Customer Reviews


649 Reviews
5 star:
 (312)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (45)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons
Everywhere there is suspicion of conspiracy. What might be offputting to some readers is the extravagence of the violence towards inncent victims, but then again it is no different to in the other books. This particular story finds demons emerging out of religion and inhabiting a select group of scientists, the Illuminati, a group supposedly long disbanded, but appearing...
Published on 14 Jun 2012 by Isaac-E

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons - Dan Brown
I think the success of Angels and Demons as well as The Da Vinci Code relies on the amount of actual facts that Dan Brown collected, before putting a story together. However, having a religious background, I was able to amuse myself at some of the fact-twists, which didn't convince me in the least. The amazing thing is how the writer has managed to cause so much...
Published on 9 Feb 2006 by Chiquita


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Illuminating, 4 July 2004
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
I decided to read this book before I read the more famous The Da Vinci Code. The beginning and the middle of the story are action packed and very believable - some of the religious content makes you want to believe.
It has all the familiar trademarks of a traditional thriller, innocent hero, female interest and noteable baddie.
Where I feel it failed a little was at the end. Some of the action and supposed reality became fantasy although Dan Brown was playing on the premise of miracles actually happening.
The final twist was gut wrenching because I actually felt I had been through this adventure with the characters. The characters emotions were very believable although some of the action was far fetched.
I am about to read The Da Vinci Code and if it gives as much reading pleasure as Angels and Demons I will be very impressed.
If you want a good thriller that takes you away from the rigours of normal life and transports you back in time and straight back to the future at lightening speed then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, good writing everything else poor, 21 April 2004
By 
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
Reading the reviews, you may notice that most people either love or hateDan Brown. This is because he is so two-sided. On the one hand, he prideshimself on the depth of his research. One the other hand, some of it isterrible. On the one hand, his story concepts are original andinteresting; on the other the plots are cliched and cheesy.
Angels and Demons is the pre-cursor to the currently much celebrated "DaVinci Code", and after you have read one, you will enjoy the other, butyou won't gain anything. These are literally two identical books.Actually, all of Brown's books have the same premise (Erudite leadcharacter, a love interest, a seemingly all-powerful mysterious villainwith a strange but deadly henchman.)
Angels and Demons is a race against the clock around the Vatican City witha very engaging story centering on an encient enmity between the RC Churchand a secret society. All very good, the historical/geographical detail isexcellent.
The problems centre around the action - important in any thriller. Brownjust doesn't seem to care enough to research and construct it carefully.You are left with ridiculous action sequences that would look OTT in aJames Bond trailer. Sometimes, the structure and description of a sequenceis so bad, you have no idea what just happened - you just know thatsomehow someone was killed/saved/rescued.
Whilst the storytelling is strong, the book really does get let down onthese points. It's a shame really. I do recommend reading it though - withsome work, Brown may become the consistent popular fiction heavy hitter heaspires to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mindless read, 19 Jun 2006
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
THE SAME PLOT AS DA VINCI CODE!

Yes, eactly the same, Langdon, the girl, a dead relative of hers, clues and codes, a mystery big bad boss and his dumb sidekick (Hashashim in this - Albino in DVC) same usual tosh - but a good enough light read.

If youre into classics, dont even bother with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Predictable and Dull, 22 April 2006
By 
A. J. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
I found this book in the end rather disapointing. After an excellent start, building a sense of mystery and secrecy,I eagerly turned every page. About halfway through however it loses its way. The clues as to what is really going on telegraph the plot to everyone except the principal characters. This unfortuneately makes them look pretty dumb and spoils the book. By the end I was reading the last few pages just for the sake of it. i left the book in the hotel where i finished it.... Good riddance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A dry run for the Da Vinci Code, 15 Mar 2005
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
I read this book after having read the Da Vinci Code. Although it was written earler, before the hype surrounding Dan Brown's work had reached such hysterical proportions, Dan Brown's paranoia about the supposed dark deds of the Church is well developed. The action speeds along at a dizzy pace in an enjoyable, if wholly implausible, romp through Switzerland, Rome and the Vatican in a desperate race against time to recover stolen anti-matter which has been turned into a bomb. As in the Da Vinci Code, symbologist Robert Langdon is pitted against the assassin of a secret society (this time the Illuminati which, surprise surprise, was thought to have died out) as he solves a set of baffling clues to save the day and win the girl, without so much as a break for nature.
Again, full marks for pace and action but rather lower marks for accuracy and credibility. A more genuinely gripping thriller is, for example, The Surgeon by Tess Gerrittsen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blimey!!!, 1 Mar 2005
By 
Cookies (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
I'd heard of Dan Brown because of the Da Vinci Code, the book on everyone's coffee table. But I wondered if any of his other books will affirm his reputation as a 'literary genius'. I gotta say this book is consuming and over whelming. You mind is working at overload trying to figure out what will happen next! And although unexpected events occur they are totally believable. Brown's choice of words fills the mind with a wealth of imagery taking you into the streets of modern Rome. There are some paragraph/sentences throughout the book where Brown goes into overkill describing the character Vittoria Vetra. Brown keeps on describing her beauty in as many ways possible. I did start to think, ok ok. Look I know she's pretty get back to the story. But maybe that's because I just wanted to know what was going to happen next.
This book is great and incredible, its difficult to put down and make sure you find a comfy chair otherwise you'll get a sore bum because you won't want to move, you'll just want to keep reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heady mix of Science, History, Art and Religion turns pages!, 21 April 2004
By 
joc66 (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
I read this having read the Da Vinci Code. Of the two, I prefer this one,although I would say if you enjoyed one, you will almost certainly enjoythe other. Angels and Demons is mostly set in Rome, with the action alltaking place within a few short hours. It is primarily a page-turningthriller with scientific, historical, artistic and religious overtones. Iparticularly enjoyed finding out a bit more about the inner workings ofthe Vatican City. However, it does deal with big ideas that make youthink, such as whether science and religion inevitably clash or canpeacefully co-exist. You will find yourself unable to stop trying toguess who might be behind the "illuminati", and I'm sure that is part ofthe fun. In the best tradition of a pacey thriller though there is alwaysone more twist than you expect.
I really enjoyed this book, and itwould be a great page-turning read for a trip to Rome - or staying athome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Angels and Demons, 25 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
Angels and Demons is a truly awful book and Dan Brown is a truly awful writer. The characters are all paper thin and the plot is dull, tiresome and ridiculous. I lost count at how many times i had to stop myself from laughing at the dialogue and absurd fictional creations of the author (a plane that travels at 15,000 MPH in the first chapter alone).
If you enjoy made for TV movies and the action films of Steven Segal then no doubt you will enjoy this book, however, if you are looking for something intelligent and well written DO NOT buy it. The only consolation for me is that it was bought for me as a present and didn’t waste my own money.
What a shame it is that there is so much hype around Dan Brown when there are real writers with talent out there that deserve attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Thriller, 19 July 2004
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels And Demons (Paperback)
Unlike other reviewers, I have not read "The Da Vinci Code" yet, so this was my first Dan Brown novel. "Angels and Demons" is just the kind of thriller that appeals to me; fast paced , intelligent and eclectic , combining religion ,science, art , politics and the arcane. The plot is based on the discovery of "anti matter" , effectively the by product of a miniature "Big Bang" scientific experiment in a Swiss research facility called CERN. Such is its power , a small droplet of the God Technology "antimatter" can harness as much explosive power as an atomic bomb. When a sample is stolen by the "Illuminati" , the Vatican becomes their target , with its unconditional destruction their aim.
A Harvard symbologist and an Italian scientist join forces to try to stop the seemingly inevitable. The plot of "Angels and Demons" leads us across Rome, introducing us to beautiful and symbolic sculpture and architecture, clandestine secret societies, Vatican mysteries and exposing the hidden but raging war between religion and science, Catholicism and Illuminism, God and Satan, Good and Evil.
I raced through the 600 pages of the novel and for me it worked as a sort of "crossover" between Best Seller Fiction and Literary Fiction. It was stimulating yet accessible and entertaining. I would have given "Angels and Demons" 5 stars , but for the slightly OTT ending, especially the incident involving a tarpaulin. I think Dan Brown got a little carried away at the climax. However it is still an excellent book; very informative and stylish. Would make a superior 21st Century James Bond film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but frustrating to read, 23 April 2004
By A Customer
I read Dan Brown's 'The Da Vinci Code' before 'Angels and Demons',eventhough 'Angels and Demons' was written first, and I must say that althoughthis book is very exciting and a real page-tuner, it is not as good as'The Da Vinci Code'.
My advice - read it if you like Dan Brown books. If you haven't read a DanBrown book, start with 'The Da Vinci Code'. This book gets a bit caught upwith details at times but I did enjoy it. It would be of special interestof you if you are interested in the History of Rome or Religious Cults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 365 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angels And Demons
Angels And Demons by Dan Brown (Paperback - 1 July 2001)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews