Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for anyone working in Africa
I was given this book when I arrived in Kenya some 6 years ago. I was recruited as the CEO of the Nairobi Hospital. The Nairobi Hospital in which the first scenes of the book play out. This was years after the events talked about in the book. But I met many of the people that the book talks about, I found the whole thing fascinating, and VERY instructive!!
Now...
Published on 6 Dec 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality book
Compulsive reading in these days of Ebola. A true story with terrifying possibilities. Bought it second-hand for 0.2p (& £2.50 p/p). Great quality book.
Published 3 months ago by mrs.karen j. flores


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for anyone working in Africa, 6 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
I was given this book when I arrived in Kenya some 6 years ago. I was recruited as the CEO of the Nairobi Hospital. The Nairobi Hospital in which the first scenes of the book play out. This was years after the events talked about in the book. But I met many of the people that the book talks about, I found the whole thing fascinating, and VERY instructive!!
Now working back in the NHS in the UK, with a much better knowledge of what mankind is just about holding at bay.
I do have some problems with the book, but they are minor and due to the overly dramatic nature in which events were protrayed, but hey, you have to sell them somehow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NON-FICTION MEDICAL THRILLER..., 25 Feb 2008
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
This is a non-fiction book that keeps readers on the edge of their seats, compulsively turning the pages. In it the author gives an education on the possible origins of different deadly hemorrhagic viruses and the devastation that they cause in both animals and humans. The author describes actual outbreaks that occurred between 1967 and 1993. This is done in an engaging, straightforward narrative that reads like a medical thriller.

The nucleus of the story focuses on an outbreak of Ebola virus in Reston, Virginia in the tony county of Fairfax, just outside of Washington, D.C. in 1983. A special, highly trained teamed of Army specialists and scientists secretly converged on that hot spot to try and stop the spread of this deadly virus, as it had a kill rate of ninety percent.

The account that the author gives of the Army's mission is riveting, as is the vivid description of the rain forests and caves of Africa where these hemorrhagic viruses are suspected of originating. The devastation these viruses cause to both animals and humans is horrifying, shocking, and, unfortunately, all too true. The author has managed to make science accessible to the general public and eminently readable. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a biological kick in the ribs!!!, 24 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
This book is with out a doubt, a page turning, jump start attention getter for anyone. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants both exitement, and education. The Hot Zone gives great examples of what the biological world has behind closed doors for the human race. I think that people who are familiar with deforestation know that we are bringing these epidemics upon ourselves. Preston writes The Hot Zone to the lamen and in great detail. I belive that he does this so that anyone who reads this novel will understand it and remember it. None the less, it's a great novel that has earned my five crowns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding thriller but not for weak stomachs!!!, 6 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
I could not put this book down at all and I was up until the small hours of the morning-not that it mattered because I hardly slept after finishing it! I thoroughly recommend reading it but I warn you, I seriously almost did throw up at certain points in the book!! ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Hot Zone: Gruesome, informative and scary, 8 July 2003
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
For those people who want to know more about the deadly Ebola and Marburg virus, this book is defintily a must. The author is able to combine scientific explanation and historical narrative into a very readable, highly informative novel. It is clear from the outset that The Hot Zone was written after substantial research was done. Leading Centre for Disease Control (CDC) and USAMRIID scientists and chiefs cooperated with Mr Preston and provide first-rate analysis of the events surrounding the Ebola Reston outbreak 10 miles from Washington. Although I wondered several times whether Mr Preston didn't suffer from a certain over-the-top morbid fascination for the Ebola virus, I finished the book much wiser and much more informed than at the outset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grim exploration of the virus that makes AIDS look tame, 2 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
Being interested in viruses I was most intrigued when a friend of mine gave me this as a present. I was living in Africa at the time and the reports of Ebola Zaire were quite common place. Mr. Preston has done a magnificent job with this book. It caters for every different reader. It provides a horrifying grim account of the virus and its discovery in Washington DC that will shock a reader who is unaware of the virus. It will also give the more seasoned virus watchers an exciting and gripping read. Well done sir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Feb 2005
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
Excellent book, scary but true and the fact that it happened makes it all the more fascinating.
Ebola makes any other disease look tame as it kills so fast and the fatality rate is so high. This book goes into great detail.
If you have any interest in illnesses or Biology, read this book! If you want to be scared out of your wits by things that have happened, read this book!
I can honestly say this is one of the best books I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarcably terrific and terrifying..., 2 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
This book is so well written it captivates you from the first moment you start reading it. Every event is so well presented that you might think it happens right next to you. The presentation of scientific facts is extremely interesting and does not require any special knowledge. Anyone can read it and everyone should read it. It really is terrifying and the fact that it is true makes it even more. A great book on a great subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this book after a good meal!, 31 July 2001
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
Having read Richard Prestons' second novel "The Cobra Event", I decided to give "The Hot Zone" a go. All I can say is WOW!. I've never read anything like it in my life, the graphic descriptions of the effects of the Ebola virus turned my stomach so much I thought I was going to be sick. That said, it's a brilliant, terrifying and thought provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling book!, 2 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak (Paperback)
This book was the best, mostly true, scientific book I have ever read. The Hot Zone was clearly Preston's best novel. This book kept me on the edge of my seat for days. The action and suspense of the book was constant and I found not a boring moment. I would also recommend Richard Preston's other "black biology" book, The Cobra Event.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak
The Hot Zone: The Chilling True Story of an Ebola Outbreak by Richard Preston (Paperback - 1 Aug 1995)
£3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews