging journey and roller coaster ride. This is one of those books that i will keep in what i call my gem book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lemon Tree by Sandy Tolan, 15 Nov. 2009
An excellent book giving a detailed and balanced account of the tragic history and present condition in Israel/Palestine. It is beautifully written and and provides an understanding of the conflict in a stark and unsentimental way.
Generally it leaves little to be hopeful about, there do exist small pockets of reconciliation outside the political sphere but it leaves one despairing that so little has been done to correct the terrible injustices perpetrated over the years,and so few protests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lemon Tree, 23 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Kindle Edition)
I throughly enjoyed this book. It was very informative and gave an unbiased account of the troubles within Israel and Palastine. The story of the two families involved showed both sides of the troubles and explained to an outsider the deep feeling that history has still not resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hope it goes on the school curriculum, 4 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
An absorbing and possibly accurate, piece of non-fiction narrative, that attempts to and succceeds in the most part, to unravel the conflict between Israel and Palastine. A book that informs,educates,tells a story and intices the reader to investigate the whole Middle East conflict in more depth. A fantastic novel for older teens and adults and I hope it is added to the National Curriculum instead of "Animal Farm". Much more current,relevant and purposeful with a view to highlight the need for PEACE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good balance book; well written story, 26 July 2009
By 
P. Givens (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lemon Tree (Paperback)
a human story about the Palestine-Israel situation, with all of the complexity that human stories have. No good guys, no bad guys, just people on both sides trying to survive, provide for their families, and thrive. very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lemon Tree
The Lemon Tree by Sandy Tolan (Paperback - 10 Mar. 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews