Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stellar Experience!!!
THE ROWAN is the first book in the wonderful TOWER AND HIVE series (the other titles being; DAMIA, DAMIA'S CHILDREN, LYON'S PRIDE, THE TOWER & THE HIVE) and is easily the best.
We are now in the universe envisaged by Henry Darrow and the first Peter Reidinger (see PEGASUS series), a world where mankind has reached beyond the stars; where inter-planetary transport and...
Published on 8 May 2004 by Book Addict

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rowan
"The Rowan" is a continuation of the series "The Talents of Earth". Peter Reiddinger's dream of going to space has been realized and the talented are vital in this venture. Talented with strong telekinetic and telepathic abilities are few and valued. They are primes in FT&T's transportation system.
The Rowan is the girl who was found after a mudslide on Altair. She...
Published on 18 Mar 2005 by humanitysdarkerside


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stellar Experience!!!, 8 May 2004
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
THE ROWAN is the first book in the wonderful TOWER AND HIVE series (the other titles being; DAMIA, DAMIA'S CHILDREN, LYON'S PRIDE, THE TOWER & THE HIVE) and is easily the best.
We are now in the universe envisaged by Henry Darrow and the first Peter Reidinger (see PEGASUS series), a world where mankind has reached beyond the stars; where inter-planetary transport and communication is achievable predominantly through the powers of the scarce and extremely valuable PRIMES, grade 1 strength telepaths/telekenetics.
Angharad Gwyn from the planet Altair is only 3 years old when her entire family, with the rest of their mining community, are killed in a mudslide. The only survivor is trapped in a hopper; cold, hungry and wanting her .....MOMMEEEEEE. Everyone planetwide even slightly talented hears her telepathic cries and the search for the child begins. This is aided by a powerful clairvoyant who predicts a long lonely road for THE ROWAN, the new name adopted by the precious child Prime.
The Rowan's life is spent training to take a Prime position on Callisto, one of Jupiter's moons. Her passage to her new station is terrifying; as like all Primes The Rowan is intensely agorophobic and unable to launch herself through space. She regards this 'Prime Trait' bitterly, understandably so considering she's capable of launching huge cargoes through the known universe and receiving telepathic messages from lightyears away.
As The Rowan resigns herself to a solitary life with no mate she receives a strong telepathic message from the distant planet of Deneb.... and it's male. Overcoming life long fears, she unites with Jeff to aid in the protection of his planet. It is here that she finally meets the destiny predicted when she was 3 years old....
Ms McCaffrey has created a wonderful universe, with solid believable characters from diverse worlds and cultures. This book is so great that I recommend you don't stop here - I strongly urge you to get the other 4 books!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rowan, 18 Mar 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The Rowan" is a continuation of the series "The Talents of Earth". Peter Reiddinger's dream of going to space has been realized and the talented are vital in this venture. Talented with strong telekinetic and telepathic abilities are few and valued. They are primes in FT&T's transportation system.
The Rowan is the girl who was found after a mudslide on Altair. She lost her whole family and was made ward of the state. Her talent was one of prime quality and she was educated in her responsibilities as such. This book is about her road to adulthood and her search for love.
In many ways this was a good book. I enjoyed reading it and would have no problem recommending it to others. Having said that something was missing for me in this book. "The Talents of Earth" was a much more enjoyable series for me. This is not McCaffrey at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 3 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rowan Tree (Drovers 1) (Paperback)
This is the first of three. All are a brilliant read. I would suggest you read them from 1-3 as they do somewhat follow on although each is a book in their own right. You feel you are there in the story. Held me wanting to keep on reading. It was educational too about what our ancestors had to endure to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Rowan, 18 Mar 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"The Rowan" is a continuation of the series "The Talents of Earth". Peter Reiddinger's dream of going to space has been realized and the talented are vital in this venture. Talented with strong telekinetic and telepathic abilities are few and valued. They are primes in FT&T's transportation system.
The Rowan is the girl who was found after a mudslide on Altair. She lost her whole family and was made ward of the state. Her talent was one of prime quality and she was educated in her responsibilities as such. This book is about her road to adulthood and her search for love.
In many ways this was a good book. I enjoyed reading it and would have no problem recommending it to others. Having said that something was missing for me in this book. "The Talents of Earth" was a much more enjoyable series for me. This is not McCaffrey at her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Mr. Ds Duggan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rowan Tree (Drovers 1) (Paperback)
Alright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a book you cant put down, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rowan Tree (Drovers 1) (Paperback)
love all the iris gower books riveting reading from start to finish haven't read a bad one yet and haave read most
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the rowan tree, 2 Oct 2009
By 
M. J. Keane (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rowan Tree (Drovers 1) (Paperback)
i just cannot praise iris gowers books enough, a great anf highly recommend all her books
mary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tantalisingly terrific!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This book has adventure, sci-fi, telepathic talents and romance. The Rowan is a young child ophaned by a mud slide which wiped out her whole colony. The Rowan is the only one to suvive the tragedy, saved in her baby bouncer. As the Rowan crys out for her mother she also crys strongly on the telepathic wave lenth making all the talents on Altair cringe. This child is certainly special!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Rowan (Hardcover)
Excellent read first of the Tower @ hive series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 'The lady in the tower' right from the start., 5 May 2000
By 
John Brown "fast = fun" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Rowan is a supreme example Anne M. at her best, as with most of her books I got to know the character very well and wanted to know more. All of the Tower and Hive series follow this line but The Rowan continues to be my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rowan Tree (Drovers 1)
The Rowan Tree (Drovers 1) by Iris Gower (Paperback - 19 July 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews