Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money for nothing and your clacks for free
It seems, after reading Terry Pratchett's latest Discworld novel "Making Money", that money does make the world go `round, even if that world is flat and balanced on the backs of four elephants standing on the back of a giant turtle.

In "Making Money", Terry Pratchett and his `hero' Moist von Lipwig do for and to the monetary system exactly what they did for...
Published on 20 Sept. 2007 by Leonard Fleisig

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold cash
Moist von Lipwig, tired after making the Post Office such as success in "Going Postal", is itching for a new challenge - Vetinari sees this and turns Lipwig onto the banks and currency. Thusly Moist enters into a similar story to his last one where instead of the post, he is tasked with rejuvenating the money. The usual cast of new characters who seem familiarly like some...
Published on 23 July 2010 by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not classic Pratchett, 3 Feb. 2008
By 
I've read almost all of the first twenty discworld books and loved pretty much all of them. Some of the more recent ones have passed me by, including 'Going Postal', in which the main character of this book, Moist Von Lipwig, first appears. There are enough references to the previous adventure to keep the reader informed but on the whole I found myself not entirely interested. I'm really sorry, Mr Pratchett, as I'm a huge fan of your work, but this book seemed to me to be a re-hash of elements from various classic Discworld novels. Be it the fear of change/something new factor, the bumgling wizards, machines taking on a life force/influence of their own... it all just seemed a little too familiar.

As well as this, it seemed to move very quickly towards the end, and all the thigs biulding up throughout the novel were tidied up very nicely within a few quick chapters.

Maybe I'm being picky, and this IS only my opinion of course. The Discworld series won't be forever tarnised simply because this lateset offering fails to match the high standard of previous titles. I wouldn't say avoid this, but of the more recently published, Nightwatch is a firm favorite, as is thief of time. Try it ofr yourself if you're a big fan of Discworld (assuming you have't already bought it).

If you're new to Pratchett and the Discworld novels, try the earlier stuff first to whet your appetite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Pratchett, but not a classic., 7 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Let's be honest, any Pratchett fan will have to admit that Moist von Lipwig looked to be the Discworlds next big character. Going Postal was one of TP's best "newer" books and that was almost exclusively down to the lovable rogue that is (or was) Moist. Where Vimes had began to grow stale, up popped Moist; another anti-hero persona, but from a completely different angle.

Making Money was set to capitalise on the new character, but in this it failed. Just like Vimes before him, Moist has become dull, with his 'key to the city' (as Postmaster) and lack of worthwhile opposition the sense of suspense that kept him on his toes in the first book has pretty much vanished.

The books problems don't end with Moist. Whilst reading through you get the distinct impression that you have been cheated out of a fresh storyline. Making Money, whilst maybe not a carbon copy, runs much too similarly to Going Postal. Having read Going Postal you can pretty much tell where Making Money is going from the first chapter.

On the plus side, the story runs reasonably well and contains much of Pratchett's quirky comedy (mirroring our own 'Roundworld' in a way to exaggerate our own absurdities), but it doesn't feel like a classic Discworld. The plot is just too samey and the characters a little too set in their ways to offer much intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think I've read this before..., 2 Jun. 2008
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Terry Pratchett's discworld novels (and his other works) and usually rate them very highly, but this one seems to be a lot like its predecessor 'Going Postal' (which was a classic). Same storyline and characters; though thankfully - different jokes and historical musings.

I suppose everybody is entitled to at least one dud and although it is not a total loss as it has its funny moments, I can't help thinking that there was something lacking in this offering.

If this was a school report card, it would read:
Could do better, least he turned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think of the positive aspects, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
Cornelius Driessen (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found myself laughing a number of times - which I rate highly. True, there were quite long sections which I read with a more funereal expression, particularly when I felt a 'Laugh' sign onna stick was being waved at the readers. The other definite plus was the high key role of Lord Vetinary, which more than compensated for an (improved) Moist von Lipwig and worse, his girlfriend (after her second appearance the thought 'first against the wall when the revolution comes' became irrepressible).

Not near his best but a bit of laughter + Vetinary = Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collateral Custard saves the day. Genius., 20 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Utterly stupendous ending saves this Pratchett Discworld novel of moderate worth.
Only a genius could come up with such a barmy original idea as Collateral Custard.
Mr Bent and Collateral Custard save the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tired but still better than the competition, 15 Jun. 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Many others have commented before so I only want to express my disappointment that the master's slip is showing as it were. I believe that Terry's last few novels have been less than perfect and this one is another rung down the ladder. But having said that I read it virtually overnight and it is still the benchmark that other comedy fantasists have to reach and seldom overcome. Unfortunately having set the bar so high he doesn't quite make it over this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 4 Sept. 2008
By 
K. Neale (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read every discworld book now (usually more than three or four or more times) there are two truths:
(1) It is always enjoyable discovering new characters and seeing them interact with the old favourites. The plots are kept fresh and the city 'alive'.
(2) There is humour on the surface, and humour underneath, with alternative meanings and insights gained on subsequent readings, making the jokes go on and on.....

"Making Money" whilst continuing to explore a new socio-political area of the city, falls fairly flat on both the above 'Pratchett Foundations' and so becomes a pleasant enough easy read but without the depth of other Discworld novels with the plot cramming much in without elaborating or building layers - what you see is what you get.

Get it to keep your collection up to date, but the promising plot is confused and will not draw you back in. Terry Pratchett is still great and may long his work continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale for today, 12 Oct. 2008
By 
J. Hood (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Reading this as the financial institutions of the real world totter and shudder made me wish that Moist von Lipwig had been around to run Lehman brothers. Its take on finance and economic modelling was very funny, though for me the funniest single moment was the reaction of Vetinari to - not to spoil the fun - the unexpected offer of dessert. A sparkling comic novel for our times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 21 Nov. 2007
By 
R. J. Artley "Richard John Artley" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terry continues to delight, once again using Discworld to mirror our own and taking the bizarre element in an otherwise 'normal' situation, in this case the revival of a national banking system through it being presided over by a small dog (Mr. Fusspot) advised by a confessed conman (Moist von Lipwig), to its logical, successful conclusions. However, compared to 'Witches and Watch'-type Pratchett productions, this is not an easy-reading book. The extended satire about 'moving off the gold standard' and 'financial modeling' may not readily strike a chord, but for those who do appreciate it, it is incisively magnificent. Terry's humour is also more subtle than previously, encouraging lingering over the irony and images ('more flounce than a turkey on a trampoline') rather than rushing the plot. All in all, one of his best books - and one which, I have found, repays rereading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All About the Benjamins, 12 Dec. 2007
By 
Moist von Lipwig is back in his second starring role in a Pratchett novel as the head of the increasingly successful Post Office. Things have become so successful for the former con man turned man of the people that he no longer fears from his life. With this boring fact in mind he is reluctant to take on the role of bank manager for a struggling chain, especially one were the Chairman is a dog that like to play with an unusual chew toy. Can Moist modernise the banking sector in the same way he did the post office? Not if the nasty and rich Lavish family have anything to say about.

A reader's enjoyment of `Making Money' will depend on their enjoyment of Moist von Lipwig's earlier book `Going Postal'. This is because the two books have so much in common that the new book almost feels like an extension of the first. As a fan of Moist this is not an issue because I like the way he tackles problems using his conman techniques. The middle third of this book is particularly good as Moist gets to grip with the old fashioned bank. The numerous enemies on offer are well written and funny. The only disappointment is the usual Pratchett problem of over complication. He always seems to over complicate the story near the end and make it more confusing that it needs to be. I would recommend this to fans of the author, but perhaps not for new readers as it is not quite his best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 320 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Money: A Discworld Novel
Making Money: A Discworld Novel by Terry Pratchett (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Jun. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews