Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Eat your heart out Tolkein
This book forms part of a terrific series beginning with `Belgareth the Sorcerer'. I don't read much of this genre (fantasy) but like The Hobbit/ Lord of the Rings this will appeal to a large audience.

Following Belgareth the Sorcerer there are two series of 5 books, `The Belgariad' and `The Mallorean' and it is advisable to read them in order, and if you can...
Published on 25 April 2008 by Eclectic Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ok
slightly more amusing and interesting than the first series but still abit of a copout using the same basic plot.
Published on 12 Mar. 2013 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Eat your heart out Tolkein, 25 April 2008
By 
This review is from: King Of The Murgos: (Malloreon 2) (The Malloreon (TW)) (Paperback)
This book forms part of a terrific series beginning with `Belgareth the Sorcerer'. I don't read much of this genre (fantasy) but like The Hobbit/ Lord of the Rings this will appeal to a large audience.

Following Belgareth the Sorcerer there are two series of 5 books, `The Belgariad' and `The Mallorean' and it is advisable to read them in order, and if you can read `Belgareth' first (although you could save it and read it afterwards like a prequel).

I raced through the series. The Eddings' (the books were written by a couple) create a Tolkein-esque world with our hero Belgareth learning powers known as `the will and the word' through centuries of study under a benevolent God (the gods that created this world still live on it in physical form). This study elevates him to the status of a sorcerer and elongates his life span - he becomes a legend and a force for good in the world. However, another disciple of his benevolent master rebels and steals the holy `Orb' stone, following a more sinister God. In the later series the Gods have left the planet in fear that their battle will destroy the world but their peoples continue to war - following the Prophecies left to them by the Gods. The two series follow the course of events as Belgareth leads the hunt for the traitor and the stone. It's very cleverly written and characters and events reappear as we become familiar with the history of this fictional world through the course of the books.

Really good fun and a definite recommendation if you want a light hearted escape that will keep you reading late into the night.

This is the order of the books:

The Belgariad
1. Pawn of Prophecy
2. Queen of Sorcery
3. Magician's Gambit
4. Castle of Wizardry
5. Enchanters' End Game

The Malloreon
1. Guardians of the West
2. King of the Murgos
3. Demon Lord of Karanda
4. Sorceress of Darshiva
5. The Seeress of Kell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its so sad to think there will never be a book by ..., 14 Sept. 2014
David eddings.. its so sad to think there will never be a book by him again. he is a legend and so are these books of his. read the belgariad and malorion series when i was 17. first books i ever read that i was not forced to by a teacher lol. he opened my eyes to book and now i m 38 i still come back to his books. there just epic and these books bring you into garions world so well you almost feel part of the story. well worth the time if you love fantasy books then this series and its prequal are a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its ok., 10 Aug. 2013
By 
Pete (Westcliff, Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Belgaraid series was ok as well, nothing earth shattering as people have said b4. This series Malloreon bumbles along and your waiting for the story to explode into action but in never does, the price of the books are a big let down as well , after reading all the reviews i thought yer why not but I've read much better plots from not so well known writers and far cheaper with a lot more action than David Eddings. The characters in both series's follow along quite well i just feel both series are too long 3 books a piece would have been about right,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As is usual with this author another great book. No negative comments whatsoever - enoyed every minute of reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beleivable and intriguing. actually, 26 Nov. 2002
This review is from: King Of The Murgos: (Malloreon 2) (The Malloreon (TW)) (Paperback)
In the second installment of the mallorean, David Eddings continues the epic quest for the abductor of Belgarions son. With his dryad gueen Ce'Nedra, the drasnian Silk, Polgara the Sorceress and her father, the legendary Belgarath the Sorcerer Belgarion must follow the trail of Zandramas after his son. An overpowering read for first time readers of the literary giant, the only fault to be found with the novel is its annoying similarity to the "Elenium" his other series. Apart from this lapse, "King of the Murgos" is an amazing read for fans and first time tryers alike. Definitely worth anyones time. If you are trying a new author, make it David Eddings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The story is getting Better, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have you ever read anything else by David and Leigh Eddings? If so then you will know that unlike with many other authors you can safely reach for other parts of his book.
This book is technically part 7 of the Belgarion story. First 5 parts said in the Belgariada series. And yes. It is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read all of these when they were first published and had not read them for years (despite still owning the hard copies). Downloaded them for holiday reading when I first bought my kindle, together with Polgara, Belgarath & the Rivan Codex which I had not read before. Still fantastic reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Half déjà vu, half voilà!, 20 Mar. 2009
By 
This is the second book in the Malloreon (after Guardians of the West, and before Demon Lord of Karanda, Sorceress of Darshiva, and Seeress of Kell).

In this volume we follow Garion and Ce'Nedra as they pursue Zandramas, who abducted their infant son Geran, heir to the throne of Riva, and follow the prophecy announcing yet another meeting between the Child of Light and the Child of Dark.

Accompanied by Belgarath and his daughter Polgara, Silk and Velvet the spies, Durnik the smith, the giant mute Toth, and Sadi the eunuch, their route leads from Ulgoland to Tolnedra, then through the Wood of the Dryads into the swamps of Nyissa, and finally across the kingdom of the Murgos to the Isle of Verkat.

Even though I was glad to see our companions hitting the road again after the tiresome first volume, the account of their adventures gave me a strong sense of déjà vu. Thankfully, mid-book, the story picked up again as they started exploring new territories. I particularly enjoyed the meeting with the Murgo king Urgit and his court. I hope we meet this interesting character again in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King of the Morgos by David eddings, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Classic David Eddings bok 2 in the mallorean series.

Sequel to the Belgariad
Great characters, nice interply and humor. Fantasy story of boy/man saving the world and putting history to rights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paperback replacement, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although I have the book in paperback form, I bought this for my Kindle. I've read the whole series so many times the books a looking decidedly tatty - the Kindle copy doesn't get quite so dog-eared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Of The Murgos: (Malloreon 2) (The Malloreon (TW))
King Of The Murgos: (Malloreon 2) (The Malloreon (TW)) by David Eddings (Paperback - 21 April 1989)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews