Customer Reviews


217 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (29)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking read
What do you do when you answer the phone and hear your best friend being murdered? not only that, but he has just told his killers where you live.

This is a tale which grabs you by the throat from start to finish and doesn't let up until the end. In that sense it is "relentless", as you won't be able to put it down until you know what has happened. It took me a...
Published on 7 Aug 2007 by Bezerus Bezby

versus
30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good to talk
Why didn't he phone the police at the start when he heard his mate being murdered? It could have saved a lot of trouble...

That apart, decent enough plot. Ordinary writing. A bit like eating a couple of Cadbury's flakes in one go. Enjoyable while it's happening, but not very satisfying once you've finished.
Published on 3 July 2007 by S. J. Mann


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoop!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here's one to make your belly muscles tense. It's the very realness that hits you--that horrible feeling that at any time this could be you. Your life is normal--or so you think. Then with one phone call it changes so drastically and you discover you only thought you knew your life was normal. Brilliant stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another book well worth a read, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
Twists turns and changing plots, keeps you guessing and a good read. You won't be disappointed with this book whatsoever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Relentless"-ly fast paced read!, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended this book by a friend and it had me hooked from beginning to end. I'm now recommending this to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Exciting!, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
Relentless left me breathless at each page, I could not put it down. It was a great experience, to be sucked into this story so completely. It was brilliant, this book is memorable for all the right reasons, what are you waiting for - get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good to talk, 3 July 2007
By 
S. J. Mann (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
Why didn't he phone the police at the start when he heard his mate being murdered? It could have saved a lot of trouble...

That apart, decent enough plot. Ordinary writing. A bit like eating a couple of Cadbury's flakes in one go. Enjoyable while it's happening, but not very satisfying once you've finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ultimately Disappointing, 30 May 2013
By 
Joao Cardeira Jorge "A Bad Man" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
There really isn't much to recommend this book for. The plot is devoid of any interesting ideas, the characters are bland and the action is pathetic. The story revolves around a simple, ordinary guy named John Meron. He's married, with two young children and a boring job. Suddenly he receives a call from his childhood's best friend and hears him being attacked. Before he dies, his friend tells the murderer Tom's address. Just like that Meron is deep inside a conspiracy that threatens his whole family and his life. He has the police after him for a murder he did not commit and gangsters torturing him for something he has no idea where it is or even what it is.
The idea that Meron is a regular boring guy in a dreadful and dangerous situation is a good one. Unfortunately the book just throws all credibility out of the window after a few pages. Soon enough the action starts pouring in with Meron fighting hand to hand with hardened criminals, in shootouts and in wild escapes from impossible situations. Unfortunately John Meron is also not a very likable character. He has no personality except being... well average. He is a also not very bright and doesn't seem to make a single good decision all through the story. The other part of the book is about a parallel investigation by the police about two murders in which Meron finds himself involved. The detective is Mike Bolt and he is a much more interesting character with some back story and at least some personality. Unfortunately the investigation, like the whole plot, never goes anywhere. Simon Kernick literally has to spend three or four pages in the end of the book explaining the plot in a phone conversation between Bolt and his partner. Bolt's whole triumph is basically asking for someone to trace a cellphone.
There are lots and lots of pages full of action but its all rather bland. Meron is put again and again in situations where his death is imminent but where he is saved at the last second. After four or five of these situations its was actually funny how predictable the action would be. You never get a sense of danger because when only after a few pages Meron is already fighting for his life you know the lead character simply wont die so soon. This happens numerous times and ends in the predictable way every time.
There is only one villain and his only trait is that he's... evil. That's it. He's really evil. He's evil and he likes it. He's a hired killer and he really loves his job. That's some compelling writing!
The ending falls completely flat with little or no resolution. Things just get really ridiculous with shock twists that come out of nowhere about characters who appeared for three pages a hundred and fifty pages ago. To be honest I just didn't care by then.
The book is easy enough to read. It moves at a brisk page, between Bolt and Meron with lots of action every few pages. However the story never takes off, Meron is a weak character and the plot just seems like an excuse for lots of torture and gun fights and escapes in the last second. As a reader I was going through the motions, hoping for some sort of resolution that never came. It was a waste of time. A waste of a good idea.
For a good book, a really great read in fact, from Simon Kernick, read The Business Of Dying . A gripping plot with a wonderfully complex character, DS Dennis Milne.
"Relentless" just isn't worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to be extremely anti-social cos you won't wanna put this book down!!, 24 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm gonna be honest, I'm not usually into reading in a huge way. Ok, I've read loads of footballers autobiographies and the occasional novel (it took me months upon end to finish the Da Vinci Code), but I fancied a read of "Relentless" after seeing it advertised on a train station bill-board in London.

The synopsis of the story caught my attention straight away so I thought I'd give it a go and asked for it for my birthday to read on holiday recently. So, I'm at the airport, a bit bored, and thought I'd start it (I almost forgot to put it down when I had to show my passport and flight ticket). During the 4 hour flight to Cyprus I completed about 90% of the book and finished it whilst sunning meself beside the pool the next day.

It's the first time I've actually been totally gutted to finish a book, I just wanted it to carry on. The story is intensely gripping, the characters are fantastically identifible and, just like many other reviewers have already said, the pace of the book is just non-stop. It would make an amazing film as it contains plently of intrigue, mystery and several great twists which constantly keep you guessing.

I really loved this book and would recommend it anybody, even those that don't usually go for crime novels, or in fact, reading in general. I enjoyed it so much, I've just ordered Kernick's first 2 books, and will soon be getting his next novel "Severed" aswell.

Top stuff indeed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable, 5 July 2007
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
This is just my sort of book. Non stop entertainment. There's lots of tension and its hard to put down as the twists and turns just keep on coming. It would be easy to pick fault with certain aspects if you really wanted to. But let's face it, if he called the police at the start as one reviewer suggested, then you wouldn't have a very interesting book would you?

Great action, lots of tension, and most importantly, really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks substance, 29 Oct 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
In the hands of another author (Ian Rankin sprang to mind) this decent idea could, with a bit more development, been made into a good book. In the hands of Kernick however it's an opportunity wasted.

The problems are many, firstly the characters - the main protagonist (Tom) lost all sympathy by his illogical, unbelievable and rather strange actions throughout the book (why not call the police after the first phone call? why run from the police station? why lie to anyone who tries to help?) personally I couldnt help but feel he deserved what happened to him, he certainly could have done more to help himself.

It's virtually impossible to have sympathy with his wife (young kids, recently married yet lies to her husband, has affairs with her husbands best man and her own lesbian colleague, gets people killed with her irresponsible behaviour) - and Tom wants her back?!?

The main villain (Lench....wasn't he one of the Bash Street Kids?) is a real missed opportunity - hired killer, Bosnian war veteran wanted for war crimes - he has the potential to be a genuinely terrifying bad guy - but is left sadly under developed (any why is his background only revealed at the end of the book, when he's dead? it would have been better to develop Lench with this info throughout the book - it would have added some (much needed) extra tension.

There is also a hugely underdeveloped back plot (they super rich business man who has hired Lench) which could have added a lot to the book but this is only mentioned a few times and there is no effort to develop it or bring it into the main story.

As for the end of the book, it left me strangely flat and uninterested, it's almost like the author has lost interest. The final fight scene is amateurish and almost completely without tension or surprise and the 'surprise' ending just left me feeling 'so what?'

The story could have been good but I couldn't help feeling that Kernick approached it from the wrong angle and left it underdeveloped - maybe he wasnt confident enough to beef out the story?

I think it would have been far better if the Bosnian angle and the super rich business man story lines had been more to the fore and the 'one man wronged' angle had been pushed slightly back.

Kernicks writing style doesnt endear either, it's rather basic and uninvolving - having said that this is an easy read and It did pass the time on a couple of days bus journeys to work, hence the 2 stars.

I will not be digging out any more books by the author however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant suprise, 29 May 2007
This review is from: Relentless (Mass Market Paperback)
Being an avid true crime fan i've been somewhat sceptical of crime fiction, however this caught my attention unawares and was; what turned out to be a worthwhile compulsive buy.

Being of the thinking it would be one of those books that i'll never finish reading i began reading it on the bus and to my suprise i was disappointed when the journey ended as so did my reading.

I found myself snatching the odd minute here and there to progress through Tom Merons adrenaline pumping situations.

A thoroughly captivating style of crime writing by Simon Kernick, I can't wait to begin the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Relentless
Relentless by Simon Kernick (Mass Market Paperback - 21 May 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews