Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Black Humour
What a marvellous character has been created in the guise of Inspector Frost.I had seen the tv series which is enjoyable but this book was my first authentic taste of the author's true creation.I don't think I have ever laughed so much whilst reading a book.I look forward to reading 'Frost at Christmas'.At Xmas of course!
Published on 25 Nov. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another great story, but
This is the third Frost book I have read. A great story, but after a while I got rather put off by the far to frequent sexual references. Although the TV Frost, is a rather messy character, the one portrayed in the book would never have made it onto out screens, as it would not have been acceptable.
Published 3 months ago by Unknown


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Black Humour, 25 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
What a marvellous character has been created in the guise of Inspector Frost.I had seen the tv series which is enjoyable but this book was my first authentic taste of the author's true creation.I don't think I have ever laughed so much whilst reading a book.I look forward to reading 'Frost at Christmas'.At Xmas of course!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantstic read, 29 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first Frost novel I have read but it makes me want to read all of them! I would recomend this book to anyone. It was fantastic and kept me glued up to the last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant, 18 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
As expected Mr Wingfield kept me glued to this book. Here again was the Frost from previous books and he was as entertaining and real as ever. For years now I have waited for a new Frost book and I was not disappointed. Please keep them coming, as I was bitterly disappointed when I finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining read with great characterization, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
Rob Kitchin - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
In the main, Winter Frost is a terrific read. Wingfield's characterization is superb, with well drawn characters who come to life on the page. His dialogue `feels' real and narrative is well written. The first hundred pages or so, in particular, are very well done, sucking you in to the story and providing several laughs. My main issue with the book, as with the other books in the series is that there are too many plotlines. Not that they are difficult to follow, but that there's no way Frost would be trying to manage so many, especially given the seriousness of the cases. Two missing girls under the age of nine would have meant massive media coverage, an influx of national dailies, and huge pressure from senior police and politicians for a result. The same for a killing spree on prostitutes. The idea that both of these cases would be tackled by the same policeman, who is also looking after several others, and that a drugs case would have staffing priority is ridiculous. While having many plotlines makes for a lot of action it's really not needed as the book would have worked just as well with just one or two. I don't want to provide any spoilers, but as with one of the other books, I was also a little disappointed with the ending. That said, Winter Frost is a very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You gotta laugh..., 6 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
....or you'd go crazy! Especially if you happened to be a copper in Denton - the town where crime never sleeps and neither do the local crimefighters.

This is my final Frost book. I've read them all now. I should have finished with A Killing Frost but no matter. This one doesn't disappoint. We are quickly dragged into a growing pile of horrid crimes and Frost himself is beset with the same old problems - crass superiors, daft subordinates and a growing conviction that he is losing the plot.

The humour, it has to be said, is schoolboyish and very insulting. I am prepared to believe that police do make off-colour remarks at crime scenes and are rude to suspects, witnesses and pathologists but Frost wouldn't really get away with it would he? We wouldn't have him any other way though.

The TV adaptation is a sad reflection of the author's oeuvre in my view. Jason is far too cuddly! Well done Wingfield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 3 Nov. 2003
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
Probably the best crime series going. I love Wingfield's books and his usual combination of dark and deadly crime and funny and lovable charecters has once again turned up trumps. From the dispicable Charlie Weaver to the bumbling DC Taffy Morgan, everything to do with this book was a joy to read. The thrilling suspense is a true page turner. Well done Mr Wingfield! Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SPARKLING FROST!, 17 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 5th and darkest of the series so far, this sees Jack at his most self doubting while struggling to identify a child killer and a serial killer in the middle of a crime wave. Wingfield, as usual, mixes the dark with superb light moments especially the coachload of drunken football fans- I laughed out loud at this! The running battle between Frost and 'Hornrim' is as amusing as ever, a battle between the maverick and the bureaucrat.
The identification of the prostitute killer and the child killer will leave you guessing until the very end. Wingfield at his best and a superb read - a brilliant balance of humour and horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Witty, 23 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) (Mass Market Paperback)
R D Wingfield didnt get to see many of his books made into the tv drama series which is such a shame. Although Frost in the books is made out to be a foul mouthed & scruffy Inspector it is easy to envisage David James as Frost, especially when comin out with the whitty one-liners to his superior, colleagues and the poor victims in the books. After reading the first Frost novel I then went on to read all of the others, all are an excellent read with belivable characters and story lines. However if you have seen the series chances are you will know the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE MEETING AN OLD FRIEND, 5 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Winter Frost (Hardcover)
THIS BOOK WAS AS ENJOYABLE AS ANY OF THE OTHER FROST BOOKS I HAVE READ. IT WAS LIKE PUTTING ON COMFORTABLE SLIPPERS AND I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN. THE PLOT TWISTED AND TURNED, AND FDROAST WAS AS IRRASCABLE AS EVER. ALTHOUGH MR. WINGFIELD IS MALE THE AUTHOR IS EVERY BIT AS GOOD AS AGATHA CHRISTIE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DETECTIVE FICTION SUPREME, 29 Nov. 1999
This review is from: Winter Frost (Hardcover)
From the first to the last page Frost goes from strength to strength a brilliant read as good as the other four novels in the series. Wingfield weaves a complex plot and when all is revealed you cant help but be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series)
Winter Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 5) (DI Jack Frost Series) by R D Wingfield (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Oct. 2000)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews