Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a big Gemmell fan. But, what a book!!!
Ok, I've most of Gemmell's works, and while a lot of his novels are adequate ways to pass the time, not many of them would have a place on my list of all-time fantasy classics. But if I have to pick just one, this is it.

One of the things I do enjoy about Gemmell is the way he constantly invents new faces, new worlds, instead of always rehashing the same...
Published on 5 Sep 2008 by WZ

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Having read numerous other Gemmell books, including the Troy series, the Damned books, and others (all of which I would have given 5 stars), I just didn't find The Winter Warriors a gripping read.

Unlike his other books, where I felt the characters shaped their own destinies, the heroes in The Winter Warriors seemed fairly inconsequential. Against...
Published on 27 Mar 2012 by M. Keen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a big Gemmell fan. But, what a book!!!, 5 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Winter Warriors (Paperback)
Ok, I've most of Gemmell's works, and while a lot of his novels are adequate ways to pass the time, not many of them would have a place on my list of all-time fantasy classics. But if I have to pick just one, this is it.

One of the things I do enjoy about Gemmell is the way he constantly invents new faces, new worlds, instead of always rehashing the same things. And in this, he brings to life such a beautiful world and such convincing cast that you cannot help but be enthralled from beginning to end. Every character feels real, you can see them, you can feel them. This last instalment in the Drenai saga brings a great conclusion to the cycle, yet it can also be read completely independently. The events related here take place long after the rest of the saga, so much that the past is hardly relevant.

This is an epic novel, the story is very ambitious, and a times fairly moving. This is a powerful tale, and I'll not divulge any part of the plot, I just wanted to say that even if you've read other Gemmell novels and weren't all that impressed, you should not miss out on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 27 Mar 2012
By 
M. Keen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having read numerous other Gemmell books, including the Troy series, the Damned books, and others (all of which I would have given 5 stars), I just didn't find The Winter Warriors a gripping read.

Unlike his other books, where I felt the characters shaped their own destinies, the heroes in The Winter Warriors seemed fairly inconsequential. Against insurmountable odds, they just seemed to meet with incredible good luck.

Near the beginning there were just too many visions/dreams guiding the characters. The Demon Lord and his minions were just too powerful a force, which meant the only chance of success seemed to continually stem from random events, magic or mishaps. An example of this was everything to do with the gogarin, which was the most unbelievable series of events I have ever read in a Gemmell story.

The characters were mostly cliched - although they were more interesting for the first part of the book. Towards the end I almost lost interest entirely, and struggled to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of atmosphere and depth, and very moving., 9 Dec 2010
By 
T. Gomes (Moledo Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Winter Warriors (Paperback)
Just occasionally some of the Drenai novels have aspects that I'm less keen on -- for example, sections in "the void" and swift resolutions brought about by sudden magic. And yet, sometimes Gemmell gets everything just right, and that's the case with Winter Warriors.

The lead characters are very human, and they have weaknesses (not least age), but they fascinating and thoughtful heroes who show how we can all choose to be better and do better. Then the whole atmosphere of the book is detailed and rich, with a sense of culture, history, and mythology.

Mainly this is a very touching heroic fantasy. You really feel the characters' regrets, loves, and loves lost. A book that moves your heart as much or more than your head, with less emphasis on blood and hacking than many other Drenai books.

Just perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another of my old favourites, 12 Aug 2014
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Winter Warriors (Paperback)
This is another of David Gemmell's Drenai novels, first published in 1997. It is also an old favourite of mine despite being perhaps not one of his very best. As in many of his books, heroic fantasy in a fictitious world is mixed up with sorcery and alien demonic creatures with superhuman powers bent on returning to it once three kings will have been sacrificed.

Mixed up with this are a number of settings inspired from Ancient history. The victorious but ever-conquering Drenai King Skanda who dismisses his old veterans after his final victory over the Malikedan Empire is derived from Alexander the Great and his conquest of the Persian Empire. My favourite character, Banelion, the White Wolf, is tasked with leading the veterans back home. He is old but the most skilful and trusted Drenai general. He is also hard as nails and something of a cross between the historical Parmenion and Craterus (who actually was tasked by Alexander to bring an army of discharged veterans back to Macedonia), two of Alexander's most prominent generals. Like the former Macedonian general, he served both the father (Philip II King of Macedon) and his son (Alexander). Unlike him, he survived his king.

The veterans themselves, however, are deliberately presented by Gemmell to mirror the Spartan hoplites, rather than the Macedonian phalangites, with their full-faced bronze helmets and red clocks in particular. As if often the case in his novels, the main hero - an elite swordsman and tracker - has several associates - in this book a marksman archer and "Bison", a not very bright but fiercely loyal giant of a man. All three main heroes are veterans are well past their prime, hence the book's title, but they will, as is often the case in Gemmell's books, save it all against tremendous odds and end victorious at a very high cost to themselves.

This is another book which I recently came across when trying to make extra space for new acquisitions on some of my bookshelves. As per usual, I ended up reading it again from cover to cover, and loved every minute of the heroic deeds of the ageing warriors. Five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a truly engaging storyteller, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Winter Warriors (Paperback)
Im not a very big fan of this genre of books- i very rarely stop to check out this section in a bookstore, but Gemmell's works stand on the shoulders of them all , and in this book , as so often before in his complete works which i have read all, the characters are brilliantly portrayed and become vividly alive for a while while you are submerged in the pages. This book is hard to put down! One of the great attributes of this writer is that the characters always tend to have such engaging human qualities.. its hard not to feel bonded to the tale for a while. This author is always sadly missed and a huge loss to writing. Thankfully he has a large bibliography. Enjoy!The Winter Warriors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Read, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Antrim, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a stand alone story by David Gemmel, full of action with great heroes and greater villians. However Gemmel does follow key themes 'good' vs 'evil', 'duty'. 'age' and 'the importance of good people standing up to evil'.
The story has strong characters with certain failings but it allows the flaws of the characters to be strengths instead of weaknesses. Its a great read and if you are just sitting down to enjoy a good book you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winter warriors, 22 July 2013
A good Gemmell book, not as complex as some of the popular books at the moment, such as Game of thrones, But you feel attached to the heros just the same. Also finishes the story with no lose ends so your not killing yourself wonering what happens when the book finishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best book i've ever read!!, 24 July 2007
This review is from: The Winter Warriors (Paperback)
I read this book around 2 years ago but felt i should share how good it is to everyone else. THIS BOOK IS SIMPLY AMAZING! I had only read one of Gemmell's novels previous to this one (Hero in the Shadows- also brilliant) and was pretty sure it couldnt be topped. How i was wrong. The main characters bring every kind of emotion and perspective to the story that you could think of, not to mention the story is gripping and intense from start to finish. Being a rather slow reader and relatively new to the genre at the time i was pretty unsure as to whether i would ever read it but once i started i was hooked! I would strongly recommend this to any newcomers to the Sci-Fi/ Fantasy genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars winter warriors, 27 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Winter Warriors (Paperback)
have loved david gemmells' books ever since i read the troy books. have been steadily working my way through all his books. this is one of the better ones. well written, good story line and great characters. well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter Warriors, 24 April 2013
By 
J. Newell "Books 4 Me" (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read as usual from David Gemmell. Really brings his characters to life so that you care what happens to them and the action, as usual was rivoting. He creates a fantasy world that seems real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Winter Warriors
The Winter Warriors by David Gemmell (Paperback - 2 Oct 1997)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews