Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The culmination of a life's work (sort of)
First up, this isn't the book to start reading Rankin with. It's got so many references to earlier books, that wouldn't be doing it justice. This should have been his final novel; it draws together many of the earlier plotlines, and pretty much all the expected running gags, into a (slightly warped) whole. Yet at the same time, it manages to throw in enough short stories...
Published on 11 July 2001 by drone@aphextwin.zzn.com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I haven't read it yet.
I haven't gotten around to reading this yet, but I like Robert Rankin's other books. I'm sure when I actually get around to reading this one in many years' time it'll be good. I do like the cover art.
Published 3 months ago by G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The culmination of a life's work (sort of), 11 July 2001
This review is from: Sprout Mask Replica (Paperback)
First up, this isn't the book to start reading Rankin with. It's got so many references to earlier books, that wouldn't be doing it justice. This should have been his final novel; it draws together many of the earlier plotlines, and pretty much all the expected running gags, into a (slightly warped) whole. Yet at the same time, it manages to throw in enough short stories and new ideas to make the book stand on its own as one of his best. Yes, there are poems (unfortunately), but they're much better than in the Garden of Unearthly Delights. There's even a pretty good one about a devil-possessed matchbox. This and the Voodoo Handbag are the capstone of the sprout-powered great pyramid of Brentford. Or the chromium-plated mouthpiece of the megaphone of destiny. Of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His maddest yet�, 9 Jan 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sprout Mask Replica (Paperback)
Robert Rankin's 15th novel shares the same stylistic feel as A Dog Called Demolition, with its central plot intersected by a number of (occasionally related) tall tales and bad poetry. If anything though it's even madder than that quite insane book, and is quite possibly the looniest bit of nonsense that Rankin has written thus far.
The story proper is presented as Rankin's fictional autobiography, with the author blessed (or cursed) with the ability to control Chaos Theory, so that by making small actions he can make great changes to the world. Running parallel to this is the even more bonkers story of a sporran infested by a race of sentient sprouts attempting to take over humanity. While this is a stand alone novel its general level of insanity coupled with a number of recurring characters (Pooley and Omally and most of the rest of the 'Brentford' regulars, Barry the Sprout from the Armageddon Trilogy, and Sir John Rimmer, Dr Harney and Danbury Collins the psychic youth from The Garden of Unearthly Delights to name a few) makes this less suitable for the Rankin novice, who may mistake this as a pile of gibberish.
For confirmed addicts though, this is gloriously deranged stuff. Some good concepts and tall stories coupled with some great comedy moments, it's Rankin at his most undisciplined and free flowing, but madness of this level is tantamount to genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusingly Scary, 22 April 2003
By 
Sheep (Wakefield, England (aged 13)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sprout Mask Replica (Hardcover)
These two words about sum up this great work by one of my personal favourite authors: amusingly scary. Full to the brim with parodies, humour and twisty storylines, Sprout Mask Replica is a brilliant book for Rankin veterans and new-comers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most inanely funny book I have ever read., 26 Dec 2000
By 
blairhart@aol.com (Blairgowrie, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sprout Mask Replica (Paperback)
This is the story of a teenager who finds that he has the power to change the price of beef in New Zealand by rotating his chair, because he is the magical, mythical, metaphorical butterfly of Chaos Theory. But what is this? Rankin's autobiography? He claims it's not, but who, having read any of his other books, is going to believe that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sprout Mask Replica, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fine book by the Master of British Humour.

If one ever wants to sample British Humour at it's barking Mad Best, then This Author (Robert Rankin) is the one for you!

Yet another superb masterpiece of the Running gag, irreverence, and pure genius. Well done Robert Rankin,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you don't like Rankin you should. These are crazy books with references to other books and characters, Really well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Barking Mad is About Right, 30 July 2013
By 
T. Judd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't finished it yet but it is spot on my (slightly Milliganesque ) sense of humour. Anyone who has read Puckoon will know what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eminently chortleworthy, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sprout Mask Replica (Paperback)
I'm terribly glad I read this book properly instead of yielding to my usual habit of skim-reading - it contains so many little one-liners that made me chuckle out loud. Reading 'Sprout Mask Replica' is akin to listening to your favourite (and in my case, imaginary) eccentric uncle tell you stories packed with naughty jokes and outrageous fibs, with an engaging twinkle in his eye.

Great fun, and full of sprouty goodness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable as a sprout called Barry, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am never disappointed by Robert Rankin, especially when Barry show up. A wonderful read, as always. Any book that makes you laugh and think has got to be worth the time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Totally, brilliantly, absolutely nuts!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Robert Rankin....need I say more? Well, yes, I probably do, although "need" might be over-egging the minister!
It is brilliant. Not so much a story, as a brief insight into the workings of a madman's brain. If you were to try crossing Spike Milligan and Douglas Adams, you'd be wasting your time, as both were male, and sadly no longer with us, but at least you would have some idea of the way Raygun puts ideas together. If you like your humour structured and sensible, try another of Robert Rankin's books. This is funny, but different. Different to just about any other book that I have read, yet it is so Rankin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sprout Mask Replica
Sprout Mask Replica by Robert Rankin (Paperback - 4 Dec 1997)
£7.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews