Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures review.
Moving Pictures is an extremely hilarious book.In Moving Pictures the alchemists guild have invented films and now the oddest civil war film ever made is being shot in Holy Wood.However all is not well and Victor and Ginger,the stars of the film,have to save the Disc from the dungeon dimensions with a bit of help from Gaspode the wonder dog.If you like reading sci-fi and...
Published on 19 Feb 2006

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the book but TR doesn't nail this one
As I'm sure most people would agree story tapes are perfect to fall asleep to, you can enjoy a book without having a light on and they're soothing as hell. But Tony Robinson talks in such a range of volumes that its pretty impossible to fall asleep, if i put it at a reasonable volume, half the time he talks in the quietest whisper and the other half in a REALLY loud...
Published 12 months ago by D WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving Pictures review., 19 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Moving Pictures is an extremely hilarious book.In Moving Pictures the alchemists guild have invented films and now the oddest civil war film ever made is being shot in Holy Wood.However all is not well and Victor and Ginger,the stars of the film,have to save the Disc from the dungeon dimensions with a bit of help from Gaspode the wonder dog.If you like reading sci-fi and fantasy or if you simply enjoy watching films then read Moving Pictures.If you enjoy this book then try the rest of Terry Prattchett's Discworld series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Entertainment!, 29 Jan 2006
IF you dont like this book, then theres something wrong with you. This novel is one of my favourite Pratchett's so far. how does he dream this up? The man's a genius. Couldnt put it down. Classic Pratchett at his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!, 5 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Terry Pratchett with his own brand of humour never ceases to make me laugh when reading his books, and Moving Pictures, a masterpiece in it's own right. He always rights books with things in that we can relate to, i.e. Holy wood - Hollywood, moving pictures, films and videos. New characters are always a welcome addition, as well as old ones, like CMOT Dibbler. One of the best authors this decade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Are Such Stuff As Dreams Are Made Of,, 8 Feb 2005
By 
Leonard Fleisig "Len" (Virginia Beach, Virginia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
. . . and our little life is rounded with a sleep." This snippet of Prospero's from Shakespeare's The Tempest, was beautifully ad libbed by Humphrey Bogart during the filming of The Maltese Falcon. It pretty much sums up the experience I took out of reading Terry Pratchett's Moving Pictures. Life in Holy Wood, like life on Prospero's island is one where magical events occur encouraged by a host of spirits. Since these magical events unfold in that piece of the universe known as Discworld, they unfold with wit, humor, and more than a bit of thought.
As the title suggests, Moving Pictures is Pratchett's take on Hollywood. In a manner similar to his approach to Men at Arms, The Truth, and Going Postal, Pratchett takes the development of the motion picture industry and through the literary equivalent of time-lapse photography compresses it so that the reader experiences in a brief time span that which occurred over decades on our slower-moving planet. The result is hilariously funny and made me shake my head and murmur, how did we let this nonsense happen.
CAST OF CHARACTERS: As a click trailer might say: Introducing Victor and Ginger (think Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers) as the leading man and lady of this epic. Also new to Discworld is Thomas Silverfish (think Samuel Goldwyn of MGM fame), the first big producer on Discworld. As in Casablanca, Pratchett has also rounded up the usual suspects. Cut Me Own Throat Dibbler (can't think of a character on earth that remotely resembles Dibbler!) and Gaspode (think Oscar Levant as played by a stray dog) are featured prominently and hilariously. This is a big step up for these two contract players in the Discworld series! Rounding out the featured players is that zany group of performers known as the wizards, led by their fearless librarian (think the Keystone Kops meets Planet of the Apes). And, as they say, a cast of thousands, including assorted trolls, an overly obsequious dog known as Laddie (think Lassie) and other delightful diverse denizens of Discworld.
THE PLOT: The plot is simple. It is about the power of dreams in a world, as Dibbler might say, "gone mad". Dreams, particularly the dreams of Ginger, play a critical role in the book. A group of alchemists have invented movies or clicks as they come to be known on Discworld. Fearing that such magic might anger the wizards of Unseen University the alchemists move out of Ankh-Morpork to a strange and wondrous place called Holy Wood. In what seems like only days, clicks become the next big thing. People from around Discworld come to Holy Wood for no apparent reason other than a strange compulsion. Perhaps mysterious forces are at work? The excitement level gradually builds, the outlines of an evil, dark plot by the spirit world reveals itself as in a dream, until all heck breaks loose. Victor strives valiantly to save the universe with the wizards following close behind in a manner reminiscent of the Keystone Kops. The climactic fight scene is both dramatic and hilariously funny. Of course, the fun in any Pratchett novel is not the ending but the journey. Hollywood references abound. It is always fun trying to spot some, even those which Pratchett may never have intended. Dibbler's hilarious product placements and his `invention' of subliminal advertising were worth the price of admission.
Some have suggested that Moving Pictures is not as `good' as his other Discworld books. There is an inference, perhaps, that it does not address profound issues relating to life, the universe and everything as was the case in Mort, Small Gods, or Thief of Time. For me, however, the profusion of cultural gods (from Valentino to Pacino) created by Hollywood and its enormous impact on popular culture throughout the world seems just as worthy of the typical Pratchett treatment as small gods in the form of a turtle. I also have to add that it was a pleasure seeing both Gaspode and Dibbler in more prominent roles.
All in all, as I finished Discworld I kept coming back to Bogart looking wistfully at the worthless Maltese Falcon that so many people had died in pursuit of their dreams. Perhaps for his next click, Dibbler can have Victor close by reminding the audience that, like Prospero:
Our revels now are ended: these our actors
As I foretold you, were all spirits, and
Are melted into air, into thin air:
And, like the baseless fabric of this vision
The cloud-capp'd towers, the gorgeous palaces,
The solemn temples, the great globe itself,
Yes, and all which it inherit, shall dissolve,
And, like this insubstantial pageant faded,
Leave not a wrack behind: We are such stuff
As dreams are made of, and our little life
Is rounded with a sleep.
Th-th-th-that's all folks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chock-full of movie jokes, 14 Jan 2003
By 
Mr Gary E Whorwood (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
With Moving Pictures, Terry Pratchett turns his unique powers of satire and parody to poke fun at the power and history of the movie industry. This book is so full of brilliant in-jokes and sly nods that I'm sure I didn't notice half of them. But as usual, the story is sufficiently gripping and thought provoking that it can be enjoyed even if you don't get all the jokes. Of Pratchett's regular characters, the real star this time is Dibbler, who turns all of his sausage-vending mercenary powers into those of a profit-hungry movie producer with hilarious results. A pre-Watch Detritus the Troll and various Wizards also play cameos. Well worth a read for fans of Pratchett and/or the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love the book but TR doesn't nail this one, 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) (Audio CD)
As I'm sure most people would agree story tapes are perfect to fall asleep to, you can enjoy a book without having a light on and they're soothing as hell. But Tony Robinson talks in such a range of volumes that its pretty impossible to fall asleep, if i put it at a reasonable volume, half the time he talks in the quietest whisper and the other half in a REALLY loud shouting voice for some of the characters.

His impression of Ruby and the talking animals is so crass, loud and frankly irritating beyond belief (I'm a massive TR fan as well he nails it in Reaper Man) also I dont like the American accent for silver fish but he's friends with TP so maybe thats how TP wanted it read.

He also gets a lot of the connotations wrong in the way people are saying things. E.g. last night Ginger says coldly "They fall in love" when explaining what it means for 2 characters to have "chemistry", she says it coldly because she obviously thinks Victor's stupid for not understanding. I imagine this beautiful girl squinting her eyes and saying it coldly (as it says she does in the book) but TR slows down as he says it and says it very gently as if to give real meaning to the fact that they have fallen in love which is completely the wrong context.

I noticed he gets quite a few things wrong which I was surprised by as I'm such a big fan but I felt like he needed to read the book through properly before he started reading for this audio book.

All in all its not for me, I feel a bit let down and find some of the voices too crass in order to finish listening to it and would rather just read the book again but this is only my opinion and I'm sure some people would find absolutely nothing wrong with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always fromTerry Pratchet an amusing book. It display once again his inteligent use of the English language, with subtle references to other works. However not his best work. Sometimes the references were a bit too obvious and heavy handed. Well worth a read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Side of Holywood..., 25 Feb 2010
By 
Sparky (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
There are those who live for movies, and there are those who loathe them. Whatever your opinion, you'll find support and laughs in this book. Not Terry's greatest, but still a good, engrossing read. A little less laugh-out-loud than some of his other books, you are introduced to Gaspode the Wonder Dog, an unsung hero and unfaithful (and somewhat smelly) companion to the Watch in later stories, and for me, it was worth it just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smile Please and Again and Again and Again . . ., 1 Feb 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Terry Pratchett has become one of the most popular authors alive today and his popularity is richly deserved. But not even with his fertile mind could ever have envisaged the heights to which his Discworld series would rise. This book was first published in 1990 and is number ten in the Discworld novels.

You would think that a fantasy world full of trolls, zombies, witches, vampires would be an alien concept to most readers. Werewolves and dwarves in the Ank Morpork city watch. Wizards running a university. All this born in the mind of one of the funniest minds writing today. Surely this style of writing would have a limited readership? But no the books are loved by anybody and everybody and are read by people who would not normally allow fantasy fiction anywhere near their book shelves. This is the Discworld of Terry Pratchett.

It's the turn of the alchemists to make you chortle through the pages of yet another winner from Terry Pratchett. Is it Hollywood, no, is it Bollywood, no, but it's the next best thing. Moving pictures are about to hit the silver screen on the Discworld. What this means in real terms is that the imps that used to paint really fast in the still cameras, now have to paint really really really fast. All of a sudden there is a whole new life form on the Discworld. Not vampires, werewolves, or even trolls, it is the birth of the filmstar and oh what a messy birth it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Pratchett's best, but still entertaining, 22 Aug 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Guild of Alchemists have created a new form of entertainment - moving pictures! Soon Ankh-Morpork is gripped by this latest craze and everyone's trying to break into the business as more and more 'clicks' are made out at Holy Wood. The speed with which the phenomenon spreads is quite strange and soon reluctant actors Victor Tugelbend ("Can't sing, can't dance, can handle a sword a little,") and Theda Withel (aka 'Ginger') are caught up in epic events set against the backdrop of a world gone mad! With a thousand elephants! Once the order arrives, of course...

Moving Pictures is a bit of a 'fallback' Discworld novel. That is, whilst still entertaining, funny and enjoyable, there's also the feeling that Pratchett simply came up with a cool idea and let it meander around for a bit aimlessly rather than being really fired-up and inspired by the concept. His taking of a real-life phenomenon and turning it into a Discworld novel is a pretty consistent way generating stories throughout the series (he also does Discworld takes on the theatre, the post office, rock music, organised banking, Christmas, war and newspapers in future books, with football and taxation still to come), but it does feel like he hasn't put much more effort into the book than what he did with, say, police procedurals in Guards! Guards!

Of course, Pratchett on an off day is still considerably more entertaining than a lot of fantasy authors at their best, so Moving Pictures is still a decent novel. Pratchett is clearly a big movie fan and it's fun trying to find all the references to various films in this book, from Gone with the Wind and Charlie Chaplin through Laurel and Hardy to The Blues Brothers and Back to the Future, not to mention a particularly hilarious inversion of King Kong. There's also some nice prescience on Pratchett's part: the book is now twenty years old and his comments on product placement and the culture of celebrity seem more relevant today than ever before. Characterisation is also pretty good, and the regular cast continues to grow with the arrival of Cut-Me-Own-Throat Dibbler, Gaspode the Wonder Dog (don't ask) and most of the regular cast of Unseen University, led by the formidable Archchancellor Mustrum Ridcully (finally ending the tendency of UU archchancellors in the series to have the lifespan of a colony of terminally depressed lemmings living near the Grand Canyon).

The book has a rather unusual problem for Pratchett, which is pacing. Pratchett usually handles pacing pretty well in his books, with a slow introduction to the story followed by rising action and a (usually) well-handled climax. Moving Pictures isn't quite like that, and stutters a few times with a start-stop feel to the action. In fact, it appears that the main problem has been solved two-thirds of the way through the book, followed by the 'real' grand climax in Ankh-Morpork which also turns out to be a fake-out before we get the final, somewhat anti-climatic, ending in Holy Wood. It's a bit all over the place, to be honest. In fact, it feels like on of those really big Hollywood action blockbusters which goes on for about half an hour too long after the movie should really have ended, which I suppose is quite appropriate.

That said, whilst Moving Pictures is not one of the stronger Discworld novels, it's still better than the earlier, less-well-written books and many of the individual characters and episodes in the book are funny and intelligently-handled, as always.

Moving Pictures (***) is available now in the UK and USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb268439c)

This product

Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels)
Moving Pictures: (Discworld Novel 10) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Audio CD - 4 July 2005)
14.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews