Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dickens would approve!
Eskarina Smith is the eighth child of an eighth son. If the child had been a son, it's nearly inevitable that a wizard would have been the result. Nearly everything was prepared. A wizard came to witness the birth. He passed his staff on to the newborn child, immediately taken by DEATH, as is fitting. But, as with everything else on the Discworld, there's a hitch...
Published on 26 July 2005 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pratchett starts to develop more interesting ideas
The Unseen University, the centre of magical learning on the Discworld, a building whose endless rooftops make Gormenghast look like a toolshed on a railway allotment and whose faculty are the guardians of magic for the whole world. Of course, wizards are renowned for being incredibly intelligent but not very smart, and when Drum Billet realises his time is almost up he...
Published on 15 July 2009 by A. Whitehead


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every Witch Way But Loose, 15 April 2006
This review is from: Equal Rites: (Discworld Novel 3) (Discworld Novels) (Paperback)
Terry Pratchett's first novel, "The Carpet People", appeared in 1971. "Equal Rites" is the third novel in Terry Pratchett's hugely popular Discworld series and was first published in 1987. He won the 2001 Carnegie Medal for "The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents" and was awarded the OBE in 1998.

The book starts with an ending - Drum Billets', specifically. Drum was a wizard and, as a result, knows exactly when he is going to die. (It's one of the perks of the job : wizards are also delivered into the next life by Death himself, rather than one of his more minor demons). Shortly before he is due to die, Drum visits Bad Ass to 'pass on' his wizarding skill to the eighth son of an eighth son - the wife of the local smith has just given birth when he arrives. (Bad Ass, for the record, is a village on the Ramtop Mountains in the small kingdom of Lancre). Unfortunately, he fails to check the gender of the new arrival and has exited-stage-left before finding out he has, in fact, just passed on his skills and his near indestructible staff to the first daughter of an eighth son instead.

The midwife, Granny Weatherwax, is also the village's resident witch - a fine and noble profession on the Discworld. (Unlike wizards, witches don't have leaders, and Granny Weatherwax is widely considered to be the greatest leader the Discworld's witches don't have). She also believes that there can't be a female wizard any more than there could be a male witch - partly due, she says, to the differences between how male and female brains work. Witches' magic is based on headology, while wizards' magic is based on jommetry. (That sort of spelling doesn't appear to be Granny's strong point). Furthermore, if Esk (as the smith has named his daughter) wanted to become a wizard, she'd have to study at Ankh-Morpork's Unseen University - which, like a very old-fashioned golf club, has never admitted a female. Hoping the wizard's magic won't find Esk, but realising it might, Granny Weatherwax decides to watch over her and possibly train her as a witch instead.

This is the first of the Discworld series to feature Granny Weatherwax. As a result, it's a pretty good starting point if you've never read any of the other Discworld books and want to see what you're missing. Pratchett's books are always very funny, and this one gets funnier as it goes along. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, as expected! :), 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't finished the book yet, but from what I have read, it is as a great read as many others I have read and just as compelling :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for my Dad who loves Terry Pratchett and really wanted these for his collection. Beautiful covers and a fantastic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here comes Granny!, 15 Jan 2009
By 
Synopsis from Amazon:

The last thing the wizard Drum Billet did, before Death laid a bony hand on his shoulder, was to pass on his staff of power to the eighth son of an eighth son. Unfortunately for his colleagues in the chauvinistic (not to say misogynistic) world of magic, he failed to check on the new-born baby's sex...This is a third hilarious adventure by the author of "The Colour of Magic" and "The Light Fantastic."

Well, this is the third book in the Discworld series, and like the two before, it was funny, engaging, exciting and a wonderful read. I was not disappointed at all. I found the beginning of the book a bit slow but as soon as it picked up it was full of life and adventure.

I love Pratchett's style of writing. He has a gift. His descriptions were flawless - I could picture the scenes unfolding with no problems. He writes in a way that transports you into the Discworld and you feel like you are really there in the midst of the action.

My favourite character was Granny. What a funny lady! Almost everything she did was hilarious and I have to say, I wish my Gran was a bit more like that!

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This is turning into a wonderful series and I'm loving it!

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite an enjoyable easy to follow plot, not as gripping as the first two books but still an all rounder for young readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld!, 9 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book. As with all Discworld books, there aren't any bad ones, just themes you'll enjoy more than others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic, not sure how I got to my 50's ..., 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just fantastic, not sure how I got to my 50's before discovering DIscworld!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it. Granny Weatherwax is so funny, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love it. Granny Weatherwax is so funny. Can't help but laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best discworld novel, a good read nontheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift!, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for Christmas and arrived in great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Equal Rites: (Discworld Novel 3) (Discworld Novels)
Equal Rites: (Discworld Novel 3) (Discworld Novels) by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 1 Sep 2004)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews