Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Old For Rock and Roll? Too Young to Die?
The answers to those questions and more may be found in Terry Pratchett's hilariously funny and thoughtful Soul music.
Soul Music consists of two parallel plot lines which, because this is Discworld and not the earth, converge as they reach the story's horizons. First we meet Imp y Celyn, soon to be known to the world as Bud of the Holly or Buddy, as he travels the...
Published on 2 Mar. 2005 by Leonard Fleisig

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Discworld Novel Set Around Rock Music!
Another installment in the Death series. Death goes missing again, and its up to his grand-daughter to fill his shoes. For a human this becomes a difficult task, and much like in the novel Mort, things don't go as planned.

Not being a huge fan of music, some of the jokes were a little lost on me. Also I do think that its a difficult task to have a "musical"...
Published on 8 Nov. 2010 by Louise Roberts


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Pratchett, 9 May 2010
By 
J. Alford (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You buy Practchett becuase you love his style and comic genius - this doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bigger Than Cheeses!, 8 Nov. 2006
Read all terry pratchetts books, and this is my favourite (well... it's tied with night watch) it's exciting, it's funny and there's so much depth to it you can get lost in it instantly. it's a must have, even if you haven't read the other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Music, 22 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written in the well known and unique style of Terry Pratchett. It is difficult not to like these Discworld stories and I loved this one. Once again I laughed all the way through it and it gave me a great deal of pleasure. Another 5-star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very sharp whit, excellent use of characters again!, 18 April 1999
By A Customer
This is another tremendous effort from Terry Pratchett, The innocence of some characters like sgt Detritus, when confronted with the talking piano is highly amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really hits a chord, 18 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love all of Terry Pratchett's books but this one really hit a chord with me, I can read it time after time after time. Well done Sir Terry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perplexed Horseman, 16 Sept. 2005
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Who but Terry Pratchett could seek sympathy for the feelings of the Death of the Discworld? And obtain it? Once again, Pratchett offers readers a rich banquet of deep philosophic questions served with his saucy wit. As usual the repast may be taken lightly, skimming off the quirky characters - the Raven takes the top marks in this book - or the horrid puns emanating from the music [Welsh for Buddy Holly??!! arghh!]. Otherwise, the gourmet PTerry fan may relish fully the issues surrounding life. And death. Pratchett, as always, may be read at many levels. Any Discworld book may be read repeatedly, and this one is no exception.
Death is unique among the Four Horsemen - he's the only one that's inevitable. As an Anthropomorphic Personification, Death is something other than simply a blind force. Small feelings burrow through his consciousness. Without a human frame of reference, he cannot comprehend them fully. He is, however, aware that things aren't quite right. He therefore goes off to determine what is wrong. His departure leaves a void demanding filling.
His replacement is the daughter of his foundling and his apprentice - Susan Sto Helit. With Susan, Pratchett turns away from Death to examine Life. In this instance, Life shows how powerful it can be, even self generating. Life, the universe itself, may be the result of a musical note. Never mind the Big Bang, how about the Big Bong? Life, through Music, shows its universality through Music With Rocks In. Rock music can be performed by everyone. Talent, discipline, training all may be ignored. Music With Rocks In is little more than the fullest expression of human feeling. Even Susan, much detached from her surroundings, is caught up in its force.
In Susan, Pratchett demonstrates the power of his characterisation. She is Death's granddaughter, carrying his "genes" providing inexplicable powers. She can speak with THE VOICE, become invisible, ride Binky. She's human, with a strong sense of justice, vexed by the loss of good people and the survival of bad ones. She wants Death to be "fair", but He can only be what he is - inevitable. Pratchett, of course, must somehow reconcile these views, which he does with his usual panache. Through it all, the Music strives for survival. Pratchett feels that's important because it means survival for us all. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 6 Feb. 2009
By 
i love terry pratchett this is a must have for any fan. gives basic character intros so neewbies to the disworld can buy this as a 1st
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 19 Aug. 2007
By 
S. Hansen "sue" (isle of man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All the Discworld books are good, but this is wonderful! Excellent value for money as I have read them all time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry does it again., 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing better than a Pratchet fantasy, and this will have you laughing your socks off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice period piece., 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed these short stories - not all based on Cold Comfort Farm, but very readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Music: (Discworld Novel 16) (Discworld Novels)
Soul Music: (Discworld Novel 16) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2005)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews