Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dambuster Spirit
This is a rattling good read, as history and as a Boys' Own adventure story. Rowland White manages to draw together the big picture of the Falklands War and the personal experiences of the crews into a coherent, compelling whole. You will not regret time spent with this book.

Hitting back after the Falklands invasion by the Argentinians in 1982 was always going...
Published on 4 Aug 2006 by M. Brunton

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent
Logistically, it would have been easier to build a hotel on Jupiter. Politically, failure of this mission would be suicidal. Tactically, it could have been left to the Sea Harriers stationed 200 miles away on HMS Invincible to destroy Stanleys Airstrip. Frankly, this mission sounded as daft as the Dambusters raids nearly 40 years previous, but just like those -...
Published on 24 Dec 2007 by R. Elsdon


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Compelling story opposed to compelling events, 19 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. S. Jones "steve26092" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Hardcover)
The author makes a good fist of turning what was, effectively, a single long-range flight with an abnormal number of air to air refuels into a real boys own adventure.

As other reviewers state it does make for a decent read but is verbose and soft-focused especially when contrasted with the punchy, impactful, style of Nigel Ward's Sea Harrier book. Certainly someone expecting a similar work to 'Sea Harrier Over the Falklands' might be left a little disappointed with Vulcan 607.

Essentially if you know nothing about the slight impact the Vulcan raids actually had on the South Atlantic conflict and love the Vulcan, or magnificent aircraft in general, then buy this book.

If you are serving or ex-Royal Navy (or even a Pongo) buy this book and have a slight smirk at the thinly veiled attempt to edit history to give the RAF more than a coat-holding role in the Falklands War!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 3 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Paperback)
Fantastic, well done our milatary boys for making this work, a lot of detail about the lojstics kept me gripped. well written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly good read, 13 Jun 2010
By 
AJ Allen "Ant" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Paperback)
Thoroughly good read describing an amazing adventure and an extraordinary achievement with the somewhat outdated technology of the day. If you like millitary history, aviation or engineering then this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vulcan 607, 27 April 2010
By 
S. Pry "Vive" (South East England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Paperback)
A really excellent read. A story on a par with Apollo 13! Makes you proud to read what they overcame and the risks they took.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vulcan 607, 3 Nov 2009
By 
Raymond A. Bunce (Hampshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Hardcover)
I could not put this book down until I had read it. If you are interested in reading about the facts of war particularly the Falklands you should read a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Paperback)
Bought this for my husband. He absolutely loved it. Lots of information etc. I would say more but I didn't read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vulcan 607, 26 Aug 2013
By 
Soton1990 (Southampton, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Paperback)
I would highly recommend Vulcan 607 for anyone who has an interest in the Falklands War and the role of the Vulcans. It is well researched and written and I simply could not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vulcan in the Falklands, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Kindle Edition)
To be honest I was only 12 when the Falklands happened but I can't really remember any mention of it. I recently saw the Vulcan fly at Manston air show 2013 and it was impressive. I was thus prompted to read this book and have not been disappointed. Although a bit techy in places the author conveys the difficulty of the mission and the exhilaration of success very well. All in all a good read and I`m left in awe of the crew of those bombers in 1982.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RAF take a bow (again!), 21 May 2013
By 
M JERVIS (portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Paperback)
After reading Paul Brickhill's superb Dambuster history (see my review), I was telling a chap at work and he put me onto this enthralling update to 617 Squadrons illustrious history. A true account of courage, Engineering feats of genius, and sheer bloody mindedness! The accounts of the pilots is fascinating as are the accounts from the Falkland Islanders themselves. If you took out the date references it could have been about a Lancaster bomb crew. Well written, and as has previously been said it reads like a cracking thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You know the outcome but its still edge of the seat stuff !, 15 May 2013
This review is from: Vulcan 607 (Kindle Edition)
A facinating incite into the history of the Falklands conflict .
A truly remarkable account of the abilities of the R A F and thier planes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 16 17 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vulcan 607
Vulcan 607 by Rowland White (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews