Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An highly entertaining biography
As a great-granddaughter of Mary Lever Tillotson, sister to William Hesketh Lever, aka "The King of Sunlight", I was delighted to be given this book as a "special birthday" present earlier this month. Before opening the cover, I had no idea how highly entertaining and fascinating it would be. Leaving aside the family connection, Adam Macqueen's descriptions of a clever,...
Published on 28 Jun 2004

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Lightweight Biography.
The King of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up the World

This is by no means an academic biography, and is an easy, somewhat lightweight read. Whether you enjoy it or not depends on what you want to get out of it.

The author is obviously fond of his subject, but was unable to make me feel strongly about him. It is a potentially interesting...
Published on 11 Mar 2009 by Clare Topping


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An highly entertaining biography, 28 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: King of Sunlight, The (Hardcover)
As a great-granddaughter of Mary Lever Tillotson, sister to William Hesketh Lever, aka "The King of Sunlight", I was delighted to be given this book as a "special birthday" present earlier this month. Before opening the cover, I had no idea how highly entertaining and fascinating it would be. Leaving aside the family connection, Adam Macqueen's descriptions of a clever, down-to-earth and visionary entrepreneur had me in fits of laughter, although in contrast, a chapter relating what is thought to have happened to William's younger brother, James, was sensitively handled and in many ways a contrast to much of the rest of the book. Some of William Lever's late 19th and early 20th Century ideas of the "duties" of an employer would be regarded as nothing less than expected in the 21st Century, and this book gives a witty and perceptive insight into his life and times. In my childhood, I felt that over the years, my family had been blessed with somewhat more than its fair share of what some might label "eccentrics". Thanks to Adam Macqueen's book, I feel others now have an insight into one of these, and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys being entertained whilst reading a biography - and challenge anyone who thinks biographies are boring old tomes to say this of "The King of Sunlight" once they have read it. I found it a hard book to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After sharp showers, the sun shines brightest, 16 Nov 2008
By 
I. Curry "IDC" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
The premise of this book is the story of a soap company that would eventually become Unilever and its founder and directing mind, William Lever. It doesn't sound promising, but, like many obscure corners of history that have been illuminated by fascinating, lucid and readable biographies and histories, this is the window to a wide and startling vista.

I came to read the book after hearing excerpts of it on BBC Radio 4's `A Good Read'. It sounded interesting in the round, but what really made me pay attention was the detail on Rivington. Rivington is a village in the moorland above Chorley and Bolton. It has medieval tithe barns, a quaint village centre, strange follies and the most amazing terraced gardens, ornamental lake and Roman ruins.

As a child I was taken there for Sunday walks, climbing the stone steps to a strange grotto that, in my mind, was permanently winter. The waterfall would be petrified, frozen solid in mid-tumble, and the landscape glistening as a pallid sunlight reflected from a thick and universal spread of frost.

In short it seemed a magical and strange place. So I was much obliged to the author of this book for providing some illumination as to how Japanese gardens and intricate terraces had been transplanted to this windswept and remote corner of Lancashire.

And once I had started reading the book it was clear that not only would my interest in a local beauty spot be satiatied, but that this was a wide-ranging and interesting book which, although having William Lever and his soap business as the central focus of attention, also covered the British Empire, the Liberal Party, old age pensions, garden cities and much more.

William Lever is presented sympathetically - it is obvious that Mr MacQueen is struck by the common affliction of biographers in his growing affection for his subject. But this is backed by the legacy of the man, which, whilst not completely apart from the times, was markedly different to the Victorian factory owners in this dark corner of Britain.

Mr MacQueen makes it clear that this book should not be read as a comprehensive biography of the man. William Lever's life is detailed, but is also used as a launch pad to some fascinating discourses on everything from the brutal history of Belgian Congo to the more obscure Parliamentary rules.

This book was a joy to read, and should whet the appetite to at least visit Port Sunlight, Rivington and the Isle of Harris and Lewis. So far I've got two out of the three, and the very brief but alluring introduction of the Western Isles has meant that I will try and head to the furthest reaches of Scotland sometime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography., 30 Dec 2009
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
The book takes you through the life of William Lever starting from his middle class background in Bolton. He soons becomes a larger-than-life character, starting life as a salesman. He becomes sympathetic to the lot of the working class and, after developing Port Sunlight, he goes on to address socialist interests in Parliament and beyond. His international and Scottish influences are fascinating.

A good read for aspiring entrepreneurs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Lightweight Biography., 11 Mar 2009
By 
Clare Topping (Northamptonshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
The King of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up the World

This is by no means an academic biography, and is an easy, somewhat lightweight read. Whether you enjoy it or not depends on what you want to get out of it.

The author is obviously fond of his subject, but was unable to make me feel strongly about him. It is a potentially interesting subject, but I was left with no strong desire to learn more about Port Sunlight or William Lever. I found this book a little too insubstantial and shallow for my liking, which was a bitter disappointment as I had really wanted to like it, having heard it recommended on Radio 4.

It reads more like a novel than a "serious biography". The writing style is very relaxed, and informal, more like a conversation than a work of non-fiction, but still does not really leave you very enlightened about the man behind Port Sunlight.

If you are just after something different to read about a different subject, then this is possibly the book for you. If you want something to get your teeth into that will leave you wanting to learn more about the history of Port Sunlight or the motivations of the man behind it, or even about the end of the Victorian era, then I suggest you carry on searching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rivington area., 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book. It went into detail of his life and also vivid descriptions of the places where he lived. I am very familiar with the Rivington area and have vivid memories of the bungalow and also Rockhaven castle as we played there when we were children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the king of sunlight, 3 Jan 2014
the book is thoroughly well written as fiction, but i must say that, as my own ancestors, the thomas family, created sunlight soap in bristol and later sold to the levre bros, i am glad the book was not published as factual.
i have researched the soap industry in depth and very much enjoyed the read. indeed, i myself, mentioned the soap industry in the first volume of my own book, my mother warned me about me and describe the beginnings of the soap factory in bristol.
thank you for furthering my knowledge.
kind regards
P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting story to background Unilever founder, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
I would recommend this as a great read to learn of the vision and determination of the founder of Lever Brothers which became Unilever, a multinational corporation with enormous global reach. All started by two men, sons of a man with a drapery shop. Amazing how William Lever lived, sleeping outdoors at all times, adventuring far into Africa to find original ingredients to make good soap, and how he shared the corporate wealth with the employees raising their standard of living. Winning tips for how to successfully lead a truly great business. Well written by Adam MacQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Left wanting more, 29 April 2013
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
Fully agree with Claire Topping's review. It's an easy, lightweight read and a good introduction to the man but a superficial biography. Too much scene setting narrative and not enough in the way of well researched, detailed facts about Lever himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Port Sunlight, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
The book was in excellent condition and the subject matter was very entertaining. Having spent the last year studying for my Blue Badge for the Merseyside region with a lot of time spent in Port Sunlight and Thornton Hough this book was a must for background information on William Hesketh Lever and it only cost one penny? Beat that for value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for friend, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World (Paperback)
Having visited the Portsunlight estate on the Wirral, this was an ideal gift for a friend who has also been to the Victorian housing complex. The book is an excellent read as I have read it myself before hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World
The King Of Sunlight: How William Lever Cleaned Up The World by Adam Macqueen (Paperback - 2 May 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews