Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and insult provoking
This is a very interesting book that is somewhat tainted by the main "author" being known mostly for new age fantasy style histories. That shouldn't put people off reading it as the work of relevance and detail is entirely that of Wilson and Blackett and it is their work that provokes much thought about the origins of the myths and legends. The biggest problem for this...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its an interesting proposal, but is hard to read ...
Its an interesting proposal, but is hard to read, with too much dancing around the dates. I think we are at the point where there is some acceptance, even amongst professionals, that Arthur has some basis in fact, even though there is strong disagreement of how much. This book goes some way to examining possibility, but its style leaves much to be desired.
Published 9 days ago by Bruce


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and insult provoking, 5 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book that is somewhat tainted by the main "author" being known mostly for new age fantasy style histories. That shouldn't put people off reading it as the work of relevance and detail is entirely that of Wilson and Blackett and it is their work that provokes much thought about the origins of the myths and legends. The biggest problem for this book is that there are many willingly lining up to attack it. Firstly you have the it's all made up brigade who have no interest in anyone saying otherwise in any way shape or form, many of the reviews around are of that type. Equally you have the vested interest of places like Somerset's many Arthurian sites who have no desire to see a reinvention as a Welsh figure. The irony of the English, i.e. the people Arthurian legend revolves around defeating and throwing out of these islands, latching onto Arthur as their own is lost on too many people for the subtlety of a post Rome Romano-British warlord to register with them. No one can know whether the book is accurate, close or not even near the truth but the amount of evidence they do have deserves more investigation and debate than the name calling and insult throwing that has been used, when the book/work is even acknowledged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IF Welsh bloodline READ This and make Public!!! It is YOUR True history, of who/what we ARE!, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
This book is a recommended read for ANY one of Welsh bloodline.

The established rulers (False royalty/nobility) are covering up the truth as this did happen, Arthur the great King was NOT a myth, he is a true heroic Welsh ruler, fair, honest, kind and he booted Rpman religious zealots out of Britain for stealing/slaving/raping OUR people. Chased them back to Italy, only problem, he was too kind and allowed them to live. They built castles to dominate us across our land, and as we still resisted, they decided in 1800s to fire ALL the Welsh teachers, teaching the TRUE history of Wales rulers (Arthur his bloodlines etc, Joseph of Aramathea, Jesus where do you all think he went missing from bible for many yrs Wales, Britain lol). They then hired only English speaking teachers, 90% of children spoke Welsh only, and hit children with canes in public for speaking our native tongue to make us forget. IF you are of the slightest bloodline Welsh, be proud, learn about OUR true rulers, who we loved so much 1400yrs later after they tried making us forget, we STILL Remember and await our True King.

I know I live here, right exact spot the book lists, and since a child I played in the ruins of ancient forts, castles, churches allowed to go to ruin because they wanted us to forget. After reading this book, it all makes sense. I detest them, globally they cover up pre-ice-age civilisations as it messes up the Christian, Jewish and Muslim religions versions of history (they are the ultimate and all history starts from them, why fanatic Muslims destroy all monuments/idols to make a point. I Certainly don't mean decent muslims of which there are most of.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its an interesting proposal, but is hard to read ..., 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
Its an interesting proposal, but is hard to read, with too much dancing around the dates. I think we are at the point where there is some acceptance, even amongst professionals, that Arthur has some basis in fact, even though there is strong disagreement of how much. This book goes some way to examining possibility, but its style leaves much to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book filled in the gaps, 1 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
I first read this book out of interest, then i read it again as the information sank in, the authors fill in the background history as well as investigate the truth of King Arthur, there are some very startling conclusions...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most important book ever published on British history!, 12 Oct. 2001
By 
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
Despite the smears and censors, Wilson and Blackett have always provided detailed evidence to support their claims. They have rediscovered the truth about ancient British history - the truth which was deliberately subverted by the English establishment...
Bear in mind that Edward Llwyd, an historian of note based at the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford, concluded that it was indeed Arthur 1 who defeated the French at Sassy/Soissons. This is the same king Anhun, Anthun, no doubt about it. Polydore Virgil, King Henry V111's historian, was right when he noted that the mythical "Arthur" figure in our histories would had to have been 250 years old to have done what was claimed. The truth, as Wilson and Blackett show, is simple. There were two Arthurs! The genealogies of the ancient Kings proves this!
Our ancient Khumric-Welsh manuscripts are not in doubt and archaelogical digs undertaken by Wilson, Blackett, Dr. Eric Talbot and Alan Wishart (MA) of Glasgow University in 1990 are detailed in The Holy Kingdom and prove, beyond any doubt, that St.Peters Super Montem is, perhaps, the most important early Christian site in Europe.
No wonder the Catholic church is concerned, because it emerges, in Wilson and Blackett's book and through their 25 years of research, that Christianity arrived here in AD 37, "the last year of Tiberius", and that the ancient Welsh manuscripts, whose provenance is not in doubt, show this. The dig at St. Peters indicated that it dated to the 1st Century AD. So Rome is the daughter, not the mother, church. (And I was bought up in the high Anglo-Catholic church and have no problem with it from a religious point of view!)The irony is that Cardinal Baronius, chief historian of the Roman Catholic church, stated that Christianity arrived in Britain in AD35. Nennius concurs, he claimed AD37!
The academics are running scared from Wilson and Blackett and that's why so many people are afraid of their remarkable conclusions. Your history, my history, British history, was painted over by those in favour of a different, Orwellian nightmare version of English history with the Angles and Saxons in prime position.
Luckily, we have brave men like Alan and Baram to defend the ancient kings.
I encourage anybody reading this to buy their book and support their work.
Tim Matthews, Ancient British Historical Association.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book!, 4 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
I have read around this topic before. Then I read what opponents say (such as critics on this page). Basically, Wilson and Blackett are not perfect (who is?) but they ARE worth listening to. (Don't be confused by the Adrian Gilbert name - he only wrote up their stuff. This is much better than the books he authored himself in my opinion.)
Yes, it is true that the book jumps to conclusions in some areas. That is inevitable, given the nature of the material. There are a few parts in particular that I have problems with. But in general, it seems to me that Wilson and Blackett make a number of claims that their critics simply do not address.
I could be wrong - I do not read Welsh - but from the evidence I have seen (this book, others like it, the response of critics, an amateur interest in the late sixth century) the authors have more to offer than their critics.
One more point. I am always skeptical or revisionist historians - people who try to re-write a nation's history. Wilson and Blackett are not suggesting anything new or revolutionary. They are just saying that the original history should be respected. Maybe, just maybe, the Roman and Saxon version of British history was just a tiny bit biased.
Finally, the issues raised by critics on this page have been answered elsewhere. But this is a review, not a discussion forum, so I will leave those things alone. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, superb, 10 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
fascinating, amazing, superb,the loss of our true histories is heartbreaking,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An example of the worst kind of spurious historical fiction., 17 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
This book presents theories as facts and then builds upon them, creating a structure that will hopefully sink into a swamp and remain gone forever. One for the new-agers and conspiricy theorists, it is devoid of firm contemporary textual or archaeological evidence to substantiate any of its claims. Oh, and the 'Sword of Constantine' featured on the cover? It's fullered, quillioned with a lobed pommel and broad tapering blade; in other words a classic example of a Saxon or Scandinavian weapon of the 9th/10th centuries AD. An interesting find in its own right but certainly not of Roman provenance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blatant misuse of sources, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
Oh Dear! The researches on Arthurian matters by Wilson And Blackett are well known in Arthurian circles and they have finally reached the High Street. As many readers will not be aware of the readings of Welsh manuscripts I thought it would be interesting to show how this pair have misrepresented them. The Holy Kingdom relies upon the identification of two names from South Wales Genealogies being Arthur I and Arthur II. The genealogies are given below as per the manuscript and then with the interpretation of them by the authors of THK.
Their genealogy for Arthur I is taken from a very reliable source dating from c.958 known as the Harleian Genealogies (MS 3859) which is given below from Early Welsh Genealogical Manuscripts, Peter Bartrum, 1966, as per the original manuscript. (map, m., or ap means "son of")
Eidinet map Anthun map Maxim guletic qui occidit Gratianum regem Romanorum.
The Holy Kingdom p.178 gives the above manuscript as:
Eidinet ap Arthun ap Maxim Gulc tic qui occidit Gratian cum regum Romanorum
You will see that they have changed Anthun into Arthun who they claim is Arthur I. There is no maybe or possibly just "-that is, Arthur" p.178. They then go on to claim that Annun Du (Annun Black) is the same person as Arthun (their Arthur I) who they call quite inaccurately Arthun Du.
"A thousand years old, these [the Brecon Manuscripts] are contained in the British museum Vespasian A. XIV and the Harleian 4181 collections. They are invaluable records, much quoted and referred to but, according to Alan and Baram, never actually read by those who quote them. Three times the statement is made, in Welsh as well as Latin, that Arthun the Black, known as the 'King of Greece', was a son of Macsen wledig - Magnis Maximus."
The Brecon manuscripts are commonly known as the Brychan MSS and below are the exact transcriptions of the three manuscripts from EWGT.
Annhun rex Grecorum (in Cotton MS. Domitia I, folios 157v-158v §10, EWGT p.18)
Annun niger regis Grecorum (in Cotton MS Vespasian A xiv folios 10v-11v §10, EWGT p.14)
Annwn du, vrenhin Groec (in Jesus College MS20 §1, EWGT p.42) A digital facsimile of this manuscript can be viewed on the Oxford university early texts website (click on fo. 33r the name is near the top of the page)As can be seen from the above nowhere do the manuscripts say Arthun Du.
With this point proved the rest of their argument falls to bits. I could go on for pages, but this is not the place. The rest of the book contains inaccuracies and leaps of faith based on the works of antiquarians from South wales of the 19th century. These works where some of the earliest attempts to look at welsh history, but are woefully inadequate by todays standards. An interesting story maybe, but not accurate and by ignoring most of the modern academic works on welsh history the authors have achieved very little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating addition to the Arthurian debate, 3 Mar. 2010
By 
Peter Buckley "peter15115" (Dyfed, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur (Paperback)
Unlike so many books published on Arthur and Britain's prehistory, this is an accessible and comprehensive read. Casual criticism is less than fair when it is clear how much research has gone into this work. To fully understand the theories of Baram Blackett and Alan Wilson you have to go on and read the more detailed books. If you are in a position to visit any of the sites discussed, you will be impressed by their interpretation. Apart from the chapters on Arthur, the discussion on Roman Britain and Wroxeter, the origins of Mercia, and Christianity in Britain, are refreshing and thought provoking. I noticed that the spurious arguments about the name Antun etc. are discussed. In any case, we all know how fluid spelling was in the pre printing era. I fully agree with the authors concerning the neglect of early Welsh history, and not just because I live in Wales. It must be obvious that when so many writers say 'British history', they exclude most except English. I do believe that in order to establish a new theory, and of necessity I assume in so doing you have faith in the need to do so, the theory has to defend itself. There seems little to be gained by a simultaneous assault on established 'truth', less evident in this earlier book. Samuel Johnson noted, "Antiquity, like every other quality that attracts the notice of mankind, has undoubtedly votaries that reverence it, not from reason, but from prejudice. Some seem to admire indiscriminately whatever has long been preserved, without considering that time has sometimes cooperated with chance.." (Preface to Shakespeare). This seems very true of the usual explanation of Arthurian myth, as well as so much that is blindly accepted today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur
The Holy Kingdom: Quest for the Real King Arthur by Baram Blackett (Paperback - 1 April 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews