Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars38
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2007
As the author of the Bradt Travel Guide to Maldives, and guide books and inflight magazine features on other beach destinations, I was fascinated to read BEACH BABYLON. Although the resort itself has been fictionalised and the incredible events of a resort manager's career packed into one hectic week, it rings so true.
From various clues (a Muslim country, aclohol confiscated from arriving passengers at the airport, the proximity of Colombo, Singapore, the Seychelles, Mauritius and Dubai) the setting seems to be the Maldives.
The author's sources of secrets about what happens behind the scenes are accurate as well as knowledgeable on wines and costs, making this an informative as well as an entertaining book. It is a fast-paced and often gripping read that ends too quickly, even though with a final philosophical flourish. Anyone thinking of holidaying or working in a "tropical paradise" will benefit by reading this book. Jolly good fun! (Royston Ellis)
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2007
I have visited the 'Hotel' and travelled in the 'Air' and now it was time to sample what happens at the 'Beach'! Granted all these things wouldn't not happen in one whole week, but that's the beauty of these books - it packs it all in and you couldn't make some of this stuff up - it does happen. I have worked in a similar place where such things did go on, especially the issues with the staff and upgrading people in rooms.

Personally, I found this book as good as 'Hotel', it is a hotel it is just in an exotic place, and really for those people who have more money than sense and far too much time on their hands. Anonymous must be more than one person, a collection of people who can pool their experiences to make a fantastic book.

It is again written from the male persepctive, but this time the author pulls it off much better than in 'Air'. You know exactly who you are dealing with and their 'voice' as they descirbe the resort and all the 'going's on' is quite clear.

Worth a read, great escapism and pure indulgence just like the fictious resort it portrays! If anyone from the BBC is reading this and fancies shifting the characters from 'Hotel Babylon' to an exotic island then take up the rights to this book and make it into a TV series!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2007
I have read all of the Babylon books. For me Hotel was the best, but this one follows a close second. This book provides a good insight into the 6 star world of the luxury beach villa resort and it's guests, with their high handed requests and their expections of service from the put upon staff. It takes you behind the scenes as the resort manager has to cope with all the pressures of keeping the high flyers satisfied and the staff from exploding under the pressure. For anyone that may have been a little disappointed with Fashion Babylon, I am sure you will find that this one is back to the standards of Hotel Babylon. I definately recommend this as a good satisfying read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2008
I have just finished reading Beach Babylon and really enjoyed it. I have read the other Babylon books (pop to go) and this is second best against Hotel. It's has all the markings of Hotel but with the added extras of Sand, money, drink and very, very rich people.
This follows a week in the life of a Hotel manager at a luxury 6 star resort. An island in the middle of nowhere for the rich and famous and somehow they cater for their every whim with no resources. How the staff cope with being stuck on an island and being cut off from the `real' world. Brilliant insight of what goes on behind the scenes.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2007
This book is an ultimate beach reading. Too bad that I finished it on the plane on my way to the beach, after I had bought it at the airport - it was that great! Very original, with great sence of humour, it gives us an insight into a week's life at a top resort-the facade and what goes behind the scenes of operating such business, into the whims of oligarhs, sheiks and billionaires and odd random guests. You will be perhaps surprised to read that a couple who spend $2,500 a night manage to bring in supplies of $1.00-a pack noodles to survive on for a week and to settle a bill of $20.00 for the stay, etc.- many, many such anecdotes.

I watched several Hotel Babylons - was o.k. and started reading Fashion Babylon but dropped it as it was too trashy, gossipy, bitchy and boring. So this book is by far the best in the series for my taking.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
A very good expose of the world of luxury resorts - really warts and all. A very witty read that will appeal to both sexes seems to be the general consensus from my Rep Team. You will love it if you watched the TV series, Hotel Babylon.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2007
Imogen Edwards-Jones has done it again. If you have liked any of her other Babylon books you will love this. Great for on the beach, scandalous and delicious. A brilliant book!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
An excellent expose of the world of luxury resorts and everything that goes on - is it all dramatic license? I bought this on the strength of the book / TV series of Hotel Babylon and it did not disappoint. Will appeal to both sexes.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
I originally read Air Babylon and loved it.

Beach Babylon is even better.

The stories that are told and the way in which this is done, makes it hard to put it down. I read it whilst spending a luxury holiday in Dubai and everytime I saw the Russians surrounded by several beautiful young girls, I smiled to myself!!

A MUST READ
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
This book was such great fun! I read 'Hotel Babylon' on holiday years ago, but I think this one was even better. In this exposé the anonymous whistle-blower is once again a manager in the hotel industry, but this time of a luxury island resort rather than a London establishment - and it takes things to a whole new level! As in the other Babylon books, all the people, places and madcap events that appear in the book are real, but names and locations have been changed (obviously!) and the bizarre situations the manager finds himself having to cope with have been condensed into one crazy 'week in the life'.

The reader is swept into a world of incredible luxury and privilege. This is a resort where the villas can cost up to $6000 a night, and the guests are so wealthy that they can afford to blow $20,000 on a afternoon's entertainment or $1,500 on a bottle of champagne without batting an eyelid. Not only does our intrepid manager have to cosy up to each and every one of his guests and bend over backwards to keep them happy, but he must also deal with their more outrageous requests, make sure the isolated island has everything it needs on a daily basis, and try to keep his staff functioning and content in the face of daily difficulties.

This is a wonderful piece of escapism, managing to capture both the little bubble of island life, with its daily champagne parties and beach barbeques and celebrity guests, and the all-consuming nightmare of trying to keep such a large resort in the impossibly perfect condition expected by the demanding clientele. Despite the 'world apart' nature of the island, the characters will be painfully familiar to anyone who's ever been on holiday! It's funny, it's dry, it's cringeworthy - and it's brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99
£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)