Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars114
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2001
I read the book after reading Bravo Two Zero.This book competes with the other but Immediate Action goes into much more detail.Sometimes the book contains technical jargon which some readers may find perplexing, but for a military nut like me it was sheer class.There are also great pictures inside which help understand some of the conditions that this elite - group fight in.The best part of the book , in my humble opinion, was when Andy had to pass selection.It will make you wince in pain and gawp at the book as some of the things done are unbelievable. Immediate action is in my personal top three and i would strongly reccomend this book to anyone slightly interested in that sort of thing. Finally may i congratulate Andy Mcnab(if that is his real name !)on a superb read which gives an amazing insight into The SAS.The only problem with this book is that it finished to soon and kept me up to 3 am as i couldn't put the book down.This book MUST BE READ!!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2000
This book right from the first chapter had me gripped.Its not just that having been in the services i had developed an interest,i was taken into a new world for me and an interesting one for those who haven't had the pleasure.Just reading about the selection process was enough to show me just how comfortable my life is!For those who dont know Immediate Action is the autobiography of Andy Mcnab DCM,MM.It starts with him joining the army as a boy soldier to keep out of trouble,and takes you right through to him becoming a sergeant in the SAS and of course the now legendary Bravo Two Zero patrol in Iraq.Superb
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 1999
This book has got be the best book I have ever read. It is full of action and nailbiting tension. So much so you will be literally on the edge of your seats. Everything you ever needed to know about the army,and of course the the best elite special forces unit in the world!! The S.A.S. Andy McNab has wrote some good stuff but this is just the creame of the crop. Buy this book and you will not want to put it down. I strongly sugest that if there are any film producers out there, that you seriously consider trying to make a film about this extrodinary auto-biography,it would be the biggest film of the year possibly even the decade so do it!!!!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2003
Immediate Action is a biographical account of the author's army life, culminating in joining the elite SAS regiment of the British Armed Forces.
The first third of the book covers McNab's early life in working class London, up to his attempts to join the SAS via its Selection process. The remainder of the book is about various SAS operations he was involved in all over the globe, not including the material in Iraq - which is covered in Bravo Two Zero.
Written very much in army speak, the book portrays very vividly a career in the SAS, including the boring and mundane parts as well as the more glamorous bits. The impact on McNab's private life is also covered, with three marriages and three divorces all casualties of his devotion to the regiment.
My favourite part of the book is the selection process McNab had to go through which sounded awesomely difficult. The remainder of Immediate Action, describing in detail each of the operations he was involved in, varies from extremely good to tedious. The book even necessitates a glossary at the back of army terms, which are littered throughout the text!
Not quite as gripping as Bravo Two Zero, Immediate Action nevertheless is a frank and revealing account of life in the SAS during the 1980's.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
This book is a masterpiece! I have only just recieved delivery of it 3 days ago and am half way through- but felt compelled to write a review with Immediate Action...! (poor I know, sorry!)
Seriously though, this is a must read for anyone who is vaguely interested in the forces, guns and brutal story telling, even someone who has any interest in fitness stamina etc it has the British Armys finest survival and fitness techniques described and explained so would be a shame to miss out on them.. This book has it all in and is written with fantastic detail and an extremely honest, witty sense of humour.
McNab describes his real life story's with such detail and skill that you feel as though you are there, right next to him in Northen Ireland being fired upon by the IRA and the training selection process for the Regiment (22 Squadron, the SAS); from the Brecon Beacons to the Jungle in Mayaila and feeling the pain from the Interrogation process that completes the training. This has the makings for yet another film on the regiment and would be a complete waste if this didn't happen.
I wont say any more- mainly because I cant! I havnt got far enough but once again, McNab comes out on top. Simply Awesome- a must buy...
22 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2012
One of the most refreshing things about the book is the amazing attention to detail and inordinate amount of planning put in before an operation proceeds, no gung ho rushing in without thought, guns blazing,as this will normally end in a collosal gang f*** and lots of dead soldiers.four stars from me.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
This is my third Andy McNab book and it was a great read. Would recommend it to anyone interested in action,forces,SAS etc
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2000
This book contains all the action and adventure to keep you reding it from start to finish in a week.Mcnab brings himself across as a hero but not as a superhuman gungho soldier.One of the downsides is that whenever it seems Mcnab kills someone the event is not unfolded and he just goes into detail about the emotional side of taking someones life. However if you wanna read about great UNDERCOVER AND INTELLIGENCE gathering missions then this is for you.The book starts from when Mcnab is found outside a hospital in a carrier bag, through his childhood and then all the way through his training and acceptance in the SAS and at long last he gets to the his career THIS IS A MUST READ!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 1999
A must for all the special forces fans around the world. I'm also a former soldier of one of IDF Elite special forces units and I was very impressed with the ability of the sas soldiers, and the similarity between British SF units and Israeli SF units. Andy really inspire me and others who serves in IDF SF units. I even know that in some SF units you would be given this book after graduating the unit's course...I have read many military and SF books,but as one who have been experienced in the combat field - Keep writing Andy, you're simply the best - better then all the rest...!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 1999
Want to know what it's like getting into and staying in the SAS?
This is probably the nearest we're going to get without going through Selection. It's also the story of a youngster on the slippery slope towards a criminal career who "made good" by joining the Army. McNab's style makes his story extremely readable and one can easily suffer with him as he goes through the pains of failing his first Selection.
I could go on and on in my praise for this book, but I'll just return to my one-liner:
Buy it! If you can't afford it borrow it etc.....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)