Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read.
This book spans most of the 2nd world war and the horrors that came with it.

When Geoff Fulton saves Lizzie from being raped he then suggests to his semi-disabled Mother that she would make a good companion and maid for her. So Lizzie comes to work at the Fultons and in time, becomes one of the family. It was a given that eventually Lizzie and Geoff would...
Published on 13 Sep 2012 by Pyewacket

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK holiday read
An OK holiday read.
Published 4 months ago by Jayne Hind


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read., 13 Sep 2012
By 
Pyewacket "czarnowice" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
This book spans most of the 2nd world war and the horrors that came with it.

When Geoff Fulton saves Lizzie from being raped he then suggests to his semi-disabled Mother that she would make a good companion and maid for her. So Lizzie comes to work at the Fultons and in time, becomes one of the family. It was a given that eventually Lizzie and Geoff would marry in time but Geoff has been having an affair with the promiscuous daughter of the local bigwig. After he is sent home wounded life continues much the same except that now Lizzie has fallen in love with Andrew who is the sone of the local bigwig. This family are totally dysfunctional apart from Andrew and sadly the Fulton family will not accept Andrew into their lives. Janis the daughter is now divorced from her husband Richard who came home from the war dreadfully difigured with burns to his face. It is Lizzie who saves him from killing himself and who sees through his disfigurement to the kind man underneath.

Too much more would be a spoiler so I would suggest if you like Catherine Cookson, you buy this book as it really is a good read. It had me in tears in one place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read., 11 July 2014
By 
Anne Parker (Wetherby, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
I have so enjoyed this book. It is heart warming. It shows the good and bad in people. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a real story with a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
Vg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love to get lost in, 4 Dec 2013
By 
C. Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
A Catherine Cookson novel. This one, A Ruthless Need, didn't disappoint except that it ended too soon. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for the Kindle - Great read, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
My elderly mum of 92 has always loved Catherine Cookson novels as she comes from the same part of the world as her and she is back reading them thanks to the kindle where she can enlarge the writing to suit her failing eyesight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
As are all the books by this author. Needed to keep reading - couldn't put it down until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another best, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
Started this book for the second or third time. Have read all of Catherines books again and again.Paper back Hard back and now on Kindle. Great story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A ruthless need, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
A ruthless need. Warm and sensitive read, heartfelt to the end.not quite catherine cookson but a lot of her in the writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I JUST LOVE READING HER STORYS AND WATCHING THE DVD.S, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
LOVE HER BOOKS. AND I HAVE ALSO GOT ALL THE DVD THAT HAVE BEEN MADE OF HER STORYS I ALSO HAVE THE DVDS AND THE BOOK OF HER LIFE STORYS VERY INTERESTING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HER BOOKS JUST GET BETTER & BETTER, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Ruthless Need (Kindle Edition)
ANOTHER GREAT BOOK FROM CATHERINE., SHE NEVER LETS ME DOWN, WHAT A GREAT WRITER. I JUST CANNOT PUT THEM DOWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Ruthless Need
A Ruthless Need by Catherine Cookson (Paperback - 1 Mar 1996)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews