Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Like The TV Series...
This book is very involving, just don't expect David Jason. Frost is scruffy and foul-mouthed, but down to earth and understanding. And he never sleeps! This was the particular book which got me into the Frost series and is probably the best. It is funny but also thrilling, especially at the end. Most recommended.
Published on 18 Aug 2001

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing black humour
The Frost series of books are engrossing and involving, sometimes quite complicated, detective stories. Frost himself is perhaps the most sympathetic character in them, the rest are pretty awful. One gripe I have is Wingfield's treatment of women in the Frost books - they are either crumpet to be raped and/or made foul remarks about, or batty sex-starved old maids. I get...
Published on 14 Nov 2000 by SueBee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Like The TV Series..., 18 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is very involving, just don't expect David Jason. Frost is scruffy and foul-mouthed, but down to earth and understanding. And he never sleeps! This was the particular book which got me into the Frost series and is probably the best. It is funny but also thrilling, especially at the end. Most recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wingfield's achingly funny Frost - not at all like the TV series, 13 Feb 2010
This review is from: Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
RD Wingfield only managed a limited number of stories featuring his wonderful creation, maverick Detective Inspector "Jack" Frost and the fictional Denton police force before he died. Such a shame -these are really very well constructed books and satisfying mysteries.
Wingfield lived to see the highly successful TV series starring David Jason, but had a problem with Jason's portrayal, in the main because the TV character was totally different and quite toned down compared to the greasy, unkempt, foul-mouthed, chain-smoking policeman that Wingfield describes so well. All the outside DCs or DSs seconded (usually unwillingly) to Denton nick and placed under Inspector Frost's mantle are generally flawed or world-weary but find themselves quickly at their wits' end with their superior's antics and unorthodox policing methods.
The cackling humour within these books arises from Frost's callous disregard of the rules and his slapdash, usually disgraceful conduct, which numerous times steer him towards suspension or worse. The funniest is his relationship with the stuffy, hapless Superintendent Mullett, dubbed "Horn Rim Harry", whom Frost manages to wrong-foot on a regular basis. At times, Jack's sexist attitude and verbal crudity might prove moderately grating to current PC attitudes but given this was a prevalent attitude of the time (the Inspector is portrayed as being in his 50s when these were written in the 1990s so can therefore be reasonably expected to be entrenched in the old-fashioned attitudes and this simply adds validity to his seemingly 'disreputable' character.
All Wingfield's books are a true joy to read and if you can suspend that hovering image of the former Del-Boy (and despite the much cleaner raincoat, decent scarf and less battered hat) from your mind's eye, it remains a simply wonderful series that should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you can get over the misogyny and general avoidance of anything remotely pc you will love Frost. I did not try the books for ages (because of the tv series), but they really are worth reading - for the humour particularly. Don't expect realism - this is just pure fun. Night Frost is my favourite so far - the relationship with Mullet is priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing black humour, 14 Nov 2000
This review is from: Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Frost series of books are engrossing and involving, sometimes quite complicated, detective stories. Frost himself is perhaps the most sympathetic character in them, the rest are pretty awful. One gripe I have is Wingfield's treatment of women in the Frost books - they are either crumpet to be raped and/or made foul remarks about, or batty sex-starved old maids. I get the feeling the author does not like women very much. However, I shall perservere with them as I like good 'tec story. Pity about the misogyny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Night Frost, 3 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is such a pity that RD Wingfield wrote so few Frost books because they are like a breath of fresh air. I have not seen the tv series and only came across these books recently but all are enjoyable:for me, the author most like Wingfield writing today is Stuart MacBride who also portays a pólice forcé struggling against the odds. Not only are the pólice attempting to solve various, often unrelated crimes simultaneously with insufficient numbers but are also at the mercy of sensationalist media, rather clueless managers always wary of offending local dignitaries and the endless pólice bureaucrats. Mercifully Denton is not "Grace" Land and Frost is more likely to be nearer a real pólice officer than other fictional pólice officers. My only quibble with this very good, complicated plot is the ending - just too far-fetched. If the Pólice Review or other journals reviewed pólice procedurals in crime fiction, I wonder what their opinión of the Frost books would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoying all the Frost books at the moment, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the TV series and love the books now - great character! Easy to read and you can imagine the actors at the same time from the tv series - and it does not spoil the enjoyment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 6 Feb 2013
A very good read an easy page turner lshall read more of his books I've got the next one lined up!night frost was so good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3) (Mass Market Paperback)
Needed to complete my collection of the excellent Jack Frost books. Pity there are so few of them. - -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining full on action, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read from the start containing frosts usual bumbling investigations and luck rather than detective ability yo solve crimr
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No wonder RD Wingfield hated the TV show. The books are infinately better! I recommend these for all people who like 'Rebus' lype books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3)
Night Frost: (DI Jack Frost Book 3) by R D Wingfield (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Dec 1992)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews