Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book!!
This is a book that I have read and read and read! I love it. I love reading about all the trials and tribulations of Jilly's life - Putney, her dogs, her family and her friends. It is a real feel-good book. She is funny, irreverent, chatty, a gossip, scatter-brained, and extremely observant, both of her surroundings, and people in general. She has a real love for her...
Published on 10 Sep 2003 by laineyf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Jilly Cooper's 'The Common Years'
I used to love everything Jilly wrote, going back to the seventies. I reread this out of nostalgia (and because I used to live near the Common, and also kept dogs). Sadly I found myself very disappointed. I realise Jilly started a trend of witty, self-deprecating chick lit but now I found her writing ordinary and sometimes tedious. I also got very riled at how she...
Published 19 months ago by Ishora


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book!!, 10 Sep 2003
By 
laineyf "widnes" (warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
This is a book that I have read and read and read! I love it. I love reading about all the trials and tribulations of Jilly's life - Putney, her dogs, her family and her friends. It is a real feel-good book. She is funny, irreverent, chatty, a gossip, scatter-brained, and extremely observant, both of her surroundings, and people in general. She has a real love for her dogs, and I laughed and cried with her at their antics. I always feel with Jilly Cooper that she is the sort of person that you could go up to and really talk to, and having been lucky enough to meet both her and her charming husband Leo, I have to say that she is!! She is exactly how I had imagined she would be after reading this book. Utterly charming, and genuinely interested in talking to people. The Common Years is a book that I go back to again and again. It is not just a diary of events, it is far more personal than that. It is an insight into her life, but it is like reading a letter from an old friend, chatty and comforting. I love it, it really is my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jilly Cooper finds solace in dogwalking in the park, 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
This is a lyrical and humorous diary of Jilly Cooper's love of dogs, the outdoors and family.
Her discriptions of seasonal changes and people changes are touching and frequently hilarious. I particularly enjoyed catching glimpses of ideas or situations that feature in her later novels. It showcases her irreverant humor in a more personal way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 April 2010
By 
Jupiter (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, it is definitely bed-time reading as it isn't terribly exciting but it is a really funny and down to earth diary covering ten years spent living on Putney Common by Jilly Cooper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like a roaring fire on a cold night, warm, cosy, friendly., 17 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
This is a totally enjoyable book which I have read
many times. It is funny, sad, happy, and uplifting
and guaranteed to make you smile. Jilly Cooper has
a wonderful knack of writing like a friend, and I
found myself immersed in her life, her
triumphs and tragedies,and her wonderful dogs. I
loved it, and will continue to read it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Those were the days, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. B. J. Walker "Bookman" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
I bought this book as I lived in Barnes and used to walk my dog regularly about the same time as the book is set. I reckonized several of the characters mentioned and it brought back lots of memories of happier times. Notwithstanding all of that it is a good read and amusing in parts. I recommend it to all and sundry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jilly Cooper's Finest piece, 5 Mar 2011
By 
MvonK "M von K." (London England UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
What a great Read.... You'll laugh a lot reading this one. I think training classes spring to mind on this one. You'll love the dogs and above all the crazy names for them. Well done Jilly really enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dog walkers of the world unite, 2 July 2014
By 
R. Kerr (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
Never disappointed with Jilly Cooper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an uncommon joy!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (BELFAST, Co Antrim, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Common Years (Kindle Edition)
Jilly writes so beautifully about nature and seasons and dogs and the changes we face in life generally. You will spend time with Jilly in the pages of this book. The writing is wonderful- sad, funny, clever, truly evocative but consistently entertaining. I felt bereft when i finished this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another feel good read, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Common Years (Kindle Edition)
Dee K .......Mauritius
A lighthearted easy read describing Jillys life with her dogs the people she meets and the changing seasons on her walks on the Common.
The first Jilly book I have read and I found it an easy read nice easy book to read at bedtime.
Loved reading about her dogs nd her long suffering husband.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love love love Jilly Cooper !, 31 July 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Snell "H.P.FAN" (Bristol , United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Common Years (Paperback)
Another Classicly writtem book by Ms Cooper !
Hilarious situations ( all very true to life) in the day to day care of a dogs
and their excercise - unruly behaviour of owners and dogs alike -
Loved it and would reccommend this to others to read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Common Years
The Common Years by Jilly Cooper OBE (Paperback - 1 July 1999)
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews