Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mapp of the 'Unmappable'
"I said there would never be a map of the Discworld. This is it." Thus does Pratchett introduce this volume, however, he explains that he didn't want to start with a map and fit everything onto it, rather the map essentially evolved as his stories multiplied until it could be physically created.
From Lancre to Uberwald to Koom Valley you can plot out where...
Published on 6 Nov 2005 by Matt Graubner

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKay....thats about it
Ill be brief - I bought this map to cover some wall space and pay homage to one of my favourite authors but I cant help but feel te maps a little bland. It uses dull pastille colours and outlines the Discworld without really detailing anything and theres isnt really anythign actually amusing on the map. Ive heard some good things about the other maps, especially the Ankh...
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by Mr. M. W. Brandon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mapp of the 'Unmappable', 6 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
"I said there would never be a map of the Discworld. This is it." Thus does Pratchett introduce this volume, however, he explains that he didn't want to start with a map and fit everything onto it, rather the map essentially evolved as his stories multiplied until it could be physically created.
From Lancre to Uberwald to Koom Valley you can plot out where everything is. I do find it most useful to put everything and the many varied locations in perspective. For example now you can see exactly how the witches flew to Genua or where Leshp was.
Accompanying the large map is a small booklet containing small biographies of the Disc's prominent explorers (those who were proper explorers anyway). These were enjoyable, but not quite the same as a Discworld story (though the normal humour was present in full). My only disappointment with the map is that I simply cannot locate Copperhead!
Just don't expect any earthshattering revelations about the nature of the Disc: "Exactly how [the internal layer of molten rock] is maintained, and how the water that pours ceaselessly over the rim from the Circle Sea is replaced, are but two of the unfathomable mysteries of the world."
A true Discworld aficionado shouldn't be without this mapp. But if you're a more casual reader then it might be best to leave things up to your imagination and Terry's wonderful descriptive language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More useful than any real map, 10 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
I've been a Discworld fan for a few years now so i finally bought this map to follow exactly where characters were actually going in the books. It's very well drawn and shows where all the key locations of the books are. Unfortunately the accompanying booklet is rather short and is mostly taken up by Terry Pratchett and Stephen Briggs talking about the project rather than a full story.
A good purchase for any discworld fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKay....thats about it, 31 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. M. W. Brandon "ahriman72" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
Ill be brief - I bought this map to cover some wall space and pay homage to one of my favourite authors but I cant help but feel te maps a little bland. It uses dull pastille colours and outlines the Discworld without really detailing anything and theres isnt really anythign actually amusing on the map. Ive heard some good things about the other maps, especially the Ankh Morpork one and I regret not going for that.

On the other hand the map does its job, and comes in a nice booklet with some story about Discworld explorers which is as ever, high quality and amusing reading.

At the end of the day it depends what your looking for, but this isnt an attractive wall piece or particularly engaging reading/viewing. One for die-hards only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All I need now are some shots and a boarding pass, 21 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
I had heard tales of the existence of this, but whoever is in charge of publishing mr. pratchett's stuff in the u.s. seems to not bother with anything that isn't an actual discworld novel (and even then it's a year late!), so i had been completely unable to find it. when i finally saw it and ordered it, i was initially a tad disappointed; someone had told me it was a pop-up book. nevertheless, it's wodnerful (yes, wodnerful). the short bios of discworld's greatest explorers, while not as hilarious as his actual novels, read in the familiar style we're used to when dealing with this most unlikely of earths and still made me giggle out loud several times. but the map itself is the important thing. it's huge, which is good, and it's all there, from the counterweight continent to XXXX. there are tons of islands and countries i don't think we've heard of yet as well; leshp is marked, too, and since the mapp came out before jingo, it's assumable all those unknown lands may show up in some forthcoming tale. the art itself is good, grasping the lighthearted-yet-serious feel of his books. all in all, it's a must for the true addict, and while it's not nearly as cool as the map Death keeps in his office, it doesn't cost nearly as much, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a World, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
This map is well worth the money, especially considering the price you usually pay for posters. You not only get a massive fold-out map of the Discworld but a small booklet, with interesting facts as well as the locations of important places on the Disc. This is the most comprehensive map to the Discworld you can find anywhere, and the artwork is fantastic. I do not believe producing this map was a mistake, there are plenty places which are not identified, leaving room for Pratchetts imagination to roam free in future books. Letting you see where all the places you are familiar with, I believe, enhances the enjoyment of the books. A lot of effort went into producing this map, and it shows. This is an essential purchase for any Discworld fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars De Chelonian Mobile, 29 Oct 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
These little foldout Discworld map/guide books are a bit of a hit and miss affair, but the second in the series is an absolute must. Not only is the Discworld map practical (yes – you can finally work out just where all the various locations on the Discworld are in relation to each other!) but it’s gorgeous to look at. Not only this but the accompanying pamphlet on great Discworld explorers of the past is consistently hilarious. Yes – its relatively pricey for something you’ll read through in all of 10 minutes, but for any Discworld fan this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
im not saying i regret buying this map in fact im quite please with way it looks on my wall, but i found it wasnt detailed enough to compete with the map in my head. the places not in any books should have been named a bit more and the disc seems a little small to me. however the art work is great as always and i would recommend it but if u are only going to buy one discworld map buy the map of ankh morpork
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellant addition for every Discworld fan!, 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
There have in the past been many attempts to expand book series' but most of them have produced items not half as good as the books themselves. But this map is definitely an exception. With glorious illustrations and stylish comments from the genius himself this really is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fogging & fluff, 27 April 2014
By 
J. Moore (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
Disappointed, as although item was described as a 'clean, tight copy', the item I received smelt fousty, had fluff inside, & a lot of fogging (small brown spots) on the inside cover & pages (on the map). Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discworld Map, 5 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discworld Mapp (Paperback)
Next time you're on holiday in the Discworld, be sure to travel with this map (even though its rather annoying to look anything up on it and was clearly devised before Terry Pratchett finished writing his excellent series of some 37 (I think) books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Discworld Mapp
The Discworld Mapp by Stephen Briggs (Paperback - 9 Nov 1995)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews