Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly enjoyable novel
I have read quite a few of catherine cooksons novels, but this and the Lady on my Left are probably my favourites. There is something really endearing about some of the the charaacters in this story. The heroine of the novel is Bridget Gether, she is a orphan whose parents were killed in the blitz. and so she had gone to live with a family called the Overmeers, who lived...
Published on 7 Oct 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been longer
Have read nearly all of Catherine Cooksons books over the years.She will always be my favourite Author, but felt a bit disapointed in this book. It seemed to be shortened somehow, like a condensed book. Read it all the way through, but just felt it was hurried. Giving it three stars because of this.
Published 4 months ago by Cookie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly enjoyable novel, 7 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Blind Years (Paperback)
I have read quite a few of catherine cooksons novels, but this and the Lady on my Left are probably my favourites. There is something really endearing about some of the the charaacters in this story. The heroine of the novel is Bridget Gether, she is a orphan whose parents were killed in the blitz. and so she had gone to live with a family called the Overmeers, who lived in a sprawling property called Balderstone. somehow she was manipulated into becoming engaged to Lawrence Overmeer. she thinks she loves him, but she soon realizes there is no love between her and Lawrence. but before they get married she calls it off. but lawrence is not one to take rejection well, and he will stop at nothing to have his way.This is a lovely book to just sit down and relax for a few hours,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 Dec 2009
By 
R. A. Holdaway (Pershore, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Blind Years (Paperback)
This is a typical Catherine Cookson. Well up to the usual standard expected from the author. As usual an enthralling study of northern life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Kindle Edition)
Very good read with a strong story line. As expected with Catherine Cookson the woman concerned gets her man, but not as run of the mill as some can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Kindle Edition)
Got it for my kindle. Not finished it yet but it's a ok book and it was free. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Kindle Edition)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Paperback)
Very unusual book for Catherine Cookson but very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good tale, 28 Jun 2014
By 
J. Charlton (Vevey Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Paperback)
As good as all Catherine Cookson books..somehow even using the same location and the same kind of families for many of her books each yarn is different and once I start the first page I am hooked til the last one. Thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Kindle Edition)
Thought the book very good reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The blind yearsl, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Kindle Edition)
Just read this book for the second time well worth it, enjoyed it just as much the second time around

5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Blind Years (Kindle Edition)
Rather short story compared to other Catherine Cookson books, but nevertheless interesting. Have read most of Catherine's books and this is not one of her best, but still good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Blind Years
The Blind Years by Catherine Cookson (Paperback - 2 Mar 2000)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews