Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars142
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£15.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Terry Pratchett turns his attention to the lure of fame here and creates a novel that will have you smiling from the first all the way through. There are lots of references to well known classic films and to Hollywood tradition to keep your attention and two excellent heroes in Victor and Ginger who are the first stars of the silver screen - just invented by the alchemists. Also featuring Cut-me-own-throat Dibbler as a tycoon and with lots of interference by the wizards. The story charges along with hardly a quiet moment but also manages to get in some sly digs about fame and celebrity.

Where the book absolutely excels for me is in the creation of one of my favourite Discworld characters - Gaspode the dog. I adore him and his sly witticisms as well as the problems he has being understood when he can actually talk compared with Laddie the dog who has no brain at all. I know that this is probably subtle social commentary but it also made me laugh out loud.

This book is clever and witty with some incisive comments about how we regard fame. It is also tender and thoughtful in places about relationships. This is an intoxicating mix - this is an excellent, original and funny book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
This book is one my husband has read before but didnt have his original hard copy so bought it for my Kindle apparently it is just as good as he remembered it to be and and was delighted tobe reaquainted with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
I have read most of Terry Pratchets books and love them all. This one compares favourably with the rest. It is different, as they all are, but utilises some familiar characters. All Pratchet fans will love this, new readers to the genre will get a great experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
I would say that Terry Pritchett has as sense of fun mixed with a urge to tell stories with his own spin on them. Moving pictures is yet another brilliant book by a great author. Though I would say Terry is like marinate you either love his work or do not get it at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2006
Moving Pictures is an extremely hilarious book.In Moving Pictures the alchemists guild have invented films and now the oddest civil war film ever made is being shot in Holy Wood.However all is not well and Victor and Ginger,the stars of the film,have to save the Disc from the dungeon dimensions with a bit of help from Gaspode the wonder dog.If you like reading sci-fi and fantasy or if you simply enjoy watching films then read Moving Pictures.If you enjoy this book then try the rest of Terry Prattchett's Discworld series.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 1999
Terry Pratchett with his own brand of humour never ceases to make me laugh when reading his books, and Moving Pictures, a masterpiece in it's own right. He always rights books with things in that we can relate to, i.e. Holy wood - Hollywood, moving pictures, films and videos. New characters are always a welcome addition, as well as old ones, like CMOT Dibbler. One of the best authors this decade!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 January 2003
With Moving Pictures, Terry Pratchett turns his unique powers of satire and parody to poke fun at the power and history of the movie industry. This book is so full of brilliant in-jokes and sly nods that I'm sure I didn't notice half of them. But as usual, the story is sufficiently gripping and thought provoking that it can be enjoyed even if you don't get all the jokes. Of Pratchett's regular characters, the real star this time is Dibbler, who turns all of his sausage-vending mercenary powers into those of a profit-hungry movie producer with hilarious results. A pre-Watch Detritus the Troll and various Wizards also play cameos. Well worth a read for fans of Pratchett and/or the cinema.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2006
IF you dont like this book, then theres something wrong with you. This novel is one of my favourite Pratchett's so far. how does he dream this up? The man's a genius. Couldnt put it down. Classic Pratchett at his best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
There are those who live for movies, and there are those who loathe them. Whatever your opinion, you'll find support and laughs in this book. Not Terry's greatest, but still a good, engrossing read. A little less laugh-out-loud than some of his other books, you are introduced to Gaspode the Wonder Dog, an unsung hero and unfaithful (and somewhat smelly) companion to the Watch in later stories, and for me, it was worth it just for that.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 2 December 2012
When the boundaries between reality and make-believe become blurred, what do you end up with - Holy Wood of course! In this, the tenth novel of the Discworld series, Victor, a somewhat reluctant wizard student, becomes involved in the `clicks' - the Discworld's answer to moving pictures. But if you can make acting look like reality, does that mean reality becomes something else? Possibly; and only Victor and Gaspode the Wonder Dog, helped by Laddie (good boy, Laddie!) can stop the other dimension from coming through.

This is another great Discworld novel, make even more memorable with a major part being played by Cut-Me-Own-Throat Dibbler, one of my favourite recurring Ankh-Morpork characters; the Patrician makes a cameo appearance, and the Wizards of the Unseen University tackle their problems in their own unique way as well. A wonderful read, and highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse