Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money for nothing and your clacks for free
It seems, after reading Terry Pratchett's latest Discworld novel "Making Money", that money does make the world go `round, even if that world is flat and balanced on the backs of four elephants standing on the back of a giant turtle.

In "Making Money", Terry Pratchett and his `hero' Moist von Lipwig do for and to the monetary system exactly what they did for...
Published on 20 Sept. 2007 by Leonard Fleisig

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great way to make money
I'm new to Discworld. Read this on a recommendation it had something interesting to say on the power of money.

The hero, Moist Lipwig (moustache?), is a thief who tries to set up a money system separate from gold. He had some success with stamps, so the local dictator forces him to become minder to the central bank's chairman (a dog).

The banking...
Published on 29 Nov. 2011 by shtove


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr P Never Fails to Hit The Mark..., 27 Dec. 2007
By 
Mrs. B "Mrs.B" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
I have now reached the stage where I probably need to get out more,as I find myself waiting the release of each and every new Pratchett tale. Once this little number dropped onto the door mat, I became a social recluse again, as happens whenever i get my hands on these books. The children aren't fed and clothed properly and the dog isn't walked etc etc.

We follow one of our favourites, Moist Von Lipwig (aka Albert Spangler - deceased) on another (mis)adventure filled quest initiated by his nemesis/saviour the Patrician of Ankh Morpork, Lord Havelock Vetinari. The Patrician, this time, felt that having become the 'saviour' of the Post Office, Moist needed another challenge. On this occasion, it is to assist in the restoration the Royal Bank of Ankh Morpork back to some semblance of a financial institution that the city could be proud of - making money too, as the title suggests.

Moist ends up by being acting Chairman of the bank after the sudden death of it's previous Chairman, the widow of Mr. Lavish, member of the founding family of the bank. The real Chairman is in fact the deceased old lady's small (I suspect Pug-like) dog, who inherited the lion share of the interest in the bank. As 'Mr Fusspot's' legal guardian, Moist is then given the challenge of shipping the bank into shape.

He devises a plan to make paper money and remove the city's reliance on gold/stamps for it's currency. Fine in principal but things aren't straight forward. Very soon Moist in embroiled in a hapless series of events and it soon looks like he could end up being hung again for his efforts by the ever looming Patrician.

The Lavish family's surviving members are also constantly looming, in the background, trying to get back what they deem to be rightfully theirs, killing anyone they feel might assist their quest. The main player, Cosmo Lavish, has a Vetinari Obsession and is gradually stealing (or at least he thinks he is stealing) Vetinari's trade mark accessories one by one to assist in his metamorphosis into the infamous Patrician.

All this is occurring while an Igor is in the basement with another lavish family member doing what Igors do best - assisting with something insane; The bank's long serving chief cashier has a breakdown and runs off with his personal assistant and possibly with all the gold in the bank's vault; and several hundred very ancient and special Golems are discovered by Moist's girlfriend, Adora.....

Only on the Disc World....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not classic Pratchett, 3 Feb. 2008
By 
I've read almost all of the first twenty discworld books and loved pretty much all of them. Some of the more recent ones have passed me by, including 'Going Postal', in which the main character of this book, Moist Von Lipwig, first appears. There are enough references to the previous adventure to keep the reader informed but on the whole I found myself not entirely interested. I'm really sorry, Mr Pratchett, as I'm a huge fan of your work, but this book seemed to me to be a re-hash of elements from various classic Discworld novels. Be it the fear of change/something new factor, the bumgling wizards, machines taking on a life force/influence of their own... it all just seemed a little too familiar.

As well as this, it seemed to move very quickly towards the end, and all the thigs biulding up throughout the novel were tidied up very nicely within a few quick chapters.

Maybe I'm being picky, and this IS only my opinion of course. The Discworld series won't be forever tarnised simply because this lateset offering fails to match the high standard of previous titles. I wouldn't say avoid this, but of the more recently published, Nightwatch is a firm favorite, as is thief of time. Try it ofr yourself if you're a big fan of Discworld (assuming you have't already bought it).

If you're new to Pratchett and the Discworld novels, try the earlier stuff first to whet your appetite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still Pratchett, but not a classic., 7 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Let's be honest, any Pratchett fan will have to admit that Moist von Lipwig looked to be the Discworlds next big character. Going Postal was one of TP's best "newer" books and that was almost exclusively down to the lovable rogue that is (or was) Moist. Where Vimes had began to grow stale, up popped Moist; another anti-hero persona, but from a completely different angle.

Making Money was set to capitalise on the new character, but in this it failed. Just like Vimes before him, Moist has become dull, with his 'key to the city' (as Postmaster) and lack of worthwhile opposition the sense of suspense that kept him on his toes in the first book has pretty much vanished.

The books problems don't end with Moist. Whilst reading through you get the distinct impression that you have been cheated out of a fresh storyline. Making Money, whilst maybe not a carbon copy, runs much too similarly to Going Postal. Having read Going Postal you can pretty much tell where Making Money is going from the first chapter.

On the plus side, the story runs reasonably well and contains much of Pratchett's quirky comedy (mirroring our own 'Roundworld' in a way to exaggerate our own absurdities), but it doesn't feel like a classic Discworld. The plot is just too samey and the characters a little too set in their ways to offer much intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think I've read this before..., 2 Jun. 2008
By 
M. Ives (Claydon, Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love Terry Pratchett's discworld novels (and his other works) and usually rate them very highly, but this one seems to be a lot like its predecessor 'Going Postal' (which was a classic). Same storyline and characters; though thankfully - different jokes and historical musings.

I suppose everybody is entitled to at least one dud and although it is not a total loss as it has its funny moments, I can't help thinking that there was something lacking in this offering.

If this was a school report card, it would read:
Could do better, least he turned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think of the positive aspects, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
Cornelius Driessen (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found myself laughing a number of times - which I rate highly. True, there were quite long sections which I read with a more funereal expression, particularly when I felt a 'Laugh' sign onna stick was being waved at the readers. The other definite plus was the high key role of Lord Vetinary, which more than compensated for an (improved) Moist von Lipwig and worse, his girlfriend (after her second appearance the thought 'first against the wall when the revolution comes' became irrepressible).

Not near his best but a bit of laughter + Vetinary = Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collateral Custard saves the day. Genius., 20 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Utterly stupendous ending saves this Pratchett Discworld novel of moderate worth.
Only a genius could come up with such a barmy original idea as Collateral Custard.
Mr Bent and Collateral Custard save the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tired but still better than the competition, 15 Jun. 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Many others have commented before so I only want to express my disappointment that the master's slip is showing as it were. I believe that Terry's last few novels have been less than perfect and this one is another rung down the ladder. But having said that I read it virtually overnight and it is still the benchmark that other comedy fantasists have to reach and seldom overcome. Unfortunately having set the bar so high he doesn't quite make it over this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An easy read, 4 Sept. 2008
By 
K. Neale (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read every discworld book now (usually more than three or four or more times) there are two truths:
(1) It is always enjoyable discovering new characters and seeing them interact with the old favourites. The plots are kept fresh and the city 'alive'.
(2) There is humour on the surface, and humour underneath, with alternative meanings and insights gained on subsequent readings, making the jokes go on and on.....

"Making Money" whilst continuing to explore a new socio-political area of the city, falls fairly flat on both the above 'Pratchett Foundations' and so becomes a pleasant enough easy read but without the depth of other Discworld novels with the plot cramming much in without elaborating or building layers - what you see is what you get.

Get it to keep your collection up to date, but the promising plot is confused and will not draw you back in. Terry Pratchett is still great and may long his work continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale for today, 12 Oct. 2008
By 
J. Hood (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Making Money: A Discworld Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Reading this as the financial institutions of the real world totter and shudder made me wish that Moist von Lipwig had been around to run Lehman brothers. Its take on finance and economic modelling was very funny, though for me the funniest single moment was the reaction of Vetinari to - not to spoil the fun - the unexpected offer of dessert. A sparkling comic novel for our times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 21 Nov. 2007
By 
R. J. Artley "Richard John Artley" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Terry continues to delight, once again using Discworld to mirror our own and taking the bizarre element in an otherwise 'normal' situation, in this case the revival of a national banking system through it being presided over by a small dog (Mr. Fusspot) advised by a confessed conman (Moist von Lipwig), to its logical, successful conclusions. However, compared to 'Witches and Watch'-type Pratchett productions, this is not an easy-reading book. The extended satire about 'moving off the gold standard' and 'financial modeling' may not readily strike a chord, but for those who do appreciate it, it is incisively magnificent. Terry's humour is also more subtle than previously, encouraging lingering over the irony and images ('more flounce than a turkey on a trampoline') rather than rushing the plot. All in all, one of his best books - and one which, I have found, repays rereading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 321 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Making Money: A Discworld Novel
Making Money: A Discworld Novel by Terry Pratchett (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Jun. 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews