Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book unfortunately tarnished forever by the Rachel Nickell case
I read this book when it was released back in 1998 and absolutely devoured it. I was fascinated by offender profiling and the clues that it could provide detectives in solving serious crimes.

Let's cut to the chase - there is still some amazing cases in this book and it is still IMO well worth a read. It's still one of my all time favourite books. There can be...
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by FozzieBear

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting read
I am finding the book interesting but find a lot of it is repetitive and find myself skimming through the chapters.
Published 6 months ago by miss s j samuel


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book unfortunately tarnished forever by the Rachel Nickell case, 22 Jun 2009
By 
FozzieBear (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Paperback)
I read this book when it was released back in 1998 and absolutely devoured it. I was fascinated by offender profiling and the clues that it could provide detectives in solving serious crimes.

Let's cut to the chase - there is still some amazing cases in this book and it is still IMO well worth a read. It's still one of my all time favourite books. There can be no doubt though that Britton's involvement in the Rachel Nickell case leaves a sour taste, particularly because a) in the light of what we now know the mistakes made by police and by Britton himself are glaringly obvious and extremely sad to read and b) in an unfortunate circumstance the Green Chain rapes and the horrific murders of Samantha and Jazmine Bissett are also covered in this book. Again knowing what we now know about the links between the two cases it is hard to read.

That said I cannot agree with all the bandwaggon Paul Britton 'naysayers' that have sprung up on here since the verdict in the Nickell case. Mistakes were clearly made and Britton clearly has a share in the blame for those errors but does that immediately negate all the other cases he was involved with? Does it remove the credit for the murderers and rapists that he did help put behind bars? I consider myself fortunate that I can make my mistakes behind closed doors...

If you are fascinated by true crime and criminal profiling then don't miss reading the Jigsaw Man. It's a gripping book and you can then make your own mind up about Britton's methods. One small word of warning, there is some graphic detail in the book - you need to decide before you read if you can stomach these details and still sleep at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Read, 21 July 2010
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Paperback)
There has been much criticism I have read about Britton self glorifying his work; which I did notice quite often while reading as he does seem to leave out certain cases of which he had little success. However the book was a joy to read and I expect anyone who enjoys crime novels or has a interest in offender profiling to enjoy it as much as I did. Some parts are graphic but it gives a broad insight into the criminal mind. I do recommend this book to anyone with an interest in crime novels as it was a nice break from the fiction that I am used to. Some may not like Britton's style or how he decides to narrate certain cases, but over all I think most will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Kindle Edition)
It sounds strange to say that a book dealing with such an appalling subject can be a favourite read, but Paul Britton writes so well & in such an interesting way that it's become that to me. I owned this in paperback & have now replaced it in Kindle format. It's fascinating reading how Britton became involved in the field of forensic psychology as it first developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jigsaw Man, 14 Jun 2004
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Hardcover)
The Jigsaw Man is the biography of Paul Britton, which gives an amazing insight into his life and career as a psychologist/criminal psychologist. From cover to cover it keeps your interest. Anyone with an interest in psychology should read this book. Full credit to Paul Briton for writing such an interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Kindle Edition)
I am finding the book interesting but find a lot of it is repetitive and find myself skimming through the chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good read but not sure, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Kindle Edition)
Paul I think does injustice to all the experienced senior detectives in this book by suggesting he has all the crime solving ideas.
I think his ego clouds probably what really happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book, and particulary as some of the cases discussed are well known, it makes for a very gripping read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something you should know...., 21 Aug 2007
By 
R. Lennon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Hardcover)
While this book is a highly interesting look into the world of a criminal profiler, i think that before buying this book, people should know that since publication, Paul Britton's profile led to the conviction of a man who was indeed innocent of a crime, the wimbeldon common murder. What needs to be understood is that profiles alone do not lead to the convictions of criminal as is portrated in the media. it is marely a tool to aid police officers and detectives. They may sometimes be wrong profiles!!!!!

However, the book is interesting but do not fall for the misguided facts that the media give the public!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fantastic Jigsaw Man, 6 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Paperback)
I bought this book as I have an interest in criminal pyschology but was unsure what to expect of the book.
It did not disappoint. It is well written and informative in the necessary details of some shocking cases whitout being gratuitous.
What impressed me most though was not so much the details of the cases such as Rachel Nickell and Jamie Bulger, but that you get a real sense of who Mr Britton is and why he is so dedicated to such work.You also get an excellent view of what criminal pyschologists do, which is somewhat different to what the TV versions would have you believe.
Overall an excellent book and I would recommend it highly to anyone with an interest in crime and psychology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jigsaw Man (Kindle Edition)
This was a very well written book, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and it has only strengthened my want to study psychology!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jigsaw Man
The Jigsaw Man by Paul Britton (Paperback - 15 May 1998)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews