Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mapp of the 'Unmappable'
"I said there would never be a map of the Discworld. This is it." Thus does Pratchett introduce this volume, however, he explains that he didn't want to start with a map and fit everything onto it, rather the map essentially evolved as his stories multiplied until it could be physically created.
From Lancre to Uberwald to Koom Valley you can plot out where...
Published on 6 Nov 2005 by Matt Graubner

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKay....thats about it
Ill be brief - I bought this map to cover some wall space and pay homage to one of my favourite authors but I cant help but feel te maps a little bland. It uses dull pastille colours and outlines the Discworld without really detailing anything and theres isnt really anythign actually amusing on the map. Ive heard some good things about the other maps, especially the Ankh...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by Mr. M. W. Brandon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars The Discworld Map, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
The map was not as large or detailed as I had expected and although it was sold as good condition it was well used and tatty when it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 1 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
My man is an absolute Terry Pratchett manic fan and he was over the moon with this, like a kid at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
If you are a Discworld fan then this is a must for your collection! The illustrations are great and the whole map is put together really well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent product review, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
I was taken back by the size of the map and how detailed it was, well worth the price, would highly recommend it to a pratchett fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nice idea but......., 2 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
I've no problem with the idea of mapping the unmappable and I think that the various maps of the Discworld locations have the potential to inspire creativity rather than limit it as some people worry.

But the problem I have with this product is that there is a fundamental difference between a map and a pretty picture. A map is functional, a picture is not and this product, sold as a map, is actually a picture.

Okay, we're talking about a piece of real estate 10000 miles in diameter so we're never going to get too much close detail. And we have to allow for the oceans. But the bulk of what remains is in fact best classified as MMBU (Miles and Miles of Bloody Uberwald) to use the author's own terminology. The bulk of the map's land masses have no detail whatsoever and are in fact of locations that have either never been visited in the books or have barely been mentioned. The bulk of the books are set in a very specific region, largely the lands in the vicinity of the Circle Sea and the Sto Plains and this is the area that people would actually be interested in. Yet while there is detail there, it is almost entirely simply numbered dots which then have to be interpreted via a key. So for example the city of Quirm, labelled as number 24 on the map is a dot. To find out that dot number 24 is in fact Quirm you consult the key. Now most maps have the key right there for ease of use but the key to this map is in the accompanying booklet! So not only is the map lacking in detail but to understand what little detail there is we have to have three pairs of hands!

If you want a reasonably nice picture to hang on your wall then this might be of value to you. If you want a map of the Discworld, save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gives a good idea of the Discworld, 6 Jun 2011
By 
K. Bhuiyan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
If, like me, you have an imagination that feels satisfied when it's been verified what it's thinking is correct, then this is for you. It gives a very good idea of what the Discworld in general looks like although I was a little dissapointed in that there wasn't a lot of detail as I expected and the book itself is more of a fold out pamphlet. It has however served it's purpose as a way to get my bearings, which is what a map is for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 15 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
Great map shows everywhere and places I wanted to find where the story begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
How on earth did they map it so beautifully?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
Loving these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Discworld Mapp
The Discworld Mapp by Terry Pratchett (Paperback - 9 Nov 1995)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews