Customer Reviews


35 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive easy reading fantasy full of well written characters., 29 Jan. 2015
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Legend of DeathWalker is the seventh book in David Gemmell's Dreanai series and although many are individual stories or mini series within the same world I would recommend reading them all in the correct order to get the most out of them.

1- Legend
2- The King Beyond The Gate
3- Waylander
4- Quest For Lost Heroes
5- Waylander II: In The Realm of the Wolf
6- The First Chronicles Of Druss The Legend

This is actually the third book about Druss filling in the middle part of his life having seen the dramatic ending and hero building beginning. It's good, addictive with excellent characters, but a surprising amount of the book isn't even about Druss and focuses on Talisman, a Nadir looking for two gems to help bring about the prophecy of the Uniter, something I have read about in a few Drenai novels now so it's lost some of it's charm as a plot device for me.

There is still plenty of action, last stands, great set pieces, and humor especially with his best friend, the womanizing poet Sieben. It's classic Gemmell then writting heroic fantasy like no other author i've read.

Recommended.

+ Druss.
+ Action scenes are exciting.
+ Hard to put down.
+ Some nice new characters.

- The Uniter plot device is a bit old hat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fills in the blanks, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
Kev Partner "Writer, geek, dad." (Alton, Hamshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Paperback)
Having gone forwards and backwards in time relative to the events in Legend over previous Drenai novels, Gemmell is here filling in, effectively, the back story to that novel. We discover Druss's ironic role in the creation of Ulric, lord of the Nadir, who Druss goes on to oppose in Legend.
The story's good although perhaps just lacking the urgency of some of his other novels and much though I like Druss, he's perhaps not quite such an interesting character as the more multi-faceted Waylander or Skilgannon.
Overall, another cracker from Gemmell, sure to delight those who've read the previous Drenai novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell at his finest, 9 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Paperback)
Ever since reading David Gemmell's 'Troy' series of books I have been hooked on Gemmell as an author. I have since begun to read all of his books and the Drenai books are simply wonderful reads.

I was originally unsure about whether to read the Drenai books as I've never been a huge fan of heroic fantasy - however given just how much I enjoyed the Troy books and the wonderful writing style of David Genmmell I decided to try them. I am so pleased that I did and I have now read nearly all of Gemmell's books and urge anyone considering the books to do it, you will not be disappointed.

All of the books are great and can be read as stand alone books or in order. The characters are wonderfully bought to life, there's love, romance, humour, twists & turns, betrayal, revenge, heroes, villains, sorcery, savagery, battles, noble deeds and you will simply fall into the world the Gemmell creates for you. These books deserve to be read and its a an absolute tragedy that Gemmell is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic novel from the master of heroic fantasy, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This could be the third time I have brought this book. As with all David Gemmell stories this is an epic tale of violence, sorcery and over coming impossible odds that will have far reaching consequences. Elegantly told, inspiring characters, engaging battle scenes... You know when you've been Gemmelled!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hail Druss! Hail Druss! Hail Druss!, 8 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
You'll never find a more complete hero in mythical fantasy than Druss the Legend! The great thing about this character is that while everyone can recognise elements of his- or herself in the axe-wielding myrmidon, he is none-the-less a god-like entity on a par with the classic greats like Heracles, Jason and Aragorn. Reading of Druss's exploits makes us all believe that we too can achieve miracles in this testing world of ours. David Gemmell is undoubtedly one of the great living writers of heroic fantasy. This work is a must-read for anyone who enjoyed Legend, and successfully further develops the Druss character. YOU WILL NOT REGRET READING THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 8 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful story of heroic fantasy from a greatly missed master of the genre. Fast moving and emotionally charged, you just won't be able to put this down till you've finished ghosts page. Edge of the seat storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As ever., 30 May 2014
By 
smogloyna (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As ever, David Gemmel adds to the Canon of Druss of the Axe. This kindle edition replaces a very worn paperback, that has travelled to many destinations and been dropped into many baths. It is still as fresh as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a good read, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If ever there was a rival to LOTR this book sums it up but better. It's more in depth of character for the heroes who portray in the entire series and just love reading this over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gemmell has done Better, 1 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend Of Deathwalker (Paperback)
I found The Legend of death-walker entertaining. It contained the same great battle scenes, the great depth of characters and showed the interesting devolopments that they made through the book. But it had a slightly predictable story line and there seemed no sense of dire despiration that is found in titles such as Winter Warriers and Waylander. Dont get me wrong I really enjoyed the book bot it did not have the adictive quality of some of Gemmells other titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great hero epic, 12 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding tale from one of the masters of sword and sorcery award-winning.
If you like Robert Jordan's wheel of time and Conan the barbarian you'll like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend Of Deathwalker
The Legend Of Deathwalker by David Gemmell (Paperback - 1 April 2003)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews