Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title Changes
I have read ALL of Cordy's books and keep browsing for his next new novel. He's a great writer, up there with Michael Critchton, although I find Cordy grabs me much quicker (with Critchton you have to persist several chapters).

The only negative thing I have to say (which is more to do with the publisher than the writer) is that they keep republishing the same...
Published on 14 Feb 2007 by Greg Mcqueen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average from Mr. Cordy
I have been through a spate of enjoying Cordy, John Case and Steve Berry as they all link a fair amount of factual research with cracking adventure story lines which makes a powerful and thrilling combination read. Unlike Cordy's better work of Messiah code, and Lucifer code, this was a bit weaker. The general theme of a love-drug was quite innovative especially...
Published on 22 Feb 2007 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Title Changes, 14 Feb 2007
By 
Greg Mcqueen "Greg" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Venus Conspiracy (Paperback)
I have read ALL of Cordy's books and keep browsing for his next new novel. He's a great writer, up there with Michael Critchton, although I find Cordy grabs me much quicker (with Critchton you have to persist several chapters).

The only negative thing I have to say (which is more to do with the publisher than the writer) is that they keep republishing the same books with different titles. This is very annoying ... I clicked on "The Venus Conspiracy" expecting to find Cordy's new novel only to find that it is just a republishing of his novel, "True." The publisher has done this with all of Cordy's books; "Lucifer" became "The Lucifer Code," "Miracle Strain" became "The Messiah Code," "Crime Zero" is now "The Crime Code." Please, please, please, you publishing and marketing people, stop confusing the market. You are spoiling the individuality of a great writer by trying to market his books on the back of the success of "The Da Vinci Code." It is a ridiculous insult to readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Excellent, 20 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: True (Paperback)
I love this author's novels. They always have a big idea at their heart and they never disappoint. TRUE is no different. It has an audacious premise: what if you could biologically recreate the sensation of falling in love; and then delivers a cracking story with great characters, creidble science and a twisting plot. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible...(It would be 'truly wonderful'..., 11 April 2006
By 
This review is from: True (Paperback)
...if he hadn't re-published this book under the false façade of a different title "The Venus Conspiracy".) Whilst in my opinion this title depicts a better picture of the nature of this fantastic thriller, this decision, (which could easily be perceived as 'commercial deception') will no doubt undermine the loyalty of Cordy's avid readers. Lets hope the publishers will stop subjecting their readers to the frustration of opening their 'new' Michael Cordy book only to reveal they have already read it under another title!
Anyway now I've had my rant on commercial injustice I'll move onto reviewing the actual content of the book. Cordy shows his ability again in this novel to fuse together different, absorbing themes in order compose a novel of superb substance that glows in its originality. The book deals with the future of scientific advancements and explores a world in which artificial love can be created. A battle ensues between the naive ideologist wishing to eradicate broken hearts with a world of eternal reciprocated love and the narcissistic, power-seeking enemy focussed on abusing this artificial gift in order to achieve his own divine omnipotence. As this battle intertwines the characters entangle and the plot gathers pace captivating the reader and drawing them into an incredible world of exploitation.
Cordy uses the universal theme of love to present the controversy over possible future scientific creation. The development of his plot engages the reader and immerses them in the argument of whether future artificial creations and discoveries can be justified. At the beginning the world of reciprocated love conceptualised by Professeur Bacci is presented, representing the benefits of the technology. However, as the plot progresses the reader is shown how these technologies can be abused by human greed. Without knowing it the reader has explored an animated debate in one of the most contentious fields of the present day; some call it 'playing God', but perhaps 'playing Nature' is more appropriate (and maybe more accurate) in a world of seeming increasing atheism.
The amazing thing is as a reader you are completely aware of this converging argument gathering in your head until you find yourself sub-consciously exploring its pros and cons. This response (that I felt) was so intuitive and subliminal that I felt it may not have even been intended by the author. Cordy may have simply delivered a fantastic thriller comprising captivating themes that are superbly amalgamated with incredible efficacy. However beneath the masquerade of a sensational, action-packed plot lies a subtle debate on the justification of artificial technologies.
I felt that by reading this book I not only enjoyed the captivation of a riveting plot, but also explored a reality of a debate which will increasingly face us as scientific advancements develop. Compiling a comprehensive argument that explores both the pros and cons and finalises a justified verdict is a skill that is highly valued in many subjects and career paths. I believe this book enables a reader to do this almost intuitively, which along with the enjoyment factor makes it a must buy for any person who enjoys a good thriller. After I read the Miracle Strain, I was impressed with this author, but after reading this, I think it is time to put away Dan Brown's fascinating thrillers and John Grisham's exiting legal thrillers and concentrate on this guy's genius creations. This book absorbed me in a different way to any other thriller I have ever read. It captivated my mind completely. The idea of creating artificial love is crazy and unimaginable and yet this book delivers it in a perceivable and fascinating read. Only one word can describe it, incredible. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Venus Conspiracy (Paperback)
exactly what I wanted, received quickly and an excellent price - couldn't be better! Thought provoking stuff, and intelligently written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Murder mystery and romance what more can one ask for. Grips you from the start. Typical Michael Cordy. Enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but a good read, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read his books before and cordy's a good writer. It was inevitable how it was going to end but that took nothing away from the quality of the writing...great holiday read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Easy going fodder., 7 May 2009
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Venus Conspiracy (Paperback)
It's weak sci-fi, it's not particularly taut action, there's not much meaningful character development and the plot is rather far fetched. With those points aside, Cordy has created a quick, easy to read future-tech thriller which pulls reader from cover to cover. There's a maniacal madman, a ruthless killer with a buried past, a beautiful and innocent woman caught in the plot and a spectacular showdown in a remote locale - it's pulp adventure writing at maximum throttle. Slip you brain in to neutral and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first ever Michael Cordy novel - but definitely not my last., 8 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Venus Conspiracy (Paperback)
I bought this book simply because it was reduced to a rock bottom price at Asda, but was pleasantly surprised by the fascinating plot which encompassed so many genres of novel, thriller, adventure, romance, fantasy, crime and science fiction (I hope). A very interesting and gripping exploration of an unusual concept. I will definitely read more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old, 20 Nov 2008
By 
J. H. Wilson (UK, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Venus Conspiracy (Paperback)
Be warned. Once you've read one Michael Cordy book, you've read them all. As far as thrillers go, it's not bad, the plot twists are quite thinly veiled however. The worst things about these books are that they are all the same formula, with a slight change, and why are they re-released under different names?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average from Mr. Cordy, 22 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Venus Conspiracy (Paperback)
I have been through a spate of enjoying Cordy, John Case and Steve Berry as they all link a fair amount of factual research with cracking adventure story lines which makes a powerful and thrilling combination read. Unlike Cordy's better work of Messiah code, and Lucifer code, this was a bit weaker. The general theme of a love-drug was quite innovative especially throwing in corrupt bankers, venture capitalists, an ego-meglamaniac, the odd Mafiosa, an ice palace, supermodels, and Father and daughter Scientists should make a reasonable story, but it just did not pull enough killer punches to truly impress. I feel he spread the story too thin and I'm afraid I did not fall in love with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Venus Conspiracy
The Venus Conspiracy by Michael Cordy (Paperback - 2 Oct 2006)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews