Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!
Having read the George Jacobs book and being a fan of his music I bought this with some prior knowledge of Frank but the detail in this book was beyond anything I expected. His early days, the mob, the Kennedy's, Communism, Ava Gardner etc. are covered here with an objective view neither condemning nor condoning. Well researched and written, I couldn't put it...
Published on 4 Nov 2005

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for people who don't like Sinatra
Yes, this book is very well researched, fairly well written and very comprehensive about Sinatra's dark side but there is very little about his music and films. So the question that has to be asked is "Do the authors of the book even like Sinatra?" I would say no, I can't recall a single sentence that shows any passion for Sinatra's art. That's what rankles me about...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. J. H. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!, 4 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Hardcover)
Having read the George Jacobs book and being a fan of his music I bought this with some prior knowledge of Frank but the detail in this book was beyond anything I expected. His early days, the mob, the Kennedy's, Communism, Ava Gardner etc. are covered here with an objective view neither condemning nor condoning. Well researched and written, I couldn't put it down and I'd recommend it to anyone. It was a very good book.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative and easy to read, 4 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Hardcover)
Though containing none of the controversial or explosive material often associated with Summers' books, this is one of the better biographies of Sinatra.
Much of it is taken from other published sources, which is slightly disappointing, but as a comprehensive and easy-to-read biography it has great merit. Certainly for anyone new to Sinatra's life this book will be informative and save many a pound on buying other, less thorough biographies of the man.
Summers remains on the whole neutral in this work, presenting fact, fiction and anecdote for the reader to interpret, but while leaving few dark areas unexplored he gives recognition to Sinatra's hard work and determination to get to the top and stay there.
A good one to have on the shelves for a well-rounded look at the life of this complex man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for people who don't like Sinatra, 1 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. H. Morris (further north than you) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Paperback)
Yes, this book is very well researched, fairly well written and very comprehensive about Sinatra's dark side but there is very little about his music and films. So the question that has to be asked is "Do the authors of the book even like Sinatra?" I would say no, I can't recall a single sentence that shows any passion for Sinatra's art. That's what rankles me about this obsession with Sinatra's evidently quite serious flaws. Sure, there are the Mafia connections, the womanising, the mistreatment of friends and colleagues, suicide attempts, heavy drinking, violent outbursts - all of this is shocking stuff, but for a true Sinatra fan, all of this pales into insignificance next to the sheer joy and beauty of his music. So ultimately, this is a very boring book because it fails to discuss Sinatra as a serious artist. I don't doubt any of the stories that paint Sinatra as a nasty piece of work, but that stuff is just not interesting compared to his creative work which in this book is almost entirely ignored. If you don't believe me, I had to check several times in the index to confirm that Gordon Jenkins, one of Sinatra's major collaborators and arrangers and so important in his artistry, is mentioned ONCE in this book. Yes, once. That is truly astonishing and unforgiveable for a book that unfortunately fails to display any interest in why it subject is so revered. (As a comparison, it's like having a book on Lennon that discusses his jealousy, drug addiction, nastiness, insecurity for 400 pages, then has one sentence on the whole of the Imagine album).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but probably not the best Sinatra biography available, 26 May 2006
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Hardcover)
I read Anthony Summers' book 'File on the Tsar' many years ago and was impressed with the depth of research. I was similarly impressed with the depth of research involved with this biography of Frank Sinatra, unquestionably one of the greatest entertainers of all time. But I finished it feeling just a little let down; it incorporates a considerable amount of material, some old, some not so new, about Sinatra's already well documented connections with the Mafia. It is also unsparing in its description of Sintra the flawed human being. I just couldn't help feeling that it almost needed more material about Sinatra the artist, genius or not, to balance it up a little, or at least to round it off; certainly I finished it with the overriding impression that Sinatra was a thoroughly unpleasant character, and certainly not a sympathetic one.

On top of that is the book's deceptive size: the whole volume has a total of 573 numbered pages. The actual narrative, however, takes up only 389 of those pages; the remainder comprises extensive 'Notes and Sources' (and an index), plus acknowledgements.

So although I generally enjoyed it, if anyone were to ask me for my personal recommendation for the best Sinatra biography available, I would unhesitatingly say the (earlier) one by J. Randall Taraborrelli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An In-Depth Portrait of The Man 'That Did it His Way', 21 Feb 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Paperback)
Having now read this book twice I am happy to say that Sinatra: The Life is an interesting, engaging and even-handed look at the life and work of arguably one of the most iconic entertainment figures of the twentieth century Francis Albert Sinatra.

The book takes us from Sinatra's birth in 1915 through his childhood, his career up's and down's and his later life and death. It discusses both his Music and Film careers in quite a lot of depth and details both the good, bad and medicore work he was involved with.

It also doesn't shy away from Sinatra's links to Organized Crime,his political dealings and his complicated and erratic personal life.

I like this book for many reasons, one is that the book is expansive and is a thorough glimpse through Sinatra's life and times. Secondly the book is an entertaining read with information gathered from hundred's of interview's from high profile names from Hollywood Star's, to local resident's of Sinatra's hometown of Hoboken New Jersey.

For me this is the defintive book on Frank Sinatra's life and work and I highly recommend this to anyone with just a passing interest in him and his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great biography, 6 Dec 2013
By 
M. Smith "booksmith" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Paperback)
This is the most deeply researched book on Sinatra I have had the pleasure of reading. Couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Paperback)
Another gift for mother from the master, she loved it and has passed round the family. Really good just as promised great delivery and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sinatra: The Life, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good 'warts and all' book which tells of Sinatra's good points and bad points. I found it hard to put down once I had started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 6 Mar 2014
By 
P. Mellors - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Paperback)
This is another book in the vein of the Kitty Kelly tome. Not really a balanced view and at odds with many respected books on Sinatra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sinatra, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sinatra: The Life (Hardcover)
love this book, then i gave it to my mom to read, shes a big fan, great condition thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sinatra: The Life
Sinatra: The Life by Robbyn Swan (Paperback - 3 April 2006)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews